1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Leathaface

    Leathaface Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    What influences a person score on the scoreboard? Is it the advancement of techs?
     
  2. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Techs and several other things: population, land, and wonders are also factors. Mouse over your score and a breakdown will be displayed.

    An extra bit of advice: don't get obsessed with your score. It is not unusual to be low on the scoreboard for a substantial portion of the game. You may also rise and fall as you execute your strategy--for example, warring will usually require you to slow your research and avoid building wonders, so your score will usually drop in relative terms, but eventually the land and population you claim will allow you to catch up and even surpass your rivals. It's also possible to win without being at the top of the scoreboard (it's especially typical to do this in an cultural victory, for example).
     
  3. Tlc2011

    Tlc2011 Pixel Cat

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    USA
    I know, this isn't the right place but i can't go advanced without the entire text box breaking - This includes threads, meaning i can't post a thread about this.

    Basically, i can't type anything into the Advanced Text Box, even to make a thread about the problem.

    ...

    Administrator who is watching me, if you delete this post i'm screwed, ok?


    ... Please, just explain what the heck is going on
     
  4. Butterball

    Butterball Bear

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    USA
    Whatever happened to the drop down selection menu located at the bottom of this screen just above "Similar Threads" ?
     
  5. Mec AntiKythera

    Mec AntiKythera King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Is this a new situation? Since when have you experienced this problem? What OS and browser are you using? What plug-ins and security options are you using?

    I'm not an administrator but it seems to me that they will need more information in order to help you.


    I guess it dropped off.


    Sorry, couldn't resist. It is a good question, was it removed for a reason or did it just disappear? I found it to be rather inconvenient to use since the forums I'm interested in were too far down the list, after some forums that I imagine got very little traffic.
     
  6. Butterball

    Butterball Bear

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    USA
    I found out that it was eleminated after the March crash. Aparently the selection menu generated too much HTML and was deemed expendable. I did frequently use it though.
     
  7. Pangur Bán

    Pangur Bán Deconstructed

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    9,017
    Location:
    Transtavia
    I have my civ iv on a netbook now. There is no numpad, but I want to use the directional shortcuts that would be available on a notebook. Any suggestions?
     
  8. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Your notebook does not have a some kind of Fn function that enables a secondary numpad ?

    if don't you can :

    - get a macro program and program some keys/key combs to mimic the numpad

    - get a USB numpad
     
  9. Pangur Bán

    Pangur Bán Deconstructed

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    9,017
    Location:
    Transtavia
    It has fn function, but no fn numpad (it's a Lenovo s205)
     
  10. wolkenwand

    wolkenwand Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Java Island
    Hi, i built a scout unit but get 4 unit instead. my asumption is it's because hammer overflow ( my city produce about 80 and scout cost 15 ) is this normal? i only want to make one scout so military maintenance doesn't get too high, are there any way to only make 1 scout and overflow goes to next unit? ( i try to queue spearmen after scout but it's still create 4 scout instead ).
    thanks for any answer.

    Edit:
    I'm really sorry. looks like this multiple built unit comes from mod that i use, not from vanilla gameplay. and the only way to overcome this is to delete unwanted unit. e.g: if i get 4 scout then i must delete the another three to get one scout, there is no workaround.
     
  11. Leathaface

    Leathaface Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland
    What are the 3 techs that give you a free tech each? I know of The Oracle and Liberalism. (though The Oracle is a wonder.)
     
  12. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    ^
    *Liberalism
    *Oracle
    *Diplomatic Event: Being a backward human player makes the AI pities you and sometimes randomly give some techs.
    *Goody huts
     
  13. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,722
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    You've got the only routine freebies. There is only Liberalism, not three techs. Sometimes a hut or a random event will do it also. There are techs that give you a free Great Person of one sort or another, if you are the first to get the tech. Perhaps that is what you are thinking of.
     
  14. macthegoalieciv

    macthegoalieciv King

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Most people care more about free techs, but I know that getting Music first gives you a free Great Artist, which is always nice :)
     
  15. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    You forgot one: kicking an AI leader's butt until he/she coughs up a free tech (sometimes more than one) to be left alone for 10 turns. Works far better than hoping the AI will feel sorry for you, in my experience. I'll take fear over pity any day. :trouble:
     
  16. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    ^
    You sure liked that Joao II you beat down and got all his techs... (prowess CIV moments thread by Sisiutil)

    I can add relatively beggings: beg a low cost tech like Fishing, PH, Mysticism, etc. after waiting a decent amount of turns (PLEASED leader as condition) is sometimes possible.
     
  17. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Yeah, but I usually have those techs by the time I get Alphabet--I can often get Meditation and Priesthood that way. Hunting too.
     
  18. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    Not related to Leatherface ( :shifty: ) 's question but can be useful, but a small warning over getting low cost techs from an AI, even if it free!

    WFYABTA ("We fear you are becoming to avanced!") response from different AI's implemented to avoid abuses like in CivIII, depends on how many techs you receive from an AI from a trade or freely. It simply block further trades with the AI's unless you get lucky and the anti-trade wall is down thanks to RNG for a short period.

    For instance, you have an island of two AI's and other AI's are still unknown to this trio island. After getting a certain number of techs, depending of the leader (can be a limit of 5, 10, 15 or 20 (the last is Manse the techwhore) techs) one may see that answer.
    But the unknown AI's won't ever know your trades. In continents type maps, maybe abusing tech trading is okay, but on a pangaea-like map where everyone knows everyone very early, better be careful with what we receive.

    The big issue I didn't mention and main point of the whole warning stuff, Leatherface, would you prefer tech yourself Hunting (cheap tech) or Nationalism (expensive one)? I choose Hunting as getting in trade Nationalism is far more appealing. The big issue with WFYABTA is its blindness to recognize cheap techs to costly ones. All techs worth one point in the balance. Sometimes, it is better teching yourself cheap techs over getting them freely if those are not almighty important.

    All in all, be careful when tech trading or getting them free from non-friendly AI's. Friendly civs and vassals always trade in BTS.

    People tend to laugh at Obsolete's game not even knowing Hunting yet in modern times, but the reason is purely game inner mechanics used wisely.
     
  19. Mec AntiKythera

    Mec AntiKythera King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    980
    Thanks for the information. Well, RiP little drop-down, RiP. :undecide:
     
  20. Marcvs Avrelivs

    Marcvs Avrelivs Warmongering Fool

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Over the River Styx
    Does the Sacrificial Altar also decrease the length of the unhappiness caused by drafting?
     

Share This Page