[MOD] v41 SVN and GithubDesktop Bugs and Crashes Single player

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by JosEPh_II, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Norway
    My bad, fixed on my end now, coming to SVN soon.
     
  2. jatkinson

    jatkinson Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    SVN 11258

    Thanks for the other fix. Previously you asked for examples of culture tiles flipping between neutral and player owned. I've got an example of this now with the hill tile north of Patiliputra, there was a hidden Panther on that tile - not sure if it's still there currently sending a Master Hunter to investigate. There's also a desert tile doing the same, it looked like Patiliputra's culture expanded and claimed the hill tile again but once again next turn it flipped back to neutral:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  3. kormer

    kormer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    I'm getting an infinite loop on turn end here. This save was started on SVN 40.something. I updated the save to 11258 and recalculated to see if that would fix it, but nope.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jatkinson

    jatkinson Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    If the game was started on version 40 of C2C then your savegame would have been broken anyway by updating. I don't think there is much that can be done.
     
    JosEPh_II likes this.
  5. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Straight from the SVN changelog thread.
     
  6. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Norway
    He must have started the save on v41, or a revision after the last savebreak, or else he wouldn't have been able to load it and do the recalc as he said he did. I'll have a look at it.

    Edit: It does indeed go into an infinite loop, I'll debug it soon.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
  7. kormer

    kormer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    I don't remember exactly which v40 revision it was, but I just started this save a bit over a week ago and think I missed the v41 change by a day or two.

    Also I've restarted about 4 times now in the past month or so, each game has ended at or near the end of classical with an infinite loop, not sure if I'm doing something wrong on my end. I keep restarting on smaller maps and faster settings, but it's still happening.
     
    JosEPh_II likes this.
  8. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Norway
    Ok, I've gotten as far as indicating that the infinite loop is caused by one of your game options by turning off all options and passing the turn successfully... Not that far to be honest. My first suspect is the zones of control option.

    Edit: {
    Hmm, only turning off "unlimted national units" (UNU) stopped the infinite loop from happening.
    Turning off all options except UNU didn't stop the infinite loop.
    Conclusion, it is likely not caused by a combination of options, and I can focus on figuring out how the UNU option on its own can cause an infinite loop.

    Edit2: Could still be a combination of UNU being ON and another option being OFF.
    Edit3: Tried turning on all options, still infinite loop.​
    }
    Edit4:
    Could also be that turning off unlimited national wonders cause the seed to develop differently so that the situation that infinite loops never arise...
    Edit5: Played 10 turns without UNU without getting the infinite loop.
    Edit6: Tried turning on the new random seed when loading a save option (hidden option), to see if it could stop the infinite loop when UNU is turned ON. Got the infinite loop 5 times even with random seed, so I think that proves UNU is the cause of the infinite loop. I did this extensive testing as I couldn't really believe that option could be the cause of an infinite loop, it's so innocently used in code.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2020
    raxo2222 and Blazenclaw like this.
  9. jatkinson

    jatkinson Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    SVN 11258

    Got another Python exception error on ending turn, this one seems to be related to events, does not repeat on loading the end of turn save and going to the next turn again.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Norway
    Fixed, on its way to SVN now.
    Hit ctrl+W, find the "Game Option" button in the upper right panel, turn off unlimited national units option, exit world builder, play the game.
    This will resolve your infinite loop, can't promise that I can fix the bug fast as it's a bit befuddling.
     
    JosEPh_II likes this.
  11. kormer

    kormer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    81
    Thanks, that did in fact fix it on my end too.
     
  12. tramwajg

    tramwajg Warlord

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Poland
    yes I have windows 10, I think without SVN, just latest version, and it works fine now, production queues didn't happen to be empty during last several days
     
  13. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,509
    Location:
    Norway
    I managed to fix the infinite loop bug, so on the next SVN revision you can turn on unlimited national units again.
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,426
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Thank you for your diligent efforts Toffer. Again Thank You. :goodjob::thumbsup:
     
    Toffer90 likes this.
  15. jatkinson

    jatkinson Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    During my game I have been watching the Incans and they are not settling new cities, while the Ottomans have at least settled two more. I'm up to seven (and pretty much already snowballing - I'm way up in tech and built every unique wonder). They actually have a settler built in their city and enough units to escort and they are not lacking in avaiilable land to settle. Barbs aren't too much of a problem (indeed I've been constantly thinning them out), so I'm not sure why they aren't settling.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    SVN 11251 Barbarians ignoring fishing camps while plundering every single fishing boat... I dont think thats intended
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,640
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Probably not but it does show they only think about bonus'd plots when considering what to raze navally. Something to resolve at some point yes.
     
  18. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    133
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    SVN 11251
    Is this intended or bug?
    Some stories (horse-stories,flightless birds, maybe more) cannot be constructed with bards, only with animals and entertainers (who is next lvl of bard).
    While story-horse can be easily constructed with bard.
    Not saying it is bug game-vise, but logic one.
    All other stories are buildable with bards.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2020
  19. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    There's uh, a number of oddities with the animal system. That's to be fixed next (or at least in next the top 3 items) on my changelog after the route edits I'm wrapping up soon.
     
  20. jatkinson

    jatkinson Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    UK
    SVN 11261

    Encountered a nasty bug immediately after updating and allowing it to recalc stats. My Sculptors Workshop in Delhi was one turn away from being built and then after ending the turn it did not build, instead it completely vansihed, neither appearing in my built buildings list nor in my available building list. I also tried exiting the game and loading a save from the turn before I updated with Scultptors Workshop 2 turns away, and after ending turn while other buildings in my other cities succesfully built themselves the Sculptors Workshop once again completely disapeared from my build queue

    Edit: I've also noticed that the Trading Post that was being built in Vijayanagara and 2 turns from completion also after ending turn, disapears from it's bulld queue and it's list of available buildings, interestingly in Delhi it's still shown as built.

    Edit 2: Updated to version 11262 and the problem still remains.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 8, 2020

Share This Page