1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The volcano issue

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Caveman 2 Cosmos' started by Crusis, Jul 6, 2012.

  1. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    You can make it dependent on whatever you like that is exposed to the expression system.
    That includes stuff like gamespeed, options, techs, civics, traits and many other things.
     
  2. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Now that sounds wonderful, too bad we dont do everything like that then.
     
  3. chueche

    chueche Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Short question. The Vulcano problem is fixed now with SVN 3070, or strong reduced?
     
  4. rightfuture

    rightfuture Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    I'm it will just take time for people to get to it.

    People will do what they know how to do:)
     
  5. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,329
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think what BlueGenie is after is something like any active volcano that has not erupted in the last 100 always goes dormant and any dormant volcano goes extinct after 1000 years in addition to events. IE those two always happen in those conditions. Event or random eruptions reset the clock.

    My understanding is that only one event can happen per player per turn, is that right?
     
  6. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,557
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    :wavey: now that I am back and actually able to do some coding I'll change the volcano events a bit - actually I think I'll just allow them to happen anywhere instead of on owned territory and see what people think then. Additionally the new volcano and extinct volcano events (those that spawn new volcanos) will be reduced. Might be a day or so until I'll actually upload them.

    As with global warming events I'd much rather have a way to do them outside the event system though. Mostly because however way I trigger them not all players potentially affected by them will be notified which is a suboptimal situation.
     
  7. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
  8. draz

    draz Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Finland
    That would be ideal. Early on, expanding your borders is pretty slow (especially with the megalomaniacal leaders that have -20% :culture:, somehow I seem to prefer them for my world domination plans :lol:) and it's just a tad unrealistic that the volcanos just happen to be popping only in your tiny plot of land.
     
  9. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,557
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    There are a few things that might annoy people then though, especially that volcanos can then errupt in your territory due to the event being triggered by another player. In that case you won't get any notification about destroyed improvements I fear...
     
  10. BlueGenie

    BlueGenie Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563
    Is there any way to make it a "global event" then, so even if triggered by one country all nations get a report on a new volcano springing up?

    Cheers
     
  11. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,557
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    oh all do get the event notification - but I don't see a way to focus on the plot for the non-triggering civs nor do I see a way to tell the non-triggering civs if improvements they own were destroyed.
     
  12. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Isn't the volcano event implemented in Python?
     
  13. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    I have been playing on a huge map with custom continents on the eternity game speed, difficulty noble with 8 civs. I'm really surprised at the way volcanoes have spawned. I've attached 2 screen shots showing the volcanoe problem I experienced.
    View attachment 325991
    This one shows me having fun with four volcanoes.
    View attachment 325992
    Not long afterwards another one of their friends popped in to say hello!

    Please tell me there is going to be a fix for this!?
     
  14. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,557
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    It is (partly - the eruption is - the extinction/dormant stuff is pure xml currently) but I still haven't found code that would allow me to do that (i.e. center the camera for everyone on the affected plot and notify the owner of the plot, not the active player that improvements have been destroyed) - I might just miss something obvious though ;)

    It is in the process of being uploaded.
    Chances changed to
    15/45/140/280 for new/extinct/dormant/active volcano to erupt
    60 for dormant volcano to go extinct
    200 for active volcano to go dormant

    also they are now global events (I don't believe it makes a difference) and do not require you to own the affected plot.

    Moderator Action: @PsiCorps: please do change your signature to conform with forum rules - at your font size that is 5 lines including blank lines
     
  15. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Code:
    CyInterface().addMessage(kTriggeredData.ePlayer, false, gc.getEVENT_MESSAGE_TIME(), szBuffer, "AS2D_BOMBARDED", InterfaceMessageTypes.MESSAGE_TYPE_INFO, gc.getImprovementInfo(iImprovement).getButton(), gc.getInfoTypeForString("COLOR_RED"), plot.getX(), plot.getY(), true, true)
    That is from the volcano code.
    plot.getOwner() instead of kTriggeredData.ePlayer will inform the owner of the improvement instead of the event player.

    Code:
      if (plot.getOwner() == gc.getGame().getActivePlayer()):
        CyCamera().JustLookAtPlot( plot  )
    That will make the owner of the improvement look at the plot (mind though that with the viewports now I am not sure how that behaves for a plot outside the viewport).
     
  16. PsiCorps

    PsiCorps FF: Babylon 5 mod team

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,424
    Location:
    Britain
    No one's mentioned it before...done now.

    That's great news, can't wait to get that patch in.
     
  17. ori

    ori Repair Guy Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    16,557
    Location:
    Baden-Württemberg, Germany
    Thanks, I actually saw the justlookatplot code last night but did not get around to testing it - however wouldn't it just center on the plot if the currently active player (i.e. the one triggering the event) is the owner?
     
  18. AIAndy

    AIAndy Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,409
    Hmm, I was only thinking about multiplayer, where the active player is always the local human. So slightly more complex:

    Code:
    if ((gc.getGame().isSimultaneousTeamTurns() && (plot.getOwner() == gc.getGame().getActivePlayer())) || (!gc.getGame().isSimultaneousTeamTurns() && gc.getPlayer(plot.getOwner()).isHuman())):
        CyCamera().JustLookAtPlot( plot  )
     
  19. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Just had 2 volcanoes erupt, one in the ocean, so it made an extra land mark next to my continent pic1) the other dont know where, i believe in the ocean also, but not sure, i dont want to look beaus of the fog of war yet. pic2

    I like them springing up near the edge of land masses, better this way, i believe???
     
  20. BlueGenie

    BlueGenie Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563
    What about Hawaii? It exists because of a volcano and it's not really near an edge of a landmass?
    Same goes for Iceland.

    Cheers
     

Share This Page