1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[WTP] Quick questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nightinggale, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. Sarin

    Sarin Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    William Penn is definitely an easy mode, so he's good for the first run. Donck isn't bad either. Danish leaders are hard, navy isn't that prominent, as long as you get a few warships to protect your trade and fishing and few pirates to keep AI down a bit, you're set. You can't fight off King at sea anyway.
     
    JustAnotherOldGuy likes this.
  2. Sarin

    Sarin Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Now I'm wondering if the whaling automation AI can handle certain situation. I've got three colonies close to each other:
    Spoiler :


    The lake between Nieuw Amsterdam and Willemstad is considered sea, but the only access is through Nieuw Amsterdam. To the southeast are, probably due to some excessive triggering of the event, massive whaling grounds-six sources quite close together. So I could supply all three colonies with enough blubber. If the AI works right. But with all colonies essentially in one line from the source, and having to go through one colony with active whaling to reach another, I'm not sure if it'll work right.

    If anyone got a bit experience with such situation, let me know before I start experimenting.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  3. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    The Whaling Automatization of Whaling Ships will always use the nearest port - shortest distance to Whaling plot - as its home port.
    It will not automatically supply ports that are further away.
    All other ports will need to be provided by Trade Route Automatization or manual movement.

    Also Whaling Automatization of Whaling Ships will always use the nearest Whaling plot - shortest distance to its current position - unless it is already occupied by another whaling ship in that turn.
    In that case it will go for the the next nearest unoccupied Whaling plot.
    But whenever it is searching for a new Whaling plot and the nearest whaling plot is unoccupied it will try to return to that one.

    So Automatization of Whaling works and all of your Whaling Ships will eventually find a plot and a city to do their Whaling business.
    But it does not mean that it will always use the Whaling plots and supply the Whaling cities you want it to.

    You will still need to use Automatic Transpartation System and manual movement.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2020
  4. Sarin

    Sarin Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    362
    Damn, that means I'd have to set up feeder system. That sucks....right now I'm only whaling from Nieuw Amsterdam, and it's working well...though I get excess blubber because I have three whaling boats due to events and FF.
     
  5. Neko Keeshi

    Neko Keeshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    whats the best maps to play on? I want lots and lots of land, but I'm not sure which ones tho pick to play?
     
  6. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Location:
    Germany
    You should play a scenario on a "gigantic" map.
     
  7. Neko Keeshi

    Neko Keeshi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    doesn't matter which one tho?
     
  8. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It is a matter of taste. :dunno:
    But if you want a balanced map with "lots of land", try: Two Continents
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
  9. Your_ardent_admirer

    Your_ardent_admirer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    What does “Random settlement areas” option do? It’s in the settings screen when you are about to create custom game. The tooltip for it isn’t helpful.
    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
  10. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    As default in WTP (or TAC or RaR) Native Nations are spawned by a Upper North - Lower North - Central - Upper South - Lower South distribution. (My old "Geographically Correct Native Placement" feature from TAC.)
    This is meant to have Natives appear at least generally in regions (considering North, Central, South) where they fit historically / geographically. (e.g. no Inuit in Central or South America)

    The "Random Settlement Areas" deactivates that "geographic correct" distribution logic and thus the specific Native tribes can be spawned everywhere.
    It will then be completely randomized again - basically using Vanilla spawning System for Natives. (So if you activate that option you might e.g. have Inuit in Central or South America.)

    -----

    Summary:

    Default spawning of Natives in WTP tries to match Natives to historically / geographically correct lattitudes.
    The game setting “Random settlement areas” however allows to still have completely random spawning of Natives (as in Vanilla).

    -----

    I personally never activate the Game Option “Random settlement areas” myself.
    (Inuits in Central America or Aztects in Alaska destroys my immersion.)

    It is a setting for people that really want to completely randomized Native settlement areas - some people prefer it that way.
    (It is of course less predictable then which Natives you might meet in different places - so more surprises.)

    -----

    Edit:

    Thanks for pointing out
    that the English text was really unclear. :thumbsup:
    I corrected those texts now to be more specific and explain what it does.

    The German text in contrary was already quite precise.
    TAC was originally a "German community mod" that did not translate all texts properly into English. :(
    And later in RaR and WTP nobody really took care of translations for such old texts either ... :blush:
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2020
    Your_ardent_admirer likes this.
  11. Your_ardent_admirer

    Your_ardent_admirer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks a lot for explanation! This is very interesting, adds quite a lot of detail to the game. So this means that Indian civs from various geographic regions should be picked, to avoid empty unpopulated places on the map.
     
  12. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    No, the "Geographical Correct Placement" feature is "smarter" than that. :)
    It will not create empty areas without Natives. Do not worry.

    If you pick 2 Northern American Tribes, 2 Central American Tribes, 2 South American Tribes --> Northern in the North, Central in the Center, Southern in the South (relative to each other)
    If you pick 6 Northern American Tribes --> It will still distribute them nicely across the map - There will be no empty settlement areas. (There will be Norther American Tribes in the South though.)
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2020
    Your_ardent_admirer likes this.
  13. triplebassist

    triplebassist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    United States
    Hey Ray, where can I find the text for the Colopedia/Tooltips? There are a few places I'd like to take a stab at re-translating, but changing between the German and English versions to check feels like the very long way around. I can say that personally, the German tends to be clearer for sure
     
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It is in .../Assets/XML/Text
    Basically all the XML files in there.

    You should definitely get a good editor like e.g. Notepad++
    Then you can e.g. "Search in Files" for specific texts.
     
  15. triplebassist

    triplebassist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    United States
  16. Nenos

    Nenos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    I did a close up on the fish tile and I was a bit confuse. Pink fish? What kind of fish are this? I know its a fiktive and not a historikel correkt game.
     
  17. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,510
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Well, if you are talking about the Bonus Ressource "Fish" - it is just "Fish". :)
    I never cared about figuring out what kind of specific fish race it is ...

    If it is about the graphic "not being perfect", well it is good enough for me and I have no way to improve this myself.
    I also can not remember any of us ever modifying it. It is probalby still original graphics from Vanilla - might have been changed in TAC though. :think:

    Otherwise I really do not know what to tell you. :dunno:
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2020
  18. ConjurerDragon

    ConjurerDragon Warlord Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rhineland-Palatinate
    I would guess the 2nd in the 2nd row
     
  19. nci

    nci Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    A few of questions I'd really appreciate answered:

    1. Does improving Withdrawal chance for naval units that can escape after losing a battle (Caravela Redonda, Carrack, Sloop) by promotions like Merchant Ship and Naval Warfare increase chance of escaping after losing a battle?

    2. Will enabling "show enemy moves" setting show moves of other colonial nations ships to player's Privateers & Private Frigates, or does that require "show enemy moves"?

    3. Does the event where pirates are attracted to treasure sitting at a colony and there is an option to attempt capturing a Privateer only happens once, or can it occur multiple times in one, or different, settlements?

    4. Is it possible to assign player's nation without assigning a leader in a WBS scenario?

    5. Where can I read about difference between difficulty levels in WTP?
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2020 at 10:55 AM

Share This Page