1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v36 plus (SVN) - After the 24th of October 2015

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Oct 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    If all plots are railway then it can't put down highways:crazyeye:.
     
  2. Pit2015

    Pit2015 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1,294
    Location:
    Germany
    Tomol cant load my rogue, raft and canoe can load mostly all units, should be same for tomol maybe.
     
  3. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    tomol's are only supposed to load very small units. Rogues should qualify as SPECIALUNIT_PEOPLE and thus be able to be loaded, however, if they aren't currently, I'll wait until I do a mass edit of criminal units that's soon pending anyhow. I've set my planning to make them that.
     
  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I ran some evaluations on this type of scenario. Building construction checked out to work properly. What would have to happen is if the building were somehow allowed to be built multiple times in a city or perhaps the building, as soon as built, was then disabled right away due to lacking a resource or something.

    A save evidencing this problem may be able to reveal something else I suppose but the only loopholes I could see taking place were the above 2 mentioned and I don't think it would be possible to set a building to be capable of being built multiple times and even if it is, it wouldn't get past a check being made here. So the disabling is about the only scenario I can think of that would make this possible.

    The other possibility is that you're looking at the 'add as specialist' command - that's going to behave much differently and would allow multiple units to all add themselves at one time.
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,540
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I had three military captives in a stack with Slavery World View on. I selected build slave compound. Normally it would build the compound and leave me with a stack of two captives. It didn't. It built the compound and used all three.

    You can't build multiple instances of a building in a city.
     
  6. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Does the Slave Compound have a bonus or civic prereq that can be circumvented when building with a unit?

    I'd have to test that specific case but that seems to be the only possible loophole.

    EDIT: I went in and ran a test of exactly that scenario and had 3 units selected when building the slave compound and only one was eaten to build the building leaving the other two wondering what to do now. Replication test failed to find a problem here. Sorry?
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    CTD minidumps attached, i have 2 in there, i think one is from before and the current one i got AFTER putting in Toffer's terrainpackage. . .
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I need to know the exact SVN revision you were on.

    (8814 for the latest one - just to remind myself)
     
  9. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    dont worry about the older one then, just do the most updated one with the latest SVN one then. .
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ok... minis are funny in that they can only be run with the exact dll/pdb they were played under. With all the work I'm doing lately it's likely I've already begun to develop the code past that point (and I currently have.) So it means I have to update to the revision the mini was taken from to get it to display anything of value. Therefore, I'll almost always need minis to accompany a report on the revision they were running under.
     
  11. Flinx

    Flinx Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    Commit 8811 with major changes to HN seems somehow broken.
    I started a new game (including Toffers' mod) and it doesn't feel right. Chasers, Scouts, Brutes, Stone Spearman and so on have HN but roam around together with regular troops.

    Is this intended?

    For me HN was the special für crime units, regular troops shouldn't have HN at all.
     
  12. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    That's an experiment I'm running in my civic modmod.
    Kinda like enforcing minor civs through prehistoric. All combatants from prehistoric era having hidden nationality and "attack without causing war" capability.

    Recons and hunters weren't supposed to have HN though.

    I'm curious about how it plays out is all; I might go back on it.
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Whew... glad you identified that. Would've been very confused if not. Funny though that I was thinking similarly that this kind of mechanic might be a better approach to the start as minors option.

    You should be able to have some modmod fun with my next commit! Wait 'til you get a load of what's to come... (Note that it won't have any immediate impact until the unit review I'm working on is fully implemented - but it sure will give you some interesting toys to play with.)
     
  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,153
    Location:
    Norway
    Nice; btw, how are venom, cold, warm and electric damage functionality coming along on the dll side? those things might be fun to play around with at some point, especially venom. ^^
     
  15. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Poisoning has been in place for a while now and SHOULD work just fine. The main thing there has been waiting on the Equipment project to fully implement. It could be setup for animals now but it's a fairly major planning and xml implementation project still. There's also so much interaction with the Advanced Disease stuff that's planned (involving the unit's ability to recover with assistance) that it's been another reason to hold off. However, during the middle of this cycle, once the advanced outbreak system has been adjusted, it could be a good time to look at implementing animal venom attacks.

    The elemental damage sources is something else that needs some major data reworking. It's one of the things holding back the naval review. Once it comes into focus it shouldn't take long to sort out. But I'm not sure when I can say it will be time for that. It's probable that I'll need to do the laborious effort to audit/rework the combat odds first, with this as one of the things that will need to be taken into consideration.
     
  16. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    If you add anything to THIS modmod, PLEASE use that thread for comments thx. otherwise it is confusing for the other modders what is going on thx,. . .SO
     
  17. Flinx

    Flinx Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    455
    I didn't know it has been Toffer's mod.
    The behaviour just showed up after the update to v8811, that's why i asked here.
    For further questions i'd gladly follow your suggestion.
     
  18. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,573
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    CTD with 8818 i believe
     
  19. NevFin

    NevFin Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    (release v36 = SVN Revision 8819)

    I updated SVN this morning and have been having CTDs that seem to be related to my northern most Ambusher in a Roman pallisade outside Rome (controlled by Wrub). It seems to happen when the ambusher leaves the pallisade. From the save, you can advance the turn. If you leave him alone you can continue to play but if you move him out it crashes.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,934
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks for both reports! Further game testing usually finds something when major adjustments are made. I'll be more than happy to take a look into these quickly. @SO: I'm sure you can see why the last bug report addressing was delayed - I can't get to those things when in mid-project. Now that the project is committed I can debug that along with these.

    I'll wrap them up as quickly as I can so possibly by end of today.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page