1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SteamDB: "Bison" Depot??

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Scirocco16V, Nov 15, 2013.

  1. Sporally

    Sporally Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    I basically just meant techs that had new techs in them.

    Don't know the Chocolate House as I haven't played the scenario to the end, but just like the tipis they all need to be less effective in the main game. Just happy if it could be modded into the game, as I now have no hopes of the items being transferred to the main game.

    Doubt scurvy will be transferred as it would required more development skills than I guess modders have - but I hope I'm wrong :) Again, doubt Firaxis will make the transfer.

    Sendt fra min GT-I9305 med Tapatalk
     
  2. Myomoto

    Myomoto Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    421
    Adding Scurvy to the main game shouldn't be overly difficult, since I imagine that the xml support is in the game now, and was previously as well, since Scurvy was already in the scenario before the deluxe edition.
     
  3. Sporally

    Sporally Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Yes, wasn't it? So I guess I imagined scurvy isn't easy to transfer because it hasn't been transferred before AFAIK. Unless you mean that because of the XML-support, it's made easier this time around.

    Sendt fra min GT-I9305 med Tapatalk
     
  4. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,521
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I don't think anybody would want to have scurvy in the game mostly because it's a 1/10 hp penalty per turn which would make navy horribly ... hmm worthless.
     
  5. Magma_Dragoon

    Magma_Dragoon Reploid

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    I wouldn't mind scurvy replacing the astronomy requirement to enter ocean
     
  6. JFD

    JFD Kathigitarkh

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    The Kingdom of New Zealand
    Scurvy is handled through lua, not xml. It still wouldn't be overly difficult to port it over.
     
  7. ferretbacon

    ferretbacon Obsessor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,533
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Texas
    It would be nice to be able to make the decision to cross a small amount of ocean with a Trireme, at the cost of the ship's health, in order to explore.
     
  8. seasnake

    seasnake Conquistador

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,880
    Location:
    California, United States
    Hey guys, finishing a balance mod and I've just added the Bison and Chocolate resources from this scenario. My question: does Shoshone need to build Tipis instead of Comanche riders, or would that make Shoshone OP?
     
  9. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    If you could add the Tipi for the Iroquois, that'd be nice.
     
  10. tnick777

    tnick777 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Iroquois never lived in tipis... that would be incredibly insulting...
     
  11. Aaron90495

    Aaron90495 King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    'Murica

    They're already OP with the below-average Riders, so yes, I would say that would make them excessively OP.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Eagle Pursuit

    Eagle Pursuit Scir-Gerefa

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,635
    Use the Tipis as a part of a Sioux civ. The Shoshone are fine the way they are.
     
  13. Sporally

    Sporally Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    Can't remember if it was Civ1, but I believe these was a risk it would sink unless it ended it's turn next to a shoreline. Think that would be more realistic than health loss. Either you hit a storm and loose everything or you're lucky and survive everything.

    Scurvy is, however, something very different and should be represented by a health loss. For instance it should not start before turn 3 away from the coast. It could also be a battle disadvantage - say 10% less fighting strength per turn until you reach the coast. After all, it isn't the ships that are taking a hit from scurvy.

    Sendt fra min GT-I9305 med Tapatalk
     
  14. otaman1

    otaman1 Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,697
    Oh, my bad.
     
  15. PhilBowles

    PhilBowles Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,317
    If I'm understanding what you mean correctly, there aren't any. There are no new units in the scenario, except treasure units which are already available at the start, so all the techs just move units/buildings from elsewhere in the game to the scenario tech tree.

    When Firaxis referred to an "expanded" tech tree, they were comparing with the original scenario, not the main game - the Deluxe tech tree is expanded relative to Conquest, it doesn't add anything that's not in the main game except a couple of buildings that are attached to existing tech.

    +1 gold per plantation the city works, increased to +3 gold for each cocoa plantation.

    The rest are fine for the main game as they are, I'd say.

    In the scenario it's a 65% chance of a 10 hp hit each turn, it's not an automatic effect. If it were in the main game this chance would need to be reduced. It would only really affect caravels and frigates/privateers, and then be nullified by navigation schools.

    Civs I and II certainly did it, I think Civ III may have done. As you say, scurvy isn't appropriate for ancient vessels since it was a consequence of long ocean voyages in the particular conditions of Age of Exploration ships.

    I'd like to see quite a lot added from the scenario - mainly the treasure system that gives value for razing and targeted wars against specific cities (probably razing cities with Wonders should grant a treasure per Wonder), with each treasure being returned to the capital for a lump sum. This would work very well with the BNW economic system where gold is often limited.

    But the new resources obviously fit well into the main game (cocoa does something lacking from other jungle resources), and there's little reason why things like the Meeting House and Gunsmith should be specific to the scenario - both are decent generic buildings and neither adds a huge amount to the scenario itself.
     
  16. ales_

    ales_ Heir

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,639
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Toulouse, France
    Civ III also did it.
     
  17. Gamewizard

    Gamewizard Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,234
    I am enjoying the treasure system from razing...however I think it should be more streamlined. Treasures should use the same system as trade units. Once you start your American massacre tour it becomes a little too tedious and clicky-clicky-clicky. There should just be a "Send to capital" button and the route it is taking should be visible that way you can secure it.
     
  18. Aaron90495

    Aaron90495 King

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    926
    Location:
    'Murica

    There's no clear fix here. If you were to make it like trade routes, people would complain about not having full control of an important unit.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  19. Sporally

    Sporally Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Denmark, EU.
    I wouldn't say it's too advantageous for the main game then. If so, the modders should lower it to just the +3 gold for cocoa. Also, if possible, only available in the city of there were an improved cocoa plantation just like you can't build the stone works unless you have a quarry or mine on stone. This way it definitely isn't too strong. However, I would say the tipis are too strong for the main game, and even unrealistic as you wouldn't replace them in the modern era. You guys think Indians still would live in tipis if they developed into a technological society by themselves?

     
  20. TheMarshmallowBear

    TheMarshmallowBear Benelovent Chieftain of the BearKingdom

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,521
    Location:
    Inside an Ikanda.
    I was dreaming that 2k announced a spring patch D: (or had the patch notes handy!)

    God darn it 2k why u no release patch!
     

Share This Page