1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Patch News!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Stuie, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. abbamouse

    abbamouse Rodent

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    With this patch, it sounds like the game will ALMOST be where it should have been prior to release by Take2. I really doubt this will incorporate the subtle changes in play-balancing that another month of testing would have provided. It's a good game, but it was released about a month too early. And I say this as someone who was dying to see it released in time for my birthday (Nov 1). It was a somewhat disappointing present, since it felt about 95% finished -- playable and enjoyable but with a few really obvious bugs and playbalance issues that another month of tweaking would have resolved. Look forward to more of this in future Firaxis releases, now that Take2 has acquired the studio.
     
  2. Enigma

    Enigma Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Great news about the patch.

    As for the whole thing about the Horses, I would take more issue with when Copper and Iron appear. They should appear with mining and be prerequisites of researching Bronze and Iron working if realism has anything to say about it.

    Picture if you will:

    [Scene: Chieftain's Hut, Head of the Council of Shaman Researchers enters]

    Shaman: Chieftain, may I ask something of you?
    Chieftain: What is it?
    Shaman: We're looking to develop a new type of technology to benefit our tribe, and we need your help to provide resources.
    Chieftain: Go on...
    Shaman: Well, Chieftain, we're looking to develop new techniques to make stronger weapons out of an alloy called Bronze.
    Chieftain: That's good.
    Shaman: It's made up of Tin, which we can find in any hill we decide to dig into, and a shiny metal we call Copper.
    Chieftain: Great, just let me know how much Copper you have and I'll finance your project accordingly. Our warriors need all the big deadly weapons they can get..
    Shaman: Um.. actually, we haven't really found any Copper yet....
    (Awkward Silence)
    ....
    (Continued Awkward Silence)
    Shaman: I take it I'm not going to get any funding for this, am I?
    Chieftain: Ya think?!?
    Shaman: I don't suppose I can interest you in stuff made out of a greyish metal we call Iron... which we also haven't found....
    Chieftain: GET OUT!!
     
  3. EDaddy

    EDaddy Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    I like the fact that horses are hidden. It was that way in Civ3, and it should be that way in Civ4. It makes the game more challenging that way! If the game began with horses visible, then it would encourage me to found a city where the horses are. See what I mean?
     
  4. koolaje

    koolaje Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Just don't expect this patch to fix everything just yet :)
     
  5. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,247
    Gender:
    Male
    Nice to finally hear some official words about the patch! :)

    For the record, Dennis emailed me earlier this afternoon about the patch. It's just that I was not able to check my CFC.com email when away from home (password is too hard to remember :p).
     
  6. Sorceresss

    Sorceresss Witch

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Montreal (Canada)
    And...it will probably break a few things...especially since it is being "Quality Assured" by Take 2.
     
  7. rd_syringe

    rd_syringe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    The memory will, of course, still climb if you have enemy AIs doing their thing in the world.

    Personally, I believe it's less of a memory leak problem and more of an object caching/performance issue. The memory leak idea seems to have come from the lag in the modern age. Just because the game lags doesn't mean a memory leak (it's not even really the symptom of a leak unless you hear the hard drive grinding relentlessly).
     
  8. Tharak

    Tharak Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Surrey, British Columbia
    Did that - sat at about 80K memory for the longest time. Then I met my first civ. Went up to about 110k after the first meeting. Did nothing again other than speak with said civ. Every time I opened the diplomacy screen, my memory usage went up about 30k. Didn't go back down after I stopped talking. After doing this about 10 times, my memory useage was over 400k. Tried this as well without advancing the turn - just kept opening and closing the diplomatic screen - same thing.

    Not being a computer guy at all, you tell me - is this a leak? Seems a bit out of wack to me...
     
  9. Sorceresss

    Sorceresss Witch

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Location:
    Montreal (Canada)
    Yea : all those "memory leak" acolytes are chanting "memory leak" without knowing what the **** it is.
     
  10. Randle

    Randle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    So should ag and fishing resources be invisible until you research those techs too? It's nice to have some limited early tech resources visible so you don't put your city down in a complete wasteland. It's not like they're showing you where the uranium is.
     
  11. Randle

    Randle Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Once you advanced the turn, was the memory released?
     
  12. Demon Rob

    Demon Rob Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oz
    Until husbandry is found then horses should show up as a slab of generic animal meat icon.
    When was the bbq invented? Can't see it on the tech tree. Maybe it was just instinctive in some long ago ancestor of the australians. That should enhance the value of generic animal meat.
    Only after husbandry should mankind realise these animals are better to ride than eat and then the specific icon should appear.
     
  13. asmodeus81

    asmodeus81 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    I think it makes sense.. Otherwise why not show other animal types on the map.
     
  14. BaTaTa

    BaTaTa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    nice. hope those CTDs and the slowndown issue be fixed.
     
  15. CustodianV131

    CustodianV131 Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2004
    Messages:
    351
    Great!

    With a bit of luck it will be out this week then.

    Hopefully more people can enjoy the Civ-goodness then. I've lucked out and have few problems although a little performance boost and memory leak fix would be very welcome. Still those two are probably related in my case so if the fix the memory problem I'll be golden.

    My biggest problem with Civ at the moment is finding the time to play it, but no patch is going to help with that I guess :(

    Anyway, its great to see all those people happy because the patch is coming. No whines, angry replies ect... Just wonderful! Didn’t expect otherwise of course, I mean whining about something that you haven't even tried yet, how dumb would that be? Really restores my faith in humanity ;)
     
  16. Philips beard

    Philips beard Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Location:
    Norseman
    Good news that horses are hidden until Animal Husbandry. It was too easy to play Persia or Egypt, then rush for an early horse resource and the War Chariots or Imortals. These units really rock vs the opponents bowmen, now they will be slightly harder to get early on..... Makes the playing of Persia and Egypt a little bit more challanging!
     
  17. Lafferty

    Lafferty Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    This is not a memory leak. A real memory leak would result in the game eating up memory by just sitting there. What you describe could be easily explained by all Civs remembering every diplomatic contact (sort of history for the AI to check against when deciding future behaviour?). It may be designed suboptimal but on the other side, 40K isn't much.

    Yay for softer pillage sounds. That annoyed me massively
     
  18. Charles 22

    Charles 22 King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    More pointedly, you can see the cows before you get animal husbandry, if horses being hidden is legitimate.
     
  19. Charles 22

    Charles 22 King

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    McDonald's would beg to differ with you:lol:
     
  20. Ribannah

    Ribannah Fighter Druid

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,449
    Location:
    Castle Gobs
    Very bad idea. Researching Animal Husbandry early was a strategic choice based on what you see. Now it's reduced to a gamble ("my capital shows only one resource, so maybe there are horses").
     

Share This Page