1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Tut] Nifscope

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Modding Tutorials & Reference' started by The_Coyote, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. Manifold

    Manifold ModderProtectionAdvocate

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,580
    i am still not happy with his working clothes, but his working procedure is fine

     
  2. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    Most models I download from the web look good, but a handful have this "Gloss" look and no detail or just too shiny to see the detail.

    see attached model of B-29 Superfortress.
     
  3. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,524
    It could be that you are missing the .dds file that should manage the gloss effect. Do you have an example unit for download somewhere?
     
  4. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
  5. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,524
    Hm, works for me with no problems in NifSkope. Do you have the same problem in-game or only with NifSkope? Have you opened the B-29 with other units already opened with NifSkope? NifSkope takes the folder of the first unit that is loaded as default folder and can therefore normally not find the .dds files of other units. They turn out white then. Further it is for the B-29 important that the Texture.dds and the Gloss.dds is in the same directory as the B29.nif file.
     
  6. kiwitt

    kiwitt Road to War Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ (GMT+12)
    The problem is in NifSkope ... I have not tried in-game, because I assumed if it not right in NifSope it will not be in-game.
     
  7. Manifold

    Manifold ModderProtectionAdvocate

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,580
    it should work in game. i guess some units are not compatible with nifskope, try it out
     
  8. El_Salmun

    El_Salmun Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Belgium
    Guess the above was a serious misunderstanding :rotfl:! Thank God u have spare time for us NifN00bs, looks like I'll be busy for a while reading your tut... I'll be so ashamed if I find the answer to my Max 2009 problem in it... then I would've started the whole thread for nothing :blush:...
     
  9. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    if i had thought this i hadn´t answered the questions and simply provide a link ;) - sometimes it can be better to give step by step introductions at the beginning (i can still remember how strange all of this was to me two years ago)

    edit: updated the OP with a link to our fruitful thread - so at least he can´t vanish completly in the main forum
     
  10. hockeyrox38

    hockeyrox38 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    I downloaded pakbuild to unpak the files, then unpacked them to a folder on my desktop. when i opened the warrior nif, the guy was all white. The skin did not loead for some reason, and I amd wondereing why. Could somebody help me please?
     
  11. Valkrionn

    Valkrionn The Hamster King

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14,450
    Location:
    Crestview FL
    The only time that's happened to me is when I had a nif from a different folder open; All I can figure is there's some limitation with it being able to only load skins from one folder at a time.
     
  12. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    @The Coyote
    Hi,
    I'm glad to know that nifscope 1.0.22 has UV scale/rotate :goodjob:

    I'm still running the old 1.0.20 because of a issue about binormals/tangents (see below)
    Using blender 2.49b / nifscript 2.4.12 / pyFFI 2.0.3, exporting a mesh from blender into nifscope, it has binormals/tangents :)confused:) arrays filled (while regular firaxis are empty instead). After a stripify/triangulate with nifscope 1.0.20 the arrays become empty; doing the same with 1.0.21 doesn't work instead.
    There are no drawbacks with these arrays filled instead of empty, apart a significative increase of nif size.
    Nonetheless, I will install 1.0.22 asap ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    Binomials and tangents are (should - i don´t have the newest export scripts running atm) only created if you have the "export extra shader textures" activated. This options is only needed for leaderheads (they need binomials and tagents for the shader) - if you have a unit you can deselect it.
     
  14. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Good news as usual :goodjob:
    I'll try to deselect it ;)
     
  15. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    I've just played a bit with these new UV functions, and they are OK. Unfortunately there
    is no "mirror selected" UV function or I miss it somewhere? There is a previous existing "UV set -> Mesh -> Flip UV" function, but it does a mirror of the whole UV set. :(
     
  16. The_Coyote

    The_Coyote Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Location:
    Europe
    try using negative values (and non uniform scale). A scale of -1 for x (or y) mirrors the selected part
     
  17. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    You are a genius!!! :thumbsup: :clap: :woohoo:
     

Share This Page