1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

A New Dawn Bug Reports and Feedback

Discussion in 'Rise of Mankind: A New Dawn' started by 45°38'N-13°47'E, Dec 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. diziple

    diziple Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I think there may be a bug with the city walls random event. When you have built the high walls you don't get +1 :gold: from the event.. When you hover over the option of it there is no bonus to be gained.

    Maybe this is not a bug after all, but I thought I might mention it.
     
  2. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    I solved the EXTREMELY high corporation bug.

    Basically, there is a new tag called <iRealCorporationMaintenanceModifier>, which, if it is defined, seems to always reduce the corporation maintanance(!). 13 civics have it:

    Subsidised, Socialized, COrporate, Private, Environmentalism, Regulated, Corporatist, Planned, Mercantilism, Guilds, Coinage, Aristocracy, Proleterant

    I was running Republic/Bureaucracy/Liberal/Free Market/Volunteer Army/Free Market/Paradise.

    Basically, <iRealCorporationMaintenanceModifier> is the 'tax levy on corporations' modifier. HOWEVER, it is currently bugged, as the person doing the XML wasn't talking to the person doing the python code. By the looks of things, according to the XML, a value above -100 is equal to a tax subsidy on a corporation (the percentage is equal to the difference), and a value below -100 is a tax levy. End result: Green has -150 and corporatist has -75 (with a 50% levy and a 25% subsidy respectively)

    However, instead of the default value being -100, it is 0, which means a 100% subsidy!!

    Switching to corporatist reduced the corporate maintanance from -10.21 and -18.64 to -2.55 and -4.65. Ironically, these are 75% reductions in maintanance costs (despite the Civilopedia saying it should be a 25% INCREASE)

    So, in summary, <iRealCorporationMaintenanceModifier> is completely bugged. Ultimately, my 'solution' is pretty harsh XML fiddling. Firstly, EVERY value of iRealCorporationMaintenanceModifier needs to be increased by 100 (which would make the civilopedia incorrectly say that corporatist gives a 125% subsidy, instead of 25%), and maintanance costs of corporations need to be decreased by a HUGE amount (I am thinking about having a 75% reduction in maintanance costs, although 50% might be reasonable)
     
  3. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    I didn't understand what you just said
     
  4. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    How did you read it that quickly. I didn't even have time to open Notepad to change the XML.

    OK, to make it very simple:

    If your civic has a X% subsidy to corporations, then maintanance of corporations goes DOWN by a large amount (the smaller the subsidy, the larger the amount)

    If your civic has a X% levy to corporations, any corporation has 0 gold maintanance.

    This is a bug. The solution is to change the XML (this is the little words that make civilisation IV work) to make it work correctly. BUT this makes the civiliopedia WRONG as it will think everything has a subsidy, and corporatist will have a displayed 125% subsidy, although the game will treat it as a 25% subsidy.
     
  5. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    I did read it that quickly. As soon as you say X% subsidy, I lose it. As in, I start picturing Michael Douglas sitting in a building cackling as the Union of Soviet Socialist Empire of Holy Roman Serbia dominates the Kingdom of America and nukes them a few times and his corporation expands into another city, bringing plus gold and food but some unhealth.


    I didn't even know corporations had maintenance costs. How does that make sense? I know corporations can be so insanely bloatedly corrupt that they can con federal governments into giving them free money, but I'm in direct control of my government. Why should I let corporations take money from me? If they have a problem, we'll proscribe them, and declare war on the civilization that founded them.
     
  6. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    Corporations have maintainance costs, part of the drawbacks of having corporations in your city. It is in Vanilla BtS too. I am not quite sure what it symbolizes, but it is a little balance part of the game. I think it is the nation providing basic services and law changes for the corporations, in addition to the abolition (or decrease in profits of) of competing state owned enterprises. Obviously, nations that don't have the effects of corporations (like Planned nations) don't pay corporation maintenance.

    Certain civics can increase these maintenance costs (representing the state funding the corporations.) This increases the speed at which corporations spread through your nation ALTHOUGH my XML change *might* make that bugged too, I don't know yet. This is called a "Subsidy"



    Other civics can DECREASE maintanance costs, which impedes the spread of corporations. Civics like Green have this 'levy' cost (Green has the highest: 50% levy, or iRealCorporationMaintenanceModifier of -150), which represents the nations dislike of corporations. The more capatalist the nation, the lower the iRealCorporationMaintananceModifier, and the more socalist the nation, the higher the iRealCorporationMaintananceModifier.

    The problem is, if you have a corporatist, corporatism nation (which *should* give a 35% subsidy to all corporations), maintenance costs for corporations goes to 0!
     
  7. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368


    I think that represents corruption and monopolizations
     
  8. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,273
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Could you possibly Upload this as a Modmod for AND? Zipped or rar'ed files to drop in and overwrite what needs to be changed?

    There was something that always bugged me about Corps (but couldn't put my finger on) and caused me to stop using the Civics that catered to them, plus not building any in game either. This "could" allow me to use that part of the Mod again.

    Give it a thought please.

    JosEPh
     
  9. digitCruncher

    digitCruncher Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,012
    I will, but I think that the bug-fix I made doesn't do *everything*

    Firstly, I need to fix the (slightly) annoying Civilopedia entries, and then I have to confirm that the AI doesn't incorrectly weight thier civics and go nuts (or never touch) civics like corporatist, which now appear to have a 125% subsidy.

    Finally, the far more pressing concern, is the natural spread of corporations. Specifically, despite running a (true) 35% subsidy, the number of corporations that were in my nation was surprisingly small, which implies that the spread of corporation code is also slightly odd, so I need to do some python crawling to try and find where the code that says *spread the corporations around automatically* is hidden. Any tips?

    [Edit]Attached are the two XML files. Backup the existing files, and put them in Civ IV/Beyond the Sword/Mods/Rise of Mankind-A New Dawn/Assets/XML/GameInfo

    Note that the change in corporation info is *supposed* to halve the corporation maintanance. It doesn't, for some reason, but I will soon find out why...[/Edit]

    [Edit2]I can't seem to upload the .zip file which stores both of them. It just says that the upload failed, with no other information. Sorry.

    In addition, I cannot for the life of me work out WHERE the automatic corporation spreading code is. It must be in the ROM-AND/Assets folder somewhere, as far as I can work out, but I have searched every file with the letters "Co" in them (for corporation), but to no success...[/Edit2]
     
  10. BobTheBull

    BobTheBull Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    New Orleans
    @DigitCruncher

    Based on all my experiences fiddling with xml values, I think you have only scratched the surface of the subject. There are several, probably many, xml values that affect corporation maintenance/subsidy/levy. In order to properly evaluate the change you have made you must understand how all the other values interact and will have to do quite a bit of research to resolve this, as you pointed out in your last post. Note also they are surely in more than one xml file.

    What you have done is get onto something which could help straighten out some of the problems with corporations. I don't think this is a bug, just a lack of full understanding of how all the code works. Also that the way the code works is maybe not really developed. I strongly encourage you to dig much deeper into this. As JosephII noted this has been a frustrating point in the game.

    @AH

    If you get lost at X% anything, why don't you just leave the subject to those who do? No need to tell everyone that.
     
  11. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368


    Maybe narcissism. Though usually by the time corporations emerge in games I play on Snail mode, the game is pretty much over, with the clear winner already decided and the game only continuing because of the need for Scientific/Cultural/Domination victory, or Mastery was accidentally enabled.

    But now I understand the concept of levy/subsidy costs in-game. Exactly what this fix he talks about does... I only wish my games were at such positions that late in the game where a difference of a some percentage maintenance costs unreported/nonexistent are of such importance as to be modded.
     
  12. draz

    draz Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Finland
    Heh the geothermal random event where you can buy electricity for the whole continent is insane! Playing on snail speed and Plastics (and thus the Three Gorges Dam) must've still been a 100 turns away had I beelined it.

    Regarding the soundtrack - can I just delete the new tracks from Soundtrack without any harm? Don't really like the new industrial era tracks.

    Edit: Just got this too, should I be worried?
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    maybe. There should be more detail in the log file PythonErr.log.
     
  14. ADP101

    ADP101 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    I'm trying to start a new game of RAND and it always crashes on the first turn, idk whats going on. I played one game before for a while, and it never crashed on me, but i got bored of it and decided to start a new game.

    For my new game i turned off minor civs, and turned on fixed cultural borders and permanent alliances. Revolutions are disabled.

    Heres a link to my save game on turn 0 http://www.mediafire.com/?1cauc5bucqsrb9h
     
  15. JaminUp

    JaminUp Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have fixed borders on, and whenever I claim territory for my civ, once I move off the tile it goes away. Any idea how to stop this from happening?
     
  16. flitz

    flitz Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    I digged this up upon a forum search. Does anybody else still feel this way ? Because I found myself to get technologies of teh 20th century roughly one century too early, too.
    (1.75, standard sized map - real world script, epic speed)

    Wouldn't this be relatively easy to fix if say technologies are like 5-10 % ahead of time to just make them more expensive by 5-10% ?

    I couldn't test this for other game speeds yet because my first and current AND game is taking tenth of hours already and is still far from finished :lol:
     
  17. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368


    This is why I only play on Snail speed. I had to adjust the game speed so it is a total mess of numbers, yet it's by far more accurate with regard to technologies than the default one. On default on Marathon mode, I was in the late-Medieval, early-Renaissance era in the 1990s AD. On default Snail mode, we had Industrial technologies insanely early, and atomic power by the late 1700s
     
  18. draz

    draz Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm still getting War Weariness with Fascist on? Some of the other civics I'm using do have +% to it tho, but they shouldn't have any effect if the government's fascist, right?
     
  19. AndarielHalo

    AndarielHalo Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    368


    I've had this happen, too. Fascist SAYS that there's no :mad: weariness, but I think it either only applies to cities that are culturally yours. Or maybe it only does a -100% War Weariness.
     
  20. flitz

    flitz Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    I also have seen it the other way around.
    Within the same game, I first saw some technologies appear very early but then again it took me until the late 20th century to get to early fighters and early tanks.
    Maybe the fluctuations of my economy due to wars forced upon me messed with this.
    But I could also imagine that the larger techtree is just very hard to balance because with that many techs it is much harder to predict how long it will take the civs to get through it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page