Wait a minute! (Bronze Working)

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Strategy & Tips' started by SevenSpirits, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. Tyrael

    Tyrael ALC Lurker

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Computer
    Maybe have Slavery require Masonry AND Bronze Working?
     
  2. jason77024

    jason77024 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Just FWIW...

    National Geographic (nerd alert) recently had a show on which indicated that the Pyramids were -not- built by slaves. I am certainly not an expert in the field, but you may also wish to read http://www.harvardmagazine.com/on-line/070391.html
     
  3. frob2900

    frob2900 Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,117

    Indeed. There have been discussions on the forums earlier about this (try looking for threads with slavery in the title). The egyptian system of procuring workers for the pyramids was more like the european feudal system than like slavery (in the sense the word was used in e.g. Rome or Greece).

    BTW. You are surfing a forum devoted to the Civilization game, and you feel obliged to issue a nerd alert when referring to National Geographic?? :confused:
     
  4. dot

    dot crossing the i's

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Schland.
    Thank you. That's interesting. Another "common sense" prejudice removed. ;) OK, so much for my "the slaves" theory.

    :blush: Did I say: "'Nuff said." ??? Sorry.
     
  5. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    The mids were built by hired craftsman, not by slaves.... :p

    But putting slavery in another tech would not be so bad at all: I'm not surely the only one that thinks that slavery comes too early in the game....
     
  6. slobberinbear

    slobberinbear Ursine Skald

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Foraging in your trashcan
    No way slavery should be tied to religious tech, particularly a religious tech associated with a particular religion. Imagine the hate emails that would follow...

    Slavery could be a worthwhile stand-alone tech (like Fascism, Communism, etc.), say with BW and/or Masonry as prerequisites.

    Another way to nerf Slavery would be to give it a negative diplomacy modifier vis a vis non-Slavery-using civs.
     
  7. dot

    dot crossing the i's

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,190
    Location:
    Schland.
    Dear rolo, see post #24. :p
     
  8. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Sorry, nevermind that :blush: ...
     
  9. Khan Quest

    Khan Quest Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Right behind you
    Maybe the chopping rate could improve with technology:
    Stone - 12 chops/forest
    Bronze - 6 chops/forest
    Iron - 3 chops/forest
     
  10. NoMan

    NoMan Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Interesting discussion. Throwing another idea out there. Instead of tying slavery to a tech why not tie it to city or empire size. For example requires a city of size 3, or an empire of size 4.
     
  11. viinno

    viinno Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Great Great Britain
    If you bothered to read my post properly you woul have noticed I never even said anything about not being able to build mines, and sorry to pop your over inflated bubble Obselete but Bronze Working and Mining are different techs.

    I was infering that Slavery and Chopping be moved back a bit, so next time prehaps consider what other people are saying before you run your mouth.
     
  12. SevenSpirits

    SevenSpirits Immortal?

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    512
    I think he was pointing out that hills are often forested. If you can't chop early, you can't mine those hills. I think that's a valid concern with eliminating early chopping.
     
  13. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    A forested hill and a mined hill have the same yield unless the mine has a metal ... I'm not seeing the problem :confused:
     
  14. SevenSpirits

    SevenSpirits Immortal?

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    512
    Actually, a forest adds +1:hammers:, and a mine adds +2:hammers:. So there is a difference.
     
  15. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Ok, I stand corrected. I do agree that chopping should be avaliable early (BW is fine, but even Masonry would do ( maybe even BW or Masonry ) ) but Slavery could go elsewhere easily ( maybe even as a new and separate tech ). BW = Cooper + Axes + Chopping + Slavery makes BW a bit stronger than necessary IMHO
     
  16. jason77024

    jason77024 Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    208
    Not only were the work gangs very specialized, they only worked part of the year, i.e. when the Nile was flooding and no farming could take place. Interesting stuff.

    Good point... OK, double-nerd alert. :)

    Great "horde of axemen" sig, btw!
     
  17. LionQ

    LionQ Noble

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    Best suggestion so far.
     
  18. kniteowl

    kniteowl Pirate Captain :P

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,269
    Location:
    NZ
    The most under used civic in the game in my opinion is Serfdom. I'd like all civics to be worth while.

    I'd like to see Slavery and Serfdom switch places

    BW opens up Serfdom and Feudalism opens up Slavery.

    It makes Serfdom useful now because it becomes a transition civic.

    Although this change may lead to the Feudalism Slingshot to occur more often lol.
     

Share This Page