1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Yes, if the same ship can be positioned to blockade more than one city, it earns more money.
     
  2. dalamb

    dalamb Deity

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,160
    Location:
    Kingston, Ontario
    I'm pretty sure that a blockade has to generate income from every port in its "blocking region", since you can blockade from offshore instead of being adjacent to a particular port.
     
  3. Sicilian Hound

    Sicilian Hound Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    U.S Wisconsin
    So, I have been playing Civ, for over 5 years, I think I have Civ myself out. I know sounds impossible!... But I have played and beat Civ on all levels of difficulty, maps, scenarios and most mods (civ4, civ bts) So now I am looking for new things to do on Civ like modding. I just have one thing to ask on modding.. How do I add extra civs? I know how to use the world-builder inside out but not quit sure how to do other things that relate to modding. Could someone shed some light please?
     
  4. Jwitti

    Jwitti Judas Maccabeus

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Judah
    The simplest thing is to play with the XML code in the program files. THe CFC forum has a ton of tutorials by people better at explaining than I am : http://forums.civfanatics.com/forumdisplay.php?f=177

    But I learned most of the XML stuff by myself so it can't be that hard :D
     
  5. mastrude

    mastrude Paraclete of Kaborka

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    349
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, ca
    I don't know whether this is the right thread to ask a newb question about a mod, but here it is: In the Rise from Erebus mod, I've been playing the Malakim, the desert dwellers. I've been constructing fire and water mana locations, but roads to them soon blow away and I can't teach my adepts to use fire and water mana in my cities, or even at the node. The road through the node itself seems to last, but I can't use the nodes at all.

    At first I wondered whether there was a tech I was missing. I had read that the malakim take any desert tile as a road, but this wasn't working. I found a tech named Dune Speaking, but never saw a way to research it, and it wasn't listed among the pre-discovered techs for the Malakim.

    Iron mines seemed to work. I could upgrade military to iron from elsewhere. But mana didn't.

    I speculated that maybe Malakim weren't allowed to have water mana, but the problem existed with fire also.

    Does anyone with experience of RiFE know the answer? Those with only knowledge of Vanilla or FFH2 won't be able to answer, since it's clear RiFE works differrently.
     
  6. Jwitti

    Jwitti Judas Maccabeus

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Judah
    This isn't the right thread at all! :D HOWEVER I know a little about FFH and RifE and I think the mana has to be connected to your capital to be used.
     
  7. Luthor_Saxburg

    Luthor_Saxburg Vassal of Civilization

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,424
    Does anyone know the consequences of defying a UN resolution and what needs to occur to make the negative effects to "go away"?
     
  8. Michkov

    Michkov Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,461
    Unhappiness penalty, at least for defying peace resolutions. IMO they last the same time as wiping unhappiness
     
  9. Samson

    Samson Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    7,675
    Location:
    Cambridge
    I think they last untill the next vote that you do not defy. And I think it is for all resolutions, any time you select "Never! (defy resolution)".
     
  10. nfw

    nfw King

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    733
    The resolution has to pass and you voted yes for the penalty to go away.
     
  11. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    To be more accurate, to result in "the world considers you a villain" unhappiness, the resolution had enough votes to pass had you not defied it. By defying it, the resolution doesn't pass.
     
  12. Lennier

    Lennier Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,352
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Orange County, NY
    Yes, but nfw said to have the "world considers you a vilian" anger to go away, you must vote "yes" for a resolution that passes.
     
  13. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Hmm... maybe, I've never seen that, maybe because I've never done it. I think it goes away over time, eventually.
     
  14. mir092

    mir092 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Hi, I am wondering how to alter text that is shown when talking to a leader?

    For example Washington would say "Hi, I'm washington lalala"
    So for my custom leader which file do I have to edit to change this? :confused:
     
  15. Yxklyx

    Yxklyx King

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    869
    Do you mean when he first talks to you? That's in GameInfo\Civ4DiplomacyInfos.xml. Search for AI_DIPLOCOMMENT_FIRST_CONTACT - I don't think this can be modularized.
     
  16. mir092

    mir092 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    so it is impossible to edit what a leader will say?
     
  17. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    You certainly can. It's one of the easiest modification because still within the realm of XML files.
    The one concerned is: CIV4GameText_DiplomacyText_BTS.xml found in Assets/XML/Text.
    A point to add: this file is only for the new leaders coming straight from BTS. For the others, you have to delve into the Vanilla parent folder of BTS where there is its own Assets/XML/Text/CIV4DiplomacyText.xml.

    An excerpt from the said file:

    Code:
    <TEXT>
    		<Tag>AI_DIPLO_FIRST_CONTACT_LEADER_BOUDICA_1</Tag>
    		<English>Welcome, [CT_NAME]! Mighty [OUR_CIV_SHORT] seeks peace with your weak little civilization. For the moment, that is.</English>
    		<French>Bienvenue, [CT_NAME] ! Les puissants [OUR_CIV_SHORT:3] veulent la paix avec votre misérable civilisation. Enfin, pour l'instant.</French>
    		<German>Willkommen, [CT_NAME]! Das mächtige Volk von [OUR_CIV_SHORT] wünscht friedvolle Beziehungen zu Eurer bedauernswerten Nation. Zumindest für den Augenblick ...</German>
    		<Italian>Ti do il benvenuto, [CT_NAME]! [OUR_CIV_SHORT] vuole la pace con la tua piccola e debole civiltà. Per il momento, almeno.</Italian>
    		<Spanish>¡Os doy la bienvenida, [CT_NAME]! La poderosa tierra de [OUR_CIV_SHORT] busca la paz con vuestra débil civilización de pacotilla. De momento, claro está.</Spanish>
    	</TEXT>
     
  18. Jwitti

    Jwitti Judas Maccabeus

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,895
    Location:
    Judah
    No, you just have to edit a game file (which is ridiculously easy once you get used to XML) and you shouldn't edit the main game file, so you have to make a mod for that one change. Although, I don't see why it couldn't be modularized (putting just that file in custom_assets) I've just never bothered to try. It's well worth it to play with the XML files, you can find guides all over the place on this forum.

    Have fun modding!
     
  19. Manco Capac

    Manco Capac Friday,13 June,I Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8,051
    Oh and btw, this is not the place for modding questions...although surprisingly for simple basic questions, you'll have a faster answer than in the mod subforum.

    A trick (which turns out not really be a trick but just a fact for ordering your modding) is to copy/paste the desired file for modding and add at the end as pseudo extension .old. Both files will possess the same name, but will coexist that way and once you want to retrieve the base XML file, you just have to rename the new file with a new invented extension and substract the .old.
     
  20. mir092

    mir092 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    I am currently watching a guide on adding a leader and civ, I just wanted to customize what he said.
    thanks for the help
     

Share This Page