1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Current v1.13 Development Discussion

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Sep 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CaterpillarKing

    CaterpillarKing Conqueror of Cacoons

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6,312
    Location:
    On a leaf
    "Great" :lol: Well thanks! :)
     
  2. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,385
    AI would nuke randomly its enemies across the globe, also independent are problem because AI would nuke them constantly. Thats hot how 21th century today looks like.
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    I'd like to do a breakdown of tech cost modifiers like this:

    Code:
    Base cost              1000
    Tech diffusion  -20%    800
    Large empire    +10%    880
    But right now I'm not sure where to put it. I'm afraid it would clutter the current tech tooltip. Does anyone have an idea for an a good location for this kind of information?
     
  4. need my speed

    need my speed Rex Omnium Imperarium

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,133
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    European Union (Magna Batavia)
    It could show up while hovering over the technology you're currently researching?
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Currently this also displays the standard tech tooltip. You mean that for the currently researched tech a different, more detailed tooltip should be displayed?
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    New commit: I've tried to change the settings files so people don't run into issues with the graphical paging option.

    If you still experience issues with this, please let me know.

    The commit will likely reset your settings to my own, which is currently being turned off. I really have no explanation for why your settings would revert to true, I hope this has stopped now.
     
  7. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,194
    Is the city maintenance bug getting fixed soon btw?
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    I want to look at it next.
     
  9. ezzlar

    ezzlar Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,702
    In RFCE you get a total modifier to research cost in the progress bar "Iron Working (+138%)", thats also nice.

    And also, how about that ctrl + hoover to display spawn zones from RFCE?
     
  10. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Something wrong of Prussian UHV3, still not counted after finish all techs

    pics below:

    Spoiler :


     

    Attached Files:

  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Have you already discovered Future Tech once? If so, I need the save from before that happens.
     
  12. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    I have replaced the save in #1550 with a new save in 1982ad, which I have not get the Future Tech once.
     
  13. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Thanks, I'll give it a look today.
     
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Alright, I've fixed the bug with the last commit. You should be able to win from the save you posted.
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,491
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Spoiler :

    That's how the tech cost breakdown currently looks like (in this example you see Alphabet getting more expensive because it is not known by most civs in the game). The additional information is only shown if there is anything modifying the base cost. Obviously there is still some polishing to be done.

    I'm currently considering displaying the civilization modifier there as well, but seeing as that is a constant throughout the game it would probably only clutter the interface.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,194
    I think you should display the civilization modifier as well. In this example, do it like :

    Base Cost: 843 (600)

    or something less misleading. But cluttering won't be the problem.
     
  17. 2015

    2015 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Sorry, derailing current talk for another thing:

    I think that AI India is somehow too powerful on Epic/Marathon speeds. On Normal they seem to be okay but in those longer difficulties they usually get the conquerors, explore the world, etc. Maybe tone down the AI a bit? Not the human, last time I played India it was pretty hard with the barbarians, persians and tamils in the way.

    On the contrary, AI Britain seems to be collapsing a lot. I'm not complaining about it's loss, Britain is way too powerful compared to the rest of the world but I don't really think that should be happening. Britain is one of the few nations that didn't really fall into complete anarchy after being created and seeing a bunch of independents there is kind of odd. Surprisingly, their collapse is never caused by overextention; usually when they collapse they have 1-2 cities outside Britain. Why do they collapse?

    Maybe I'm just lucky or unlucky in my games but does anyone else see this kind of pattern occurring?
     
  18. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,194
    I don't think Leoreth is playing the game himself and the reduction of production cost of Indian settlers is a mistake. Just play as Tamils and see for yourself.
     
  19. citis

    citis Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,480
    Don't be mean, he develops this game volunteerly.
    Indian settler cost should be restored to 200:hammers: again. It was better.
     
  20. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,194
    Sorry about that, I was just trying to make a point. My bad.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page