1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Existing Buildings Discussion

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Vokarya, Apr 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,029
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    We just got +1 :yuck: removed from farms like Cow, Horse, etc., why do you want +1 pollution, either air or water? What is there to counter it?

    JosEPh
     
  2. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    @Vokarya

    Alchemist's Lab
    1. Going to pick the upgrade method since it goes obsolete at scientific method.

    Bronzesmith, Coppersmith, Ironsmith
    2. Going to hold off on this since I want to redo the whole metal/ore stuff.

    Construction Firm
    3. I will have to think about this. I think they both should exist at the same time.

    Sewer System
    4. I agree. I will change.

    Workhouse
    5. This was a core building so I was not really aware of it. Sure the change seems fine.

    Caravan Post
    6. I will have to double check if the Bison Trainer requires the Oxen Farm. But I will at least fix it to be a Llama Trainer instead of a Llama Farm, now that we have one.

    Mech Assembly Plant
    7. Ok.
     
  3. Vokarya

    Vokarya Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6,162
    I checked; Bison Trainer does NOT require Oxen Farm. I may have a few more suggestions; I'm looking at figuring out some of the early Naval stuff. It's pretty good right now, but I would like to move a couple of things around.
     
  4. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Some buildings and features give -pollution. And 1 pollution a turn is generally less damaging than 1 :yuck:.
     
  5. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    1) The Boatyard goes obsolete at Navigation, which unlocks the upgraded version of the Boatyard, the Marina. This results in a little gap. So maybe make the Boatyards go obsolete at a little later tech, or move the Marina to Astrolabe.

    2) If you build a Castle Gatehouse and a Moat in a coastal city, ships can't pass by until Astronomy. That kind of unrealistic - you can't build a moat IN the ocean...

    3) House of Parliament requires Glassware OR Fiberglass. Why Fiberglass?

    4) Zebra Trainer goes obsolete at Aviation, way later than the other megafauna wonders.
     
  6. Praetyre

    Praetyre King

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    940
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I'll field that third one: the fiberglass is to account for the change in window materials after the Industrial age.
     
  7. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Easy change would be to make ZOCs apply only to land tiles, apart from promotion ZOCs which could be made to apply only to e same domain that the great commander concerned is in (so if he's on land it's a land ZOC, if he's on a ship it's a water ZOC)
     
  8. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    1. I like the idea of moving Marina up to Astrolabe.

    4. That's because you can make Zebra Calvary but the others don't have later units.
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Sheesh! You don't pay attention for a week and all sorts of stuff happens.

    By how much? Can we have property increases on specialists now?

    Like Hydro says we need to do some work on these so they should stay as they are for now.

    I reckon boatyards should upgrade to marinas not go obsolete.

    Zebras are the same as horses and can produce latter units. Oh Hydro answered that. :)
     
  10. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Ah that explains the issue with the zebra trainer, thanks :)

    As for the Health Spa, I have no idea. I would say 5 because it's kind of a wonder, but I also think the Healer's Hut and such need a higher -Disease as well. Maybe 3 instead of 1. To counter this you could make them cost more per turn.
     
  11. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Maybe? I know we can do it with Expressions, but I don't think that those expressions are on Specialists yet.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I put the property stuff on the specialist - it did not fall over but it does not get reported in the pedia either.
     
  13. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    1) You should make Landmines require Mine Warfare since this Tech is empty. You could also give Mine Warfare an "Enemy units take 5% damage when standing next to one of your cities/forts"

    2) Why does the National Park gives -20 Air Pollution but the Statepark, which isn't a NW and hasn't a big negative effect (removes coal....) gives -50 Pollution to both Air and Water?
     
  14. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,428
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    1) I still need to help DH with some tags for the Mine Warfare mod - its on the list (3rd tier so it'll be a bit yet).

    2) Good point.
     
  15. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    It would also be cool if there was a Mines Improvement available. Once build, it gives the plot 20% Damage per turn (if possible, only for enemy units). What also bugs me a bit is that ships only get damage if they end their turn on a reef, but not if they just pass it. The same problem would be for the Mines.
     
  16. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    @Faustmouse

    Thanks for the feedback. :goodjob: I fixed both the Landmines and the National Park.
     
  17. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    You're welcome :)

    I think the National Park needs some more changes.
    Why does it only remove the access to coal? Isn't Oil just as bad? Or Uranium?
    I am not sure if it should remove the access to coal at all. Just because you have a National Park you are not forbidden to import coal, aren't you?

    I think there are three options:

    1) Make the Nationalpark only buildable if in the city the water and air pollution is lower than... uhm... no idea. Maybe 200 each? I am not sure how realistic that is. And remove the "removes access from coal" thing.

    2) Make the Nationalpark remove the access from Coal, Oil, Uranium and any other ressources that goes in this direction. Maybe even Deer or Whale or Fisch etc because your city isn't allowed to hunt inside the National Park.

    3) Let the city still have access to Coal but disable the ability to build highly pollutioning buildings like Coal Powerplant, Landfill, Garbage Dock etc.

    However, I like the 1st option by far most. It would make sense that you build your Natinal Park in a city that's clean and not say: "Hmm... Our Water is almost undrinkable, our forstes die because of the acid rain, we barely can breath in that toxic smog all around here... We should definitly build a park here!"

    It would also be cool if it places an "National Park" improvement on a random Forest (or maybe also Jungle/ Hill/ Peak/ Desert/ Savanna...?) like Manchu Piccu does. It would give -1 Food, -1 Production, +10 Commerce, +5 Health, -20 Air and -20 Water Pollution (for example).
     
  18. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    0. Its from Vanilla Civ. I have no idea why but that's how the National Park was set up.

    1. Eh. Its suppose to help you. If your pollution is already good why do you need to build it?

    2. I will have to think on that one.

    3. I don't know. I don't really like that choice either.

    4. You can still set aside land for a national park and have it polluted. The point of the park is that you do have an area that is left its in natural state. Personally I don't see why a city cannot have both dirty industry and land set aside for a national park. Sure the national park will become dirty from it but its better than having all your land converted into dirty industry.

    5. We do have improvements like that. Like the Safari and Forest Preserve. But the Manchu Piccu stuff sounds more like a WW type of effect. Maybe even have a "Yellowstone" wonder or something.
     
  19. Faustmouse

    Faustmouse Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,509
    Yeah, if you Pollution is already low it's strong bonus for those isn't really helpfull indeed. There must be another effect than. I know it's from Vanilla but I think it could use a change with that coal. As you set, you can have both, a park and industrie in your city. You could leave it the way it is now I think, except for the Coal-part.

    I know there are forst preservatives and stuff, but I thought about something more. A national park is very big I think. And why do you need a WW to have the Manchu Piccu effect? It is already a NW, I don't see any reason why not all civs could have ONE very good improvement.
    However, Yellowstone sounds great :goodjob:


    EDIT:

    1) The Montreal Biodome is now a NW so I think it should be renamed. Also, it still only produces Bears, Lions and Wolfes. Why not the other anmials? I think Hydro mentioned he has some ideas of early animal producing buildings, what about those? :)

    2) Botanical Gardens needs some more - Ari Pollution compared to the Aboretum (?). I think of something around -20.

    3) Why does the Microbiology Lab produce Air-Pollution? I think in the beginning they don't used laminars so they won't produce much air pollution. They are used in the labs today, but even though they have a high flowtrough, they don't produce polluted air because there are filters in there and the outflowing air is more sterile than normal air.
     
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    What is the purpose of this "buildings?" I dont understand it, or why anyone would even consider using it?? Am i missing something??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page