1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

FfH2 Bug Thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Fall from Heaven' started by Kael, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    Here is a fixed file for turn 143. The bug had nothing to do with your builds. If you want to see what caused the bug, see the spoiler below.

    Spoiler :
    It is overwhelmingly likely that the bug was caused by The Clan casting 'For the Horde', especially since the game has Sheelba and not Jonas. Wiping out the Clan fixes the game. Leaving even 1 unit in a city casuses the crash.

    Ok, that was the easy part. Now, to find the barbarian units that are causing it ....

    It turns out the city of Domir has two warriors and 2 archers. I was able to fix the game by deleting one warrior.


    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    I can't load the file, I think it is a 'Fall Further' file. If it is ,you probably should post on that sub-forum.

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  3. funbot

    funbot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    I just noticed that my 10 level chariot hero who has strength 9 with iron and Orthus axe and heroic attack promotion and has +100% strength promotion and cover II +80% vs archery, has only strenght 18 against archery unit when you check the odds..

    Sooo that means i get bonus only from my strenght promotions and my cover II bonus is completelly ignored, even if it shows +80% vs archery units in the odds + & - list..

    Sooo, this is a bug right? Sooo i report it. now
     
  4. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    IIRC, the +80% is actually applied as a -80% to the Archer unit.

    So check the ENEMY'S odds, not your own. ;)
     
  5. funbot

    funbot Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    O? ...Ooo.. OOOoooo.. Ooohkay, thanks for quick reply, i feel so stupid now xD
     
  6. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    After building the Mercurian Gate and playing as the Mercurians, an AI nation (Van Gossarm) was still asking me to change to Empyrean, even though I had no Empyrean cities. The Empyrean cities were in my old empire.

    On marathon speed the AI nations seem to make demands too frequently, forgetting they are on marathon speed. Van Gossarm has demanded I change religion 7 times in just the middle game. When you scale it down by 1/3rd that's the equivalent of once every 10 turns on normal speed.
     
  7. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    I can't fathom out what criteria the Amurites are using to cast their world spell. Before patch m they used it pretty regularly when they went to war. Now they seem to cast it when they're not at war and they gain little advantage. I'd make a guess that they're casting it to frustrate other nations, either nations at war or nations with new arcane units, but since I can't even tell what they're trying to achieve I can't say whether it's bugged or just strange. Perhaps someone else can shed more light on this.
     
  8. a_civilian

    a_civilian Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Arcane Lacuna also gives all Amurite arcane units a batch of experience (based on the number of upgraded mana nodes in the game, so says the civilopedia).
     
  9. kumquatelvis

    kumquatelvis Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Is there any chance that we could get an artwork patch? I realize that troubleshooting bugs is quite time consuming and difficult, so I have no desire to rush the next patch in terms of fixes. But I seem to recall several new batches of artwork being posted in the art thread. Most notably was a new model for the Lamia unit. Since that work seem to be done, what are the odds that the new models and skins can be bundled together and released as a mini patch?
     
  10. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Thanks that may explain it, but even so they'd be better using the spell at wartime. The Amurites are hardly short of xp on their arcane units for peacetime activities.
     
  11. Sephi

    Sephi Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    This here fixes a bug with the dynamic cityRadius code.
    In the old code if (iNewValue < getPlotRadius())
    was always false because m_iPlotRadius = iNewValue; was done before it. I moved the code to make workers not struck before m_iPlotRadius = iNewValue to fix this.
    Code:
    void CvCity::setPlotRadius(int iNewValue)
    {
        if (iNewValue != getPlotRadius())
        {
            /*That workers in outliing plots are not struck there...*/
            CvPlot* pLoopPlot;
            if (iNewValue < getPlotRadius())
            {
                for (int iI=8; iI<NUM_CITY_PLOTS; iI++)
                {
    
                    if (isWorkingPlot(iI) == true)
                    {
                        setWorkingPlot(iI, false);
                    }
                }
            }
            for (int iI=8; iI<NUM_CITY_PLOTS; iI++)
            {
                pLoopPlot = plotCity(getX_INLINE(), getY_INLINE(), iI);
                if (pLoopPlot != NULL)
                {
                    pLoopPlot->updateWorkingCity();
                }
            }
    
            m_iPlotRadius = iNewValue;
    
            updateFeatureHealth();
            updateFeatureHappiness();
        }
    }
    
     
  12. CaptTightpants

    CaptTightpants Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Breunor, thank you for helping with this!
     
  13. Vagabundo

    Vagabundo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    ok... I'm playing for the Sheim and did their ritual to raise the AC. I got the AC up 93 and apparently the Avatar of Wrath is supposed to come out(according to threads). But when the ritual completes the turn loader never completes. The little globe thing keeps spinning and spinning. I went to work, came back, and the damn thing still didn't finish loading.
    I have a good computer and ram ain't the problem. So I'm considering it a bug. Hopeful someone has a fix to this as to why it ain't finishing the turn. I was hoping to see the destruction of the world with a AC of 100, but I guess that won't be happening.
     
  14. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    Try reloading the game from an auto-save Vagabundo and delay the ritual a couple of turns by building something else in the city first. That might skip past any bug you're encountering.
     
  15. Breunor

    Breunor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Earth
    No, this is a very common bug, when the Avatar of Wrath appears many units become 'enraged'. There are AI issues with the enraged promotion that can cause an infinite loop. {Comment - this is the 'common theory'. Nobody knows for sure what is causing the bug.}

    The usual prescription is to reload and try something different. The bug doesn't always appear but does fairly often.

    Best wishes,

    Breunor
     
  16. Vagabundo

    Vagabundo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks. Im gonna try building something else in the city that has the ritual. then I'll build the ritual later and then see if anything changes.
     
  17. Emptiness

    Emptiness []

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,922
    Foreign Workers can enter friendly territory (via open borders) and chop down trees. This doesn't happen often, but when it does happen it can be annoying - especially when you are playing an elven civ and a foreign worker decides to chop down an Ancient Forest. It should not be necessary to close your border to protect your trees.

    -------------

    Killing Barnaxus does not remove the Empower promotion(s) that he grants to Luchuirp golems. New golems built after he is killed do not gain Empower promotions, but promotions that had been granted before he was killed are not removed. I think I remember that his death used to remove these promotions, but I'm not sure when this changed. Even if I'm remembering incorrectly, these promotions should be removed upon his death since he is what grants them.

    -------------

    I stumbled across an instance of the Work Boat bug (a Work Boat never actually builds the Fishing Boats improvement) in a human-controlled civ. In the attached save, you can see the boat near Evermore is standing with an order to create Fishing Boats. Unfortunately, I can't demonstrate the bug in a save because reloading actually appears to fix the bugged boat - the boat in question will build its improvement this turn. When I was originally playing this game, the Work Boat had been stuck for several turns and would presumably have remained stuck for the rest of the game. (This suggests a possible workaround - saving and reloading - for those times when an AI boat becomes stuck.) I have included a save from before the Work Boat became stuck, in case someone wants to attempt to recreate the bug.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. DaveGold

    DaveGold Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,058
    I have found that Lanun workboats are the worst offenders, probably getting confused about building pirate coves. They almost always need manual orders.

    I couldn't reproduce your problem with the 2 work boats being built in your game. I did notice though that Auric Ulvin isn't building his temples of the hand. All his cities needed temples in your game, some of them needed those temples very badly.
     
  19. Emptiness

    Emptiness []

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,922
    Just to clarify, the Work Boat was not automated. I gave it a manual order to build the Fishing Boats improvement and it became stuck. I had a ship on the tile already to defend it, and didn't notice the stuck boat for several turns. I haven't had any luck reproducing the error either, so I guess those saves won't be very useful.
     
  20. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    Kael you should SO take Erebus mapscript out of patch n and replace it with ErebusContinents. I see pretty much all newcomers play on that cuz they think it's the map you're SUPPOSED to play FFH on, while actually it's the horrible script that messes FFH up. I'm serious. please, you can't seriously hate n00bs so much. they deserve to play the real experience and not some crappy ffh in a maze. I wasted SO MUCH time on that and I'm never ever going to get it back. oh, and I won't even mention ( I will, actually ) those horrible all desert or all ice starts, and then you find you're stranded alone on a useless island made entirely of ice or desert. it's just dreadful, and I STRONGLY suspect most people who try FFH and dislike it actually do so because of this mapscript. when you finally ditch it it's like night and day.
     

Share This Page