1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[WTP] Quick questions

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - We The People' started by Nightinggale, Feb 7, 2020.

  1. Vorpal+5

    Vorpal+5 Venturing in Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    633
    Hi. Thanks for the answers. I read Ray discussions and graphs, I now know what I wanted. Min number of turn then increased chance, probabilistic but with memory. Ok, conclusion, don't remove a colonist cutting wood unless there is an urgency!
     
  2. bogwart

    bogwart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Concerning the Native Trader I see that the problem is that I can't choose his profession in the first place:

    It did work with two of them but now not anymore.
     
  3. Hecur

    Hecur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    They need 100 Trade goods.
     
    raystuttgart likes this.
  4. BSPollux

    BSPollux Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    Germany
    Is there a way to copy the trade route settings from one city to another? Doing it manualy takes a lot of time.
    Even outside the game (save game editing) would be fine
     
  5. bogwart

    bogwart Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks! Now it works.
     
  6. Vorpal+5

    Vorpal+5 Venturing in Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    633
    Sorry I'm still not sure about something. What changes the Independence percentage relatively to the Declaration of Independence ? Only population in cities, or also colonists "stored" on the map and soldiers?
     
  7. Hecur

    Hecur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    All colonists count for Independence percentage, doesn't matter if they are stored in a city or outside. Usually i delete a lot of units to get the last few percent to 50 so i can declare independence.
     
  8. Vorpal+5

    Vorpal+5 Venturing in Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    633
    Aaah ... It might changes my strategy, like storing colonists in their purest form: "Wheat". Then with a magical procedure, they will be converted in one turn into proper militiamen.

    Good to know, thanks Hecur.
     
  9. Vorpal+5

    Vorpal+5 Venturing in Erebus

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    633
    What is supposed to do "Pleasing the Church". I accepted their demand, but my required number of crosses in Europe (which was maxxed and stable at 268 per colonist) did not budge at all.
     
  10. Hecur

    Hecur Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    You either get an expert missionary/prayer, relation ship bonus to the Church/King or migration from Europe. I f you decline you may get a relation ship malus or unrest in your cities.
     
    TheIO and Vorpal+5 like this.
  11. FlaviusBelisarius

    FlaviusBelisarius Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Finland
    I have a game situation where I am escorting a wounded treasure (str 0.5) with an evangelist (also wounded, str 0.6) and a full health native slave (str 2.0). A wolf attacks the stack and the treasure always defends and dies. Why is this? I cannot protect the treasure with a (civilian) escort? How is the defending unit determined?

    I have a save game file where this will always happen after ending the turn.
     
  12. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,352
    I can't find it quickly, but I'm fairly sure it's somewhere in either CvSelectionGroup.cpp or CvUnit.cpp. What happens somewhere is that a selection group has to pick a defender for the combat to take place.

    A selection group is a group of units, effectively those selected to move together. A group consist of one or more units.

    Your experience with the weak unit doing the defending sounds odd and it is indeed worth looking into.
     
  13. Dranzoch

    Dranzoch Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Is there a way to produce several troops e.g. line infantry automatically/with fewer klicks? Right now you have to select the civilians to become students at the University to educate them to infantry veterans and then to klick on each educated veteran to select/equip them to become a line infantry. I think it would be easier to select 5 and then equip them to become equipped soldiers. The only way I found so far to reduce the number of klicks is to use the repeat function in the educational system. Also, a similar question is it possible to buy 10 European troops at once in Europe, much like the educational system where you can select 10, instead of purchasing one-by-one?
     
  14. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    There is no "Multi-Buy/-Equip" of Units / Professions in Europe Screen at the moment.
    There is also no workaround in any other screen to my knowledge.

    To allow all possible combinations of Units and Professions it would need to be a selection menu and not simply a button.
    Thus the effort is not that small and it would most likely not look that pretty.

    The only point in the game you might need it though is most likely in late game when preparing for WOI.
    Micro-managers (like me) that really try to min-max everything will most likely never use it at all.

    So I am not really sure it is really necessary or that useful. :dunno:
    Somebody would have to invest the effort to implement it.
     
  15. TheIO

    TheIO Bugged

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    177
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    How many quests are there in the game currently?

    I know there's still the 3 inland settlements, 5 docks, and 3 abbeys ones; but I was surprised by there being ones for 5 wagon trains and 5 expert trappers. Are there others I should be aware of?
     
  16. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    We have exactly 154 Python Events.
    20 of them are flagged as Quests.
     
  17. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    in release 2.8, European line infantry has become a profession, but it is still impossible to teach this profession at the university. is this a flaw, or was it planned like that? ..
     
  18. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It was planned like that, so it stayed only available from buying in Europe.
     
  19. Mr. ZorG

    Mr. ZorG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Vladimir
    in this case, I don’t understand why it was necessary to make the unit a profession? Hessian mercenary, rangers - the same units ...
     
    Schmiddie likes this.
  20. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    It was more a "cosmetic change" for UI and to keep it consistent with the rest of the "mass" Combat Units.

    All Combat Units that can be acquired in "masses" should be Professions.
    Only Combat Units that are rare (given by events) should be pure Units (without Profession).

    Only the "Specialist" can only be bought. The Profession is still generally available.
    You could still equip the Unit with other Weapons or use it for other non-militar Professions.

    But yes, it is a kind of a compromise I was not 100% happy with either.
     

Share This Page