1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Fall Further - The Original Thread

Discussion in 'Fall Further' started by Vehem, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. woodelf

    woodelf Bard

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,036
    Location:
    Gallery
    Might be a good idea to look at all of these then.
     
  2. Tarquelne

    Tarquelne Follower of Tytalus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Messages:
    3,715
    Sounds safer. I can't think of any buff spell that'd be really abusive moved from 0 to 1, but someone might. OTOH modding is hardly about always doing the safe thing...

    BTW - +1 to spell range seems quite powerful - I'd still happily pay for it as it's own promotion. Something like SE I is +1 move for summons, SE II is +1 range, SE III is +1 more move and (maybe) SE IV is +1 more range.
     
  3. Vehem

    Vehem Modmod Monkey

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,219
    That's pretty much what we ended up doing when we discussed it earlier. I'm going to rename the "Spell Extension" promotions to make them sound more summon related (open to suggestions?) and have a new promotion that extends the range of "direct" spells at some later point.
     
  4. KingOfLands

    KingOfLands Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    "Enhance Summoning"?

    Maybe make it "Enhanced" instead if that strikes you as sounding better.
     
  5. BeefontheBone

    BeefontheBone Windbag of the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,018
    Could even just be Summoning I, Summoning II etc. ...
     
  6. MagisterCultuum

    MagisterCultuum Great Sage

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    16,229
    Location:
    Kael's head
    I was just thinking, since Xienwolf took my advice and made units has a lower limit of movement 0 regardless of promotions (like he did with strength, but more important because trying to move a negitive movement unit causes big problems) and since you can have AutoAcquire/MustMaintain promotions with promotion and building prereqs, that Acheron could use some changes. I'm thinking that he should have just as much movement as any other dragon, but that dragons in a city with the Dragon's Hoard building should get a "Hoarder" promotion, which gives something like -10 movement. That way Acheron would be more stationary than he currently is (i.e., it wouldn't matter if the AI gives him mobility I and II, since there aren't enough movement boosting promotions to counter the Hoarder promotions), unless he is captured or someone steal his treasure form him. If someone steals his treasure, then he'd go on a rampage until he gets it back and then settle in whatever city his treasure has been moved to. (Maybe the promotion should also be given from the promotion or unit form of the equipment too?)
     
  7. MaxAstro

    MaxAstro Spiral Knight

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    645
    Hey, Vehem, I realize this is probably something that is not a high priority, but is there any way you can list with each patch what files specifically are changed in that patch? I am working on a personal mod for FF, and it would be very nice to have access to that information so that I don't have to re-mod every file with every patch.

    I understand if it's not something that's worth the time to do, just a request. :)
     
  8. Kinjiru

    Kinjiru Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    74
    I LOVE this idea. Everyone knows you don't go stealing a dragon's treasure - this will prove it! :lol:

    Could give rise to some interesting events or even full scenarios where the Dragon's Hoard is gifted/earned
     
  9. [to_xp]Gekko

    [to_xp]Gekko QCT junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,943
    Location:
    Seyda Neen, Vvardenfell
    yeah, I like magister's idea too. better not steal from the dragon! :D
     
  10. Ahriman

    Ahriman Tyrant

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13,266
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    The Deep Jungle hammer bonus is nice, but no worse than Elven forests - and weaker really, because you can't spread jungles easily. Unless you're playing on a tropical wetness map (or a rainforest map - which gets ridiculous) you're never really going to have that much deep jungle around. I would like to see a slight increase in the rate that forests convert to deep jungles when on grassland within lizard territory.

    But Lost Lands makes *every* city a production powerhouse - even a newly captured one with few buildings. It gets even crazier with coastal cities, Harbors and the Great Lighthouse.
     
  11. felix86

    felix86 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Or better do it if it's next to a rival civ.
     
  12. hbar

    hbar Constant

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Patch G, two TXT_KEYS on mouseover in "What would you like to build next" popup (but not cityview)

    TXT_KEY_SETTLER_STRATEGY
    TXT_KEY_WORKER_STRATEGY

    *edit* - also on popup for foreign trade TXT_KEY_CIVIC_FREE_MARKET_STRATEGY
     
  13. deadliver

    deadliver Loud Mouth Amateur

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,508
    Location:
    Anvilania
    Yeah Magister's idea is pretty hilarious! Steal the treasure and earn yourself some hot dragon love!
     
  14. bread smith

    bread smith Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    First of all, I have to thank you for this great Mod. Never had so much fun with Civilization (except with the first part in the 1990s).

    I have a little problem customising the BUG options. In the related menue (ctrl+alt-O) I can only change the Great Person counter. Most of the others (though I didn't try all of them) are either on or off and changing them has no effect on the game at all.
    I also tried to change them directly through the FFHBUG config file - with no success. (using FFH0.33c and Fall Further 0.42g)

    Do you have any ideas?

    A second point: In my last game with the Khazad dwarfs, I was able to build Meshwaki:confused:. Isn't that the unique hero of the Chislev?
     
  15. Kinjiru

    Kinjiru Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    74
    Not sure about the BUG options, but FF patch g is built around FFH patch e (rather than patch c). Of course, FFH patch e is no longer available through the main links. :(
     
  16. bread smith

    bread smith Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks Kinjiru for your fast reaction.

    Where could I get the PatchE for FFH 033?
    I'll try it with PatchF tonight...
     
  17. Tathain

    Tathain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    I've really been enjoying this mod. And aside from the occasional massive crash around turn 200 it's a blast and I feel that your content belongs in the regular FF2 mod! :)

    I was currious about a few different things though. One, for the Kandi civ which buildings are required to summon their portal critters? Is it the same as for the sheiam (sp)? This might have been answered in the 125 pages of this thread but I haven't gotten around to digging through the whole thing =P. This mod mod is serious enough to deserve it's own sub forum, and is certainly generating enough discussion.

    My link to directly load fall further .42 still tried to load FF2 .32 (and therefore fails) so I have to load BTS and then load the mod each time I want to play. Is there a work around for this that I'm missing?

    Last thing I can think of is that when I build the bezerker unit for the good lizzard folk (Matuzal?) it's model showed up but could not be selected. When the program advanced to the unit through use of enter it would keep the last unit selected (menu etc) but center the screen over the bezerker. I couldn't move the unit, or make it skip it's turn so I basically couldn't end my own turn. Kinda threw me and i wasn't sure how to deal with it.

    Thanks again for your wonderful contribution to my entertainment!
     
  18. BeefontheBone

    BeefontheBone Windbag of the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,018
    Off the top of my head, library, and the things they have UBs for. The 'pedia entry for the civ and/or the gate lists them though.

    Right-click the shortcut -> Properties, and change the target line to end in:

    mod="Fall Further 042" (just change the 3 to a 4, basically).
     
  19. Niveras

    Niveras Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    362
    I am experiencing some 'oddness' with Mazatl and berserkers. When I select them, the panel at mid-bottom, with the units commands, does not update. The list of units in the tile also does not update. Commands which can only be issues to a single unit (specifically, the obsidian gate's airlift, or unit deletion) still function correctly, provided I target a different unit for which the command is available, and then the berserker.

    While it's still possible to use them, in a roundabout fashion, I am unable to purchase promotions for them.
     
  20. Charybdis

    Charybdis Scion Doomgiver

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Location:
    Australia
    Have just got back to playing after life trying to screw me in the arse, and noticed something odd graphically.

    My towns are removing the display of ancient forest, so it no longer looks all pretty and uniform :(

    Is this an FF thing (I noticed the change in ancient forest graphic) or a FFH thing.

    Or is there a way I can revert it to the old graphic from my end and make it look all foresty again.
     

Share This Page