1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Flying Pig

    Flying Pig Utrinque Paratus

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    15,651
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Perfidious Albion
    There are a lot of horizontal entries (53, to be exact).
     
  2. innonimatu

    innonimatu Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,105
    Do you have a large printer? Can you print it horizontal to A3 paper size?

    That is one strange problem! Don't sleep. :lol:
    Or disconnect power if you think it's over the network. Or wipe and reinstall to an encrypted disk.
     
  3. Chairman Meow

    Chairman Meow Class IV

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    In an optical fiber
    Take away their ax.
     
  4. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,784
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    Yeah, that question probably came from me watching too many spy and conspiracy movies. :blush: :lol:
     
  5. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,317
    Location:
    US of A
    See if your printer setup will print in landscape format across several pieces of paper.
     
  6. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,028
    Gender:
    Female
    Unplug it?
     
  7. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,784
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    How do I find out what versions of OpenGL can my graphics card (Nvidia) support?
     
  8. shadowplay

    shadowplay (boss music)

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Toronto
    Go here, tell it what video card you have in the drop down menu, and under "details" it should list "OpenGL compliance".
     
  9. PlutonianEmpire

    PlutonianEmpire Socially Awkward Goofball

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,784
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MinneSNOWta
    My card's not listed. :(

    It's a Nvidia GeForce GT 130M

    On the side, new question: Are there any plug-ins for Gimp that will take two images, mix them while applying randomization(?), and apply it to, say, a greyscale image, with the darker colors being one image, gradually transitioning into the other image with that other image being used for the lighter colors?

    inb4 someone accuses me of being "vague" again. :trouble:

    Don't you people DARE call my question vague! :mad:
     
  10. shadowplay

    shadowplay (boss music)

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Toronto
  11. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    So I've been shopping around for a new laptop and while I've narrowed down the field a little bit, I'm also looking for recommendations.

    I'm looking for a decent 15" all-purpose-type laptop; netbooks and those other tiny ones won't cut it, and I don't want some massive 10 pound machine to lug around all the time. As far as gaming goes, I only need something that will run Civ4, Paradox games, and stuff like that--no FPS or anything that will be extremely taxing. Last machine was a Dell I got through my department, and I'm not too satisfied with them from a reliability perspective, and I've heard several people with HPs have similar problems. I've heard good things about Sony, Toshiba, Lenovo, and Asus (but Asus' website sucks and I can't figure out how to narrow down or search for a good machine).

    I'm looking for something in the $1,200-$1,800 sticker range, but that's a little flexible (especially if I can get a good discount--I have time so I'm waiting for a good sale).

    Currently, I'm leaning towards this Sony 15.5" Vaio with an Intel i7 quad core, 8 or 12 GB RAM, 640 GB (7200 rpm) hard drive, and a GeForce® GT 640M LE (2 GB) graphics card. 12 GB seems like more than I need on RAM, but I figure if its still in my price range, then I might as well get it. Does this sound like a machine that fits the above specs? Is there anything else on the market that comes close to these specs and is reliable?
     
  12. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,317
    Location:
    US of A
  13. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Toshiba's always a good bet. Have had 3 Toshiba laptops, and non have broken down. In fact, I still have my first one that I got 7 years ago.
     
  14. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    Fooled around with the sliders a little bit, but I'm also looking for advice on brands, reliability, etc. that I've been cobbling together from a variety of sources, some of which I consider questionable.
     
  15. shadowplay

    shadowplay (boss music)

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Toronto
    Asus makes quality hardware, but they cut corners in other areas to be able to offer the kind of prices they do. Pray to god nothing you get from them is defective, because I swear their customer service department is located in hell: http://www.customerservicescoreboard.com/Asus
     
  16. Radio Noer

    Radio Noer The Devourer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,383
    Location:
    The Old Northwest Territory
    Is it possible to replace processing units in a computer? I have a single core AMD Sempron 140 Processor and would maybe like to upgrade.
     
  17. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    Good to know. I've just heard a horror story about Sony, so now I've officially heard an unexpected computer failure story about every major brand I was looking into.

    Desktop or laptop? Generally, you can in desktops so long as the motherboard supports the new processor.
     
  18. Radio Noer

    Radio Noer The Devourer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,383
    Location:
    The Old Northwest Territory
    Desktop, a Dell Inspiron 570, to be precise
     
  19. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Yes, I think this should do nicely, it is 3.2GHz (500MHz faster) and is dual core instead of single core. this also works, 300MHz faster and quad core



    I tried changing my graphics card on a dual monitor set up, changed it and when I plugged it in I got blinking underscores on both screens, when I changed the card back I got the same problem.
     
  20. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,394
    Location:
    Canada
    Dell, HP, and all tend to make excellent business laptops but junky consumer models.

    Get a SSD for your laptop (or get a laptop with a SSD), the difference in performance is huge.

    I'd probably aim for a laptop without an optical drive, I use it rarely enough that it's wasted size/weight on a laptop.

    I probably wouldn't risk trying to put a higher TDP part in a Dell machine.

    Best AM3 CPU you can get at 45W TDP is the Athlon II X4 620e. Easiest place to grab it is probably ebay, there's a seller offering them new at $90 for "buy it now" prices.
     

Share This Page