1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Modmod]Sunset of Civilization

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Imp. Knoedel, Dec 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    you're a true parody of communism
     
  2. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    There, now I only need to wait for Leoreth to fix the UHV crashes and get to the bottom of PinkPallin's and Enyavar's savegames' issues.

    Anyone have any last minute suggestions before the official release? I'm curious if collapsing from foreign instability is as pervasive a problem here as it is in DoC. I did come close in one game but managed to pull through. Perhaps the "free" Golden Ages are sufficient to keep civs a bit more stable than they are in DoC.
     
    Crimean Lord, 1SDAN and PinkPallin like this.
  3. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,712
    Leoreth made a big change to the foreign instability formula so I don't know if it's even a pervasive problem in DoC anymore.
     
    Crimean Lord likes this.
  4. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    I know, that's why I'm asking. I'm wondering if I should go ahead and copy that change.
     
  5. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,712
    Oh. Your phrasing made me think you didn't know about it.
     
  6. Enyavar

    Enyavar Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Hey, I just won a Monarch Russia game - with only 5 Friendly Communist nations instead of 6.

    That was really weird. England and US were friendly even before they reached Central Planning by themselves. I then gifted techs (towards CP) and used Great Statespeople to align Germany, Canada, Italy, Japan and Turkey. My spies then switched these nations into central planned ones, but Germany and Italy remained only pleased. My next planned step was to retreat from Vienna so the borders issue would stop with Italy and Germany; and also complete the switch with Turkey and if they also were impossible to get Friendly, convert Mexico. So: England, USA, Canada and Japan were socialist friendlies, and after turning, I had won. The diplomatic stance of both Germany and Italy didn't go up either.

    The problem is not necessarily in the Sunset module, but I report it only here. Could be undocumented convenience (2 Pleased nations = 1 Friendly, that should be a thing) or counting Canada twice because it is vassal to Germany, or something else?

    - -

    By the way, do you already have a formula for Foreign Stability? In this game I'm posting, I have 5 Friendly, 5 Pleased, 4 Cautious, 4 Annoyed civilizations... no one is angry, but foreign stabiltity is at -2. I know all the details how this is calculated, but I'm hoping for a change in that formula either by Leo or you.
     

    Attached Files:

    Crimean Lord and Imp. Knoedel like this.
  7. Enyavar

    Enyavar Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    Another note from the future.
    I remember from DoC that you could send Satellites everywhere on the map and they look as far as planes do (5 tiles around the unit).
    In SoC you can only station Satellites in a city and they have a sight of two tiles.
     
    Imp. Knoedel likes this.
  8. Enyavar

    Enyavar Prince

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    425
    And as the leader of Indonesia, I'd like to complain about a Super-Golden Age I received shortly after the start (normal speed, Monarch, play until 790 AD).

    Within one single turn, my military strength tentuplifies. I'm now testing if this is enough to crush the Khmer as they start. [ Edit: It is. ]
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 14, 2019
    Imp. Knoedel and Crimean Lord like this.
  9. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    Hey, sorry for the long response time, I really do appreciate all your feedback.

    May I ask which commit you are using for that game? I can't open the attached save.

    Didn't Leoreth recently fix foreign stability calculations? I was wondering if I should go ahead and copy those or not.

    Is this true for DoC 1.16 or was it something he recently implemented in the development version?

    Yeah, that was an oversight by me, but it's been fixed in one of my past commits.

    I'd encourage you to update your version. :)
     
  10. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Satellites are unchanged since 1.16.
     
    1SDAN and Imp. Knoedel like this.
  11. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    Indeed. I started up a game in 1.16 and apparently @Enyavar is mis-remembering. Perhaps it was @1SDAN 's modmod where you could move and scout with Satellites?
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Satellites should have the same recon mission that all air units have.
     
  13. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    They don't, though, neither in DoC nor my modmod.

    Since I was digging through the code anyway I found the culprit:

    Code:
    bool CvUnit::canRecon(const CvPlot* pPlot) const
    {
        if (getDomainType() != DOMAIN_AIR)
        {
            return false;
        }
    
        if (airRange() == 0)
        {
            return false;
        }
    
        if (m_pUnitInfo->isSuicide())
        {
            return false;
        }
    
        return true;
    }
    Satellites have an airRange of 0, so...
     
    1SDAN and Leoreth like this.
  14. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Strange, I am very certain I tested and used it before. Maybe it got lost in another change? I'll look into it.
     
  15. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    I only tested it in the release version, maybe you fixed it in development already.
     
  16. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,712
    I cannot say I remember ever modifying anything to do with Satellites.
     
  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,848
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    No, as I said, I didn't touch this since release.
     
  18. 1SDAN

    1SDAN Brother Lady

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,712
    After looking into it, Satellites cannot move outside of cities in DCR
     
  19. Nyayr

    Nyayr Prince

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Holland
    Noticed running a few check runs the AI Romans in this modmod often found orthodorx in 5-7th centure BC, catholicism before 0 and Islam 300's-500's... If they not ravaged by the barbarians that is...
     
    Imp. Knoedel likes this.
  20. Imp. Knoedel

    Imp. Knoedel Simperator Knoedel

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    8,778
    Location:
    The cooler Germany
    What's DCR? And can they or can they not perform a Recon Mission there?

    Curious, in my experience Rome never seems to amount to much and it's Persia and Greece who run away in tech. At any rate, getting the tech rate working right has been a major concern of mine recently, especially in the Classical to early Medieval time frame.

    Also as a general heads-up, I'm gonna postpone the official release until after Leoreth has released his patch for 1.16 and I have merged that in and playtested a bit. Since my next project is a complete revision of the tech tree that serves me just right as there's plenty of preparing I can do just with a spreadsheet and Wikipedia.
     

Share This Page