1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unit requests thread

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by Thunderfall, Feb 5, 2006.

  1. clanky4

    clanky4 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Location:
    USA
    It is only supposed to fire its rocket when it intercepts an aircraft. Not necessarily when it is attacked by an aircraft, it'll just default to its rangedstrike/rangedhurt kfs, but when it intercepts ones. I have literally never seen this happen in game though. Probably because I never use SAM infantry due to them being weaker than base infantry which come earlier.

    At any rate if you wanted the Sam Infantry to only use its SAM in combat you could just copy all of the anti-air kfs and rename them to ranged.

    For instance saminfantry_md_anti-air_idle would become saminfantry_md_ranged_idle
    saminfantry_md_anti-airfortify would become saminfantry_md_rangedfortify and so on and so forth.
     
  2. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Ah I see, thank you again! =)

    Another question, what determines when unit is selected if it speaks back or make machine sounds? I looked at various files, but I can't seem to tell what makes warrior speak and makes tank do "zvvvzzmm" =)
     
  3. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,251
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    In CIV4ArtDefines_Unit.xml, at the bottom of an entry there are two optional tags for <SelectionSound> and <ActionSound>. When these are excluded altogether (i.e. most land units) they default to the civ's speech as defined in CIV4CivilizationInfos.xml. Firaxis uses existing incidental sounds for vehicles, but it's entirely possible to swap these with custom sets&#8212;I've made mods giving individual units their own unique VOs, like in several RTS titles. :p
     
  4. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Ok i got it. I didn't realize that mech units were set to use unique <SelectionSound> and <ActionSound>. I thought there was a generic switch!
    Thank you so much!


    update


    One more question : SelectionSound - is what you hear when you click on unit
    What does ActionSound do?
     
  5. Thorvald of Lym

    Thorvald of Lym A Little Sketchy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    8,251
    Location:
    A Palace north of Oslo
    It's the speech played when settlers found cities and missionaries spread faith, &c. I'm not actually sure what defines where it's used, since not every action triggers it.
     
  6. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Hello everyone.
    I got another curious unit problem.
    I got this unit from Ethinica(sp?) art mod. When you look at this unit via nif you can see that he is wearing a fur cape.
    However in game, he has no cape. Whats up with that? Is there a flag that somehow made the cape invisible?

    Anyone has any ideas why cape is invisible?

    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 15, 2016
  7. ChaosSlayer

    ChaosSlayer King

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Question of the day:

    I have tried to export early nuke bomber from Road to War mode into my own mod, but i run into a problem - when it flies to target it doesn't behaves like it does in RTW: instead of dropping the bomb in flight and bomb exploding, the plane itself is suiciding into the target.

    What needs to be done to fix this?

    Thank You!
     
  8. donalpanko

    donalpanko Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Has This been done yet?
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Sounds like it may be the effects associated with the unit. Those are the bits that show the arrows from bows or missionary symbols.
     
  10. Kathy

    Kathy Prince

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    565
    Could anyone do a reskin of the modern great general, so it looks like an admiral?
     
  11. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,511
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think we have one in C2C. I'll see if I can get the artist to post it here.
     
  12. lucidstorm

    lucidstorm Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi want improvement over the vanilla not new units where I can find them? buildings and units, easy install
     
  13. chickenx4

    chickenx4 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cobb county,GA
    I want a raiden mkii unit
     
  14. CHINCHIN

    CHINCHIN Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Spain
    I'm building a mod, where resources must be transported to cities. For this I need units-resources. These units are immobile, with a generic unit for all, type box or container, sufficient.

    Can anyone make this unit?
     
  15. clanky4

    clanky4 Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Location:
    USA
    I am fairly certain that is what civ4 colonization did. Although you would normally see the units, they were crates with some of whatever resource they are representing spilling out.
     
  16. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Well, there are quite a few British cold war aircraft missing!

    We really need a Blackburn Bucaneer:



    An English Electric Lightning:



    And of course the Sea Vixen and the Sea Scimitar:





    Anyone have these in plans? :)
     
  17. chickenx4

    chickenx4 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cobb county,GA
    I want a t1 light tank
     
  18. MatteM

    MatteM Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    195
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Not sure which t1 that is but there is a T1 Cunningham, which I think is regarded as a light tank, in the mod Realism Invictus.
     
  19. chickenx4

    chickenx4 Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    559
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cobb county,GA
    The T1 Cunningham was one that was asking for

    Edit:I also want a T1 HMC
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2017
  20. Kathy

    Kathy Prince

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    565

Share This Page