1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Final Fixes Reborn

Discussion in 'Rise from Erebus Modmod' started by Ronkhar, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. AttackonJot_Titan

    AttackonJot_Titan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Not sure what happened there, looks like one or more files got messed up but I've never heard of it. Since the file names and contents are affected the easiest solution might be to download the r343 snapshot and copy the files into the SVN version's folder, or use it instead if there's a problem with the SVN in general. It contains everything that the SVN does it just won't auto update
     
    Samson likes this.
  2. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cambridge
    The download fails, it usually gets to about 12% and then fails with network error. I guess sourceforge is having problems, I will try later. Thanks.
     
  3. AttackonJot_Titan

    AttackonJot_Titan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    It did that to me too, if i hit retry once or twice it finishes
     
    Samson likes this.
  4. aledeth

    aledeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Does anyone have a rough summary of the changes since the 14.11 patch? I've got the r343 snapshot of the mod downloaded, but the readme hasn't changed since 14.11 so I'm wondering what I'm missing out on.
     
  5. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I finally got this downloaded (and finished my game in the stable version). I get the same result, though about 1 in 3 goes I get to start the first turn, and then it crashes when I end the turn.
     
  6. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789
    check the pedia and see if there's anything wrong with it ( most icons missing, text looking wrong).
    Try running Bts with win7 compatibility and admin modes.

    If it still happens, upload a first-turn save.
     
  7. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Pedia seems complete. I am running in Windows 7, I have tried launching via Right Click on AoELancher.exe and "Run as administrator", same result.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789
    try running bts directly as administrator, not the launcher.

    Thanks for the save, i'll see if i can see what causes it.
     
  9. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,778
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Same result.
     
  10. rcd1649

    rcd1649 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I have played FFH for years. On installing the AoE mod, I can get everything installed, when I launch the AoE launcher, I get the mini screen with options. But when I launch AoE using the button on bottom right, it just closes. Any advice or common problems here?
     
  11. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789
    Hi,
    try launching it directly from BtS. Is it working then ?
     
  12. rcd1649

    rcd1649 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    No, it actually acts like it loaded the mod, but I'm just in vanilla beyond the sword
     
  13. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789
    ok, in that case, there's an issue with the folder structure where you put the mod.

    When looking at Beyond the Sword/Mods/Ashes of Erebus, you should see a folder Assets. If not, show me what you see instead.
     
  14. rcd1649

    rcd1649 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    That was it. Uninstalled and reinstalled in the folder again and it worked. Thank you!
     
  15. Jerrian

    Jerrian Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    I had some time to play with the current SVN version. Noticed some crashes but in summ it looks stable, most problems occur with game loading when starting AOE, deleting cache solves it in most cases, sometimes it need some tries to get the save game started. Noticed one new problem, from time to time the game is crashing while saving, in that case it ´s loading and I ve to restart my PC, noticeable in that cases is, that the save game has a very big data size and can ´t be used/loaded also it seems to affect game stability so I use to delete this corrupted save files.

    @black_imperator
    As only few maps are available I use to play tectonics and sea highlands to have only one island. I asked before, if you could give hill peaks some kind of bonus for cities, maybe health, hapiness and some food & production or so? These peaks are a nightmare for the aim of having a big size city as they are useless as long as you ´re not a dwarf and take away a potential city slot for growth ;-).
    Maybe you could give them a little bonus, they are a big reason I need to restart map creation very often, that would be nice :-D.
     
  16. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789
    i'm reluctant to do it in the default version for now, but i'll test some things in a module
     
    Jerrian likes this.
  17. Keansor

    Keansor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    I return on my yearly binge of this mod! Question – when's the last time the "stable" (using the term somewhat loosely here) version was updated? I checked and it still seems to be 14.11, which is what I already had downloaded when I came back to it. It doesn't have anywhere near the amount of stuff the SVN Beta has.

    If there isn't a new stable release that I somehow missed, what's the most stable SVN version—and the most stable modules to run with it—right now? Lord help me in trying to get that to work, given that it's started yelling at me about the Dural of all things.
     
  18. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,159
    That's it. The "stable" version should really be called the "stale" version at this point. :)
     
  19. black_imperator

    black_imperator Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,789


    14.11 hasn't changed in a while. Main reason is that i don't think the svn is in a good enough state for a proper release ( some quirks remain, some stuff is unfinished and the multiplayer is broken)
    Latest version of the svn can be downloaded here : https://sourceforge.net/p/ashesoferebus/code/HEAD/tree/ either through the svn system or by clicking download snapshot. All modules included in the download (active or not by default) are stable enough to be played with.
     
  20. Keansor

    Keansor Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Ah. Shame. Even with 14.11 I'll get crashes every once in a while—especially on huge maps—and I straight up can't ever have Malakim in a game because something about them always (eventually) crashes it. The SVN may not be in a good state for proper release, but you do also keep adding or updating new aspects (the crime mechanic didn't even exist proper until recently, after all). You could look at a prior SVN release and just focus on debugging all the features of that one for a new "stable" release. It's not like it has to be "finished" remember, just stable.

    That said, I know from experience that doing nothing but debugging is tedious as hell and you've been working on this constantly for lord knows how many years now. I'd definitely prefer you work on it in a way that doesn't burn you out. Mad respect for just how long you've kept updating this mod without dropping it despite it not even being your own original creation. It's genuinely mind-blowing to me.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021

Share This Page