1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[UNIT] Mighty Ships Et Al

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unit Graphics' started by MightyToad, Mar 6, 2020.

  1. PPQ_Purple

    PPQ_Purple Techpriest Engineer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    4,200
    That second guy looks like a bad coseplay of a biker gang made by someone who has newer seen a biker gang.
     
    tantanmen likes this.
  2. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,251
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    Also take a look at the Philistine soldiers in the background. I think MyghtyToad has no other option but to redesign his Goliath unit :lol:
     
  3. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    I need your clothes, your boots, and your motorcycle. :cool:
     
    Matsuda123 and tantanmen like this.
  4. Zeta Nexus

    Zeta Nexus Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,251
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a constant brainstorm...
    What about my glasses? :shifty: ...Ohh! You already have one. :ack:
     
  5. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,766
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    Wow. I do like the actor. But we will see I have some ideas... Looking forward to this.
     
  6. Vaeringjar

    Vaeringjar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    So I tried adding this unit to Civ Col, same way as other units I've been adding so there shouldn't be any mistake on that front, but when checking the unit in the pedia the game freezes, and if spawning it on the map the game crashes. What am I missing?
     
  7. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,525
    If it has a custom button, my first guess would be that there is still a comma at the start of the <Button> line.

    Otherwise, there could be something wrong with the nif file. Maybe it has a NiSkinPartition, but no shader, or it is shadered, but the format of the model is not set up correctly.

    Edit: I had a quick look at the nif file, and the model is shadered, but is missing a NiSkinPartition, which can cause problems. Also I removed the four "Extra Data" entries which are usually not included in units.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 8, 2021
    tantanmen, MightyToad and Vaeringjar like this.
  8. Vaeringjar

    Vaeringjar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2020
    Messages:
    92
    I don't understand what you did but it works :)
     
    SaibotLieh likes this.
  9. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    The TCiv4MechNonShader doesn't require a skin partition in BTS. Sabotlieh, I think you found the reason for the crashes Schmiddie has experienced. :worship:
     
  10. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,525
    Interesting how Civ and Col handle details differently. I also removed the NiIntegerExtraData nodes from the NiTriShape, so if adding the NiSkinPartition does not fix Schiddie's problem, maybe removing those does.
     
  11. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Blender includes the NiIntergerExtraData things if you have the "Export extra shader textures" enabled in the export settings. I've since disabled that. I know the NiStencilProperty draws both sides of a face instead of one. And the SpecularIntensityIndex makes the unit appear to have gloss. No clue that the rest do.
     
  12. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,398
    Location:
    London, UK
    In my experience, TCiv4MechNonShader is a thing to avoid actually - even if it means losing damage states. It's the only "shader" (or rather lack thereof, but specified in the same place) that actually degrades the visual quality on a unit. It somehow messes with Civ 4 lighting and the end result looks much more "flat" than just a non-shadered unit. Its shader counterpart does no such thing and results in much nicer units. But if making a non-shader version of a mechanized unit, I'd rather go for a total lack of shader, as with bipeds.
     
    MightyToad likes this.
  13. SaibotLieh

    SaibotLieh Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,525
    The standard way to add gloss to units in Civ4 is having a gloss texture entry in the NiTexturingProperty, SpecularIntensityIndex might have a similar effect though.
    This is what I know about the standard entries of the NiTriShape/NiTriStrips node:

    NiAlphaProperty -> Defines how the alpha channel of the dds file is used for transparency (click on the flag symbol in Flags for options). No NiAlphaProperty mean no transparency.

    NiMaterialProperty -> Don't know much about what this does, but if different NiTriShape/NiTriStrips share the same NiMaterialProperty, they all will fade if one is faded via a kf file (during the Die_Fade animation for example).

    NiTexturingProperty -> All the references for dds texture files you want to use for the NiTriShape/NiTriStrips go here.

    NiTriShape/NiTriStripsData -> Holds the information about the triangles/strips of the model (which is basically the 3d body).

    NiSkinInstance -> Information about the rigging of the 3d body to the animation skeleton.

    NiStencilProperty -> Can be added to the NiTriShape/NiTriStrips and will make the texture appear on both sides of the triangles/strips instead of only one. However, this can cause problems with illumination effects, since the two sides cannot have different brightnesses (for example, a cape will bright on the inside and outside, although it should be dark on the inside and bright on the outside).
     
    MightyToad likes this.
  14. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Giving up damagestates is difficult choice. But, I think I will start leaving them out of the non shadered nifs. If only for the sake of the colonization guys.
     
  15. Walter Hawkwood

    Walter Hawkwood RI Court Painter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,398
    Location:
    London, UK
    To be quite honest, these days I see no reason not to make shadered versions of every unit - and then non-shadered will hardly ever be seen. Their initial "duality" was more relevant back in the days of Civ 4 release where pixel shader 2.0 was far from a given thing to expect from hardware. Nowadays people will only see non-shader units when shadered versions are available if running Civ 4 on legacy hardware. I think even on-board Intel video chips these days support DirectX 9.
     
  16. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    I agree. Who even uses nonshadered units when the shaders version is available? The laptop I use now is 3X more powerful than the desktop I was using when this game came out.
    The main drawback is the skin partition can dramatically increase the file size. Still, it's really not a lot. I only see it becoming a problem on huge mods with hundreds of units.
     
  17. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,766
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    In tribute to your work I made some missing links and such. Early ship based on Clanky's toonship, War galleon based on Purple's work, thankyou Purple.

    EarlyMesoSailingShip.jpg

    Early Mesoamerican Sailing ship, predecessor to the Galley.

    image_2021-01-09_142038.png

    Mesoamerican WarGalleon, In between a Galleas and the Frigate.
     
    MightyToad and Zeta Nexus like this.
  18. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    The first one is adorable.:clap:
    The second is a Frankenstein. Lets see... The vanilla galley figurehead. The frigates rigging (maybe privateer). I think the hull is the from the pirate xebec I forget who originally made it. With some extra cannons.
    Not bad though. Is this purely reskinning, or did you have any luck with blender?
     
  19. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,766
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    just reskinning I just dled and installed blender.

    With the War Galleon I know the front is less than ideal. But it was an example of how I imagined an Age of Sail Mesoamerican ship to look. I can import objects if they are a unique file, but I cannot create new ones(yet). For example if you had a seperate nif file for your masthead for the Trireme, I could attach it and make a better war galleon. Probably use a different hull. I think the reskinning for the primitive sailing ship turned out great though.
     
  20. MightyToad

    MightyToad Sith Lord

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    309
    Yeah, I could probably do that. I actually was thinking that very thing just now. I've started on the first Sherdan unit. I thought why not just make the horned helmet, and just attach it to the Philistine units head bone.
    But then you'd have to do the whole shrunken head thing, or make it comically big to hide the original.
     

Share This Page