1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    No :/ It would be nice if it did ;)
     
  2. johnnyhawtcakes

    johnnyhawtcakes Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    3 Questions.

    1) When someone threatens you with war if you don't give them a certain tech, should you just give it to them and eat some humble pie. Maybe they are stronger then you military wise, but you have the higher score, better culture, technology, etc. Lets say they are also on a different continent and don't pose a huge threat.

    2) Do most civilizations threaten/bully you mainly because you have a weaker military force? I know some like Montezuma will still do it even if you are more powerful.

    3) Is it possible to be going for a cultural victory and maintain the most powerful army? I know it is possible but it seems hard, especially if you don't have a ton of cities for production.
     
  3. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    If they are on a different continent, I would deny them, but if they are stronger than me militarily and are near me, I will just give them it.

    Yes.

    If you don't have a powerful army, the other AI will most likely attack you, so yes, it is possible, and as long as you don't mind losing a few turns on your cultural vitory, it is easily accomplished (the upkeep will lower the slider a notch or two, but it is survivable).
     
  4. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Absolutely. Check the Victoria ALC game, where I warred for most of the game and finished off with a cultural win. The key to that victory, in my opinion, was using Caste System and Artist specialists instead of the culture slider to achieve cultural victory without slowing down research (and, thereby, falling behind in military techs).
     
  5. Core Imposter

    Core Imposter Deity

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,642
    Is there a limit to the number of trade routes a city can have. If, for example, I have the lighthouse and 4 routes in place, will free market give me a 5th?
     
  6. rah

    rah Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9,536
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yes you can have more than 4
     
  7. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    The hardcoded limit is ten per city, but IIRC there is no way of getting there in a unmodded game ... I think 8 is the pratical upper limit :/
     
  8. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    The trade route limit is controlled by a setting in GlobalDefines.xml called, not too surprisingly, MAX_TRADE_ROUTES. BtS sets this to 8. There is no way you could go over 8 in BtS anyway.
     
  9. CocoIsKing28

    CocoIsKing28 Slightly less stupid

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    La Villa Strangiato
    I have a question about Vassalage: It says adopting Vassalage will give you 12 free units, but I can never get them.Any help?
     
  10. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    It doesn't give you free units. It makes it so you don't have to pay upkeep for more units than without the civic (you have to pay 1:gold:/turn for each unit over a limit; this increases the limit by 12).
     
  11. CocoIsKing28

    CocoIsKing28 Slightly less stupid

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    La Villa Strangiato
    Ah, that makes more sense...
     
  12. Thain Esh Kelch

    Thain Esh Kelch Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Is there a Quick Play option, as there was in Civ3? Ie. an option to start a game with the same settings as last game.

    I'm tired of going to the main screen, and then hammering down the enter-button ten times.. :)

    (I know about the Redo Map option in-game)
     
  13. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    "Play Now" uses all default options, except the few things it asks you which are mostly one at a time with a separate screen for each.

    "Custom Game" lets you set the options, pick the map and the map settings, and such and it is all from one screen. It defaults to the last settings used for the map and game options.
     
  14. Mec AntiKythera

    Mec AntiKythera King

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    980

    Nobody threatens you with war when demanding a tech, but they may well declare if you decline. A subtle and absolutely unimportant difference, but there you go.

    Generally if someone is not a threat and if you don't want something from them, tech trades, resources, open borders or anything, then you may as well send them packing empty handed. However, having good diplomatic relations can be worthwhile and if they are not a threat to invade or to win perhaps you do want to reward them. It can be a valuable diplomacy booster.
     
  15. Ataxerxes

    Ataxerxes Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,073
    As was noted by Mec, they aren't threatening you but they may declare war you if you decline. Some AI's are more likely to declare if you refuse (Washington and Bismark come to mind). Since the AI is usually very poor at naval invasions I usually don't worry too much. However, you might want to consider if it'll help your diplo situation to give it to them. Maybe you're close to being Friendly with them. As an addition, the AI gives equal weight to granting requests for cheap techs and expensive ones. So I'm more likely to give it to them for the diplo bonus if it's a cheapo tech most of the world knows. If it's Rifling forget it!

    I'm not sure how much of the requests are due to your weak military. However, if they are a significant threat, you are usually better off giving in. It's usually hard to get enough of a military force to stop a declaration - it often takes 2x their power. Monty is one of the six psychos along with Genghis, Alex, Ragnar, Nappy and Shaka.
     
  16. CocoIsKing28

    CocoIsKing28 Slightly less stupid

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    La Villa Strangiato
    One question: Does the :c5happy: bonus provided by the preserved forest only work when your city is working that tile, or does it work no matter what tiles you are working?
     
  17. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    You don't have to work the forest preserve. It just has to be in the BFC area of the city. If two cities have overlapping BFC areas and the forest preserve is in the overlap, then they both get the happiness even though only one of them could be working it (and possibly neither of them is doing so).
     
  18. MrKlew

    MrKlew Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    181
    I am playing a vanilla hot-seat game. I have been warring on and off with Huayana Capac for a while now. He is currently annoyed with me and won't talk with me. The problem is I want to restart the war, but can't seems there are no options in the dialogue screen. I saw when I mouse over his name it says press Alt to declare war. I tried this and it didn't work either. Is there some other way to declare war or is this some sort of bug?
     
  19. SamSniped

    SamSniped DJ Goodboye

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    5,413
    Location:
    playing some funky jams
    Hot seat. Good times :D
    Anyway, how many turns ago did you declare peace with him? If it's less than 10, that's why (Peace Treaties except Cease Fires last 10 turns)
     
  20. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    You may also have to go into the diplomacy screen and cancel the peace treaty if it's been more than 10 turns. Sometimes the treaty auto-renews.
     

Share This Page