1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Atticus

    Atticus Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Avast! + malwarebytes' antimalware are my choice. :)

    I thought about upgrading/building a PC. I want to keep it cheap and upgradable, and this is to what I ended up with my limited knowledge of computers:

    Gonna buy:
    MoBo with AM3+ slot
    Athlon or Phenom 2-core processor (perhaps used)
    4 GB ddr3 ram to start with

    These I do already have:
    power source (I think it's sufficient, but haven't checked yet)
    not so good graphics card
    IDE HD

    Here's some questions:
    1. How bad idea it is to use IDE HD? I'm probably buying SATA later, but thought about doing it only when it comes necessary.

    2. MoBOs have this information on their compatible processors: "Sempron, Athlon II, Phenom II ( Maximum TDP 140 Watt )". What does this maximum TDP mean? Does it pose a relevant limit? Is 140 significant improvement to 115 watts?

    3. PATA=IDE, isn't it?

    Here's the MoBo I thought buying, it costs 74.90 euros here.

    If there're any local people here, do you know if PC parts are any cheaper in Tallinn?
     
  2. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    40,357
    Location:
    US of A
    IDE HDDs are OK so long as you aren't using one so old that it will crap out on you. IIRC, the change was to improve data throughput.

    TDP refers to the heat that the system can handle. Don't exceed 140 watts, and the heat should be manageable. But if you do, you risk heat damage.
     
  3. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,361
    Location:
    Worst Case Ontario
    I saw a computer for a sale today that had the "IBM" logo on the front of the tower. I was really miffed... I thought they got out of the home PC market over a decade ago?
     
  4. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    40,357
    Location:
    US of A
    New? Used? Do you know when it was built? They still make workstations. Which look like desktop PCs.
     
  5. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,361
    Location:
    Worst Case Ontario
  6. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    40,357
    Location:
    US of A
    You need to know what's in the box, then. Old cases can be reused forever so long as they are an AT form factor. But by the looks of that, it's so obsolete that you could only really use it to run old games.
     
  7. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,028
    Location:
    Canada
    Yeah, that computer is from somewhere between 2003-2005, before Lenovo acquired IBM's PC division in 2005.
     
  8. Quackers

    Quackers The Frog

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10,282
    Location:
    Great Britain
    How much is "a lot" of Ram for a laptop?
     
  9. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,028
    Location:
    Canada
    I'd say 16gb.
     
  10. ParadigmShifter

    ParadigmShifter Random Nonsense Generator

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,810
    Location:
    Liverpool, home of Everton FC
    4gig is a lot for a 32bit laptop, you can't address any more without a 64 bit OS.
     
  11. Atticus

    Atticus Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,666
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    I think it read somewhere that 3 gb is maximum with 32-bit os.
     
  12. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,028
    Location:
    Canada
    There isn't really any reason for any new laptop to run a 32-bit OS.
     
  13. Michkov

    Michkov Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,119
    4gig is the maximum for a 32bit OS, but graphiccard RAM counts aswell. So with 1gb card RAM you can only use 3gb of actual RAM
     
  14. shadowplay

    shadowplay your ad here

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,361
    Location:
    Worst Case Ontario
    How much will a 5400RPM hard drive slow down an otherwise capable machine, vs. a 7200RPM hard drive?
     
  15. Quackers

    Quackers The Frog

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    10,282
    Location:
    Great Britain
    What is the best laptop (for hardware) you can get for under £1000?
     
  16. NickyJ

    NickyJ Retired Narrator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,568
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Question: In Photoshop Elements 10, is there a way to mass-convert .png images into .dds images?
     
  17. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,746
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Are there any texture maps of Earth's night side WITHOUT city lights, that I can use for 3D programs?
     
  18. IglooDude

    IglooDude Enforcing Rule 34 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    21,384
    Location:
    Igloo, New Hampshire
    In my experience, you won't notice the difference at all unless you've got them side-by-side doing drive-heavy work.

    Depends on what you are using it for, but anyway, newegg.com has your answer.

    Why not take a daytime map and tint it?
     
  19. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    15,028
    Location:
    Canada
    They'll both be unacceptably slow.

    I haven't used anything as slow as a single 7200 rpm drive as a primary OS drive since... 2003 maybe?
     
  20. cardgame

    cardgame Opposed to the typical

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,300
    Location:
    Misery
    Do elaborate ._.
     

Share This Page