1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Terra Mirabilis v2.20

A mod that reworks Natural Wonders in Civilization VI, and adds 19 new ones that include some old fa

  1. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    Kind of. There is a base game inefficiency that is exacerbated by the fact that this mod add so many new Modifiers. This mod isn't doing anything wrong it's just that the base game isn't efficiently coded in this area.
     
  2. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    Are you running any other mods that would update the UnitPanel.lua? If so you would need to replicate the fix there too.
     
  3. Sknubbinateur

    Sknubbinateur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Looks very interesting but why are naturalists now purchased with gold instead of faith? Makes religion even more irrelevant no? Is it still possible to use faith? If not, would there be an option to opt out of this change?
     
  4. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    This is why we make lots of things configurable in the TM_UserSettings.sql. You can change NATURALIST_PURCHASE back to YIELD_FAITH there if you want.
     
  5. Sknubbinateur

    Sknubbinateur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks sorry I hadn't read the description well enough, it says that settings are configurable, found the option now. The file says the option has become irrelevant because you can now buy them with both faith and gold, but I guess if I change it back to YIELD_FAITH it should stay just faith
     
  6. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    I forgot we made that change - the setting will probably have no effect then.
     
  7. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,199
    I think something in the new patch causes Terra Mirabilis to cause world generation failures, specifically with the tilted axis map (the only one I"ve had trouble with). I'm a chronic re-roller and every 3-5 rerolls with this maptype it fails. The lua.log ends with...

    Code:
    Runtime Error: Not a valid instance.  Either the instance is NULL or you used '.' instead of ':'.
    stack traceback:
        [C]: in function 'func'
        D:\Tech Stuff\Steam Games\steamapps\workshop\content\289070\1461463960\Core\Utilities\Maps\NaturalWonderGenerator.lua:271: in function 'CustomGetMultiTileFeaturePlotList'
        (tail call): ?
        D:\Tech Stuff\Steam Games\steamapps\workshop\content\289070\1461463960\Core\Utilities\Maps\NaturalWonderGenerator.lua:99: in function 'NaturalWonderGenerator:__FindValidLocs'
        D:\Tech Stuff\Steam Games\steamapps\workshop\content\289070\1461463960\Core\Utilities\Maps\NaturalWonderGenerator.lua:44: in function 'NaturalWonderGenerator.Create'
        D:\Tech Stuff\Steam Games\steamapps\common\Sid Meier's Civilization VI\DLC\Expansion2\Maps\Tilted_Axis.lua:119: in function 'GenerateMap'
        [C]: in function '(anonymous)'
    Lua callstack:
    Runtime Error: Call to GenerateMap() had errors
    stack traceback:
        [C]: in function '(anonymous)'
    LoadScreen: OnLoadGameViewStateDone
    Mods: Failed to create mods browser search context!
    Test: Test.LUA loaded!
    JoiningRoom: OnFinishedGameplayContentConfigure() g_waitingForContentConfigure=true
    JoiningRoom: OnFinishedGameplayContentConfigure() g_waitingForContentConfigure=true
    JoiningRoom: OnFinishedGameplayContentConfigure() g_waitingForContentConfigure=true
    
     
  8. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    There are a couple of changes in NaturalWonderGenerator.lua in the Sep 2019 update so we'll need to update our version to include them. Will update soon.
     
    Boris Gudenuf likes this.
  9. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    Deliverator updated Terra Mirabilis with a new update entry:

    v2.20 Update

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    Zyxpsilon and Laurana Kanan like this.
  10. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,068
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    Sorry to confirm, the latest UnitPanel "fix" for the Builders lag hasn't (entirely) solved these annoying flaws once more!
    I'm afraid -- we'll probably never find a definitive solution for this stubborn problem.. i wish i could offer you guys some hints or solid diagnostic to track it down.
    Good luck (again) nonetheless. :scan:
     
  11. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    Do you use other UI mods?
     
  12. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,068
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    @Deliverator
    Possibly.. but "UI" is such a generic term, i'm not sure which to identify with enough precision. Let's see and presume anything that could interact with UnitPanel or more stuff indirectly..

    1) Sukritact's Simple UI adjustments; but i only use the "Snapshot Mode" & "Custom Religion tooltip for City Banners" -- so, i've cancelled out the rest with minor file naming edits.
    2) Sukritact's Global Relations Panel
    3) Zur13's Z-Units Marks + Radial Measuring Tool + Map Search Extension
    4) WindFly's Strategy Resources to Production
    5) TC's Removable Resources and Features
    6) Astog's More Lenses + Better Espionage Screen
    7) Peter.spjuth's Great Works Viewer
    8) Infixo's Better Report Screen + Real Era Tracker + Real Great People
    9) FinalFreak's Alternate Policy Screen

    That just about sums it up.. everything else in my Mods list is mostly "Cosmetic" and, even all of your "Custom Wonders". None of which should interfere with the Builders UI, i suppose.
     
  13. yanraabe

    yanraabe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    30
    Hi Deliverator! I like to play with many CSs and many Natural Wonders. Sadly, the CSs tend to spawn right next to most Natural Wonders, in such a way that the 1-tile wonders are "occupied" from turn 1 and I can only access their effect by conquering the CS.
    You mentioned in TM_UserSettings under "-- Minimum Start Distances between Major/Minor Civilization and Natural Wonder":
    -- Apparently there is some override in the background that makes the start distance superfluous :/
    -- I believe it only happens when there are many NWs and many CSs on the map and it becomes impossible to adhere to these rules."

    I can confirm that there would be plenty of space elsewhere on the map where there are no CSs, no major Civs and no Natural Wonders, where the CS could spawn while still respecting the minimum starting distance setting.
    Do you have any advice? Thanks!
     
  14. pokiehl

    pokiehl King

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    Are people experiencing builder lag late game with this mod?
     
  15. Zyxpsilon

    Zyxpsilon Running Spider

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,068
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    On Earth
    @pokiehl Yes.. still getting Laggy-Conditions even after their v2.20 update. There's an indirect pseudo-fix-edit of a core file that can help (mostly in late game) somehow but, i guess our best hope to solve this issue is to figure out the exact combination of guilty Mod(s) while pointing at the proper code "flaws" which creates such weird effect.
    To me -- it's also more about wacky load-order tricks than the latest Unit-Panel theories or possibly, whichever LUA fractionning of unstable assets pulled from some mystery (one or two) extra-mods.
     
  16. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    Yes. The issue is still there in the base game so the hack fix to UnitPanel.lua is still required AFAIK. The GetUnitActionsTable included in TM is meant to override the base game one but in practice I'm not sure the override is working. Also if you are using another mod that overrides UnitPanel.lua it won't have that fix.

    You can try just editing the base game UnitPanel.lua file by changing line 534 from:
    Code:
    bCanStart, tResults = UnitManager.CanStartOperation(pUnit, actionHash, nil, tParameters, true);
    to
    Code:
    bCanStart, tResults = UnitManager.CanStartOperation(pUnit, actionHash, nil, tParameters, false, false);
    Which should eliminate the lag (if it is the old Builder lag).

    The cause was identified 8 months ago here. Firaxis attempted to improve the situation but didn't really fix it. I haven't retested but I assuming that the game is still recreating and reapplying every Requirement and Requirement Set every time I select a Builder. I still believe it is base game inefficiency so not something the mod it self can fix directly. The best would be to make sure the hack fix is loaded in all circumstances.
     
    pokiehl likes this.
  17. pokiehl

    pokiehl King

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    OK so long story short, the lag is still there, for some reason the override included in TM isn't necessarily working, but directly altering the base game UnitPanel file solves the issue?
     
  18. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    I think so, but would have to test with a particular combination of mods to confirm. If someone has a savegame where the lag has emerged then it is possible to diagnose as previously.
     
    pokiehl likes this.
  19. AsimovtheCat

    AsimovtheCat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington State, US
    Does having more ram alleviate the problem somewhat? My computer is using almost all of its memory when running civ VI and I'm wondering if more ram would help? I'd guess not because it's going to reload it every time even if it has enough memory to store the improvement requirements.

    Would It be possible for me to create a stand alone mod that has a very high load order that just changes that specific UnitPanel.lua line?

    I haven't played around with lua much so I'm really not sure what the capabilities are.
     
  20. Deliverator

    Deliverator Graphical Hackificator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,625
    Location:
    London, UK
    I would bother with new ram - I would just make sure that the UnitPanel.lua fix is applied as we know that eliminates the lag.
     

Share This Page