1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v36 plus (SVN) - After the 24th of October 2015

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Oct 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,031
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    If this one is not the 14 min EoT, then the next turn is. Just click Red button.

    EDIT: 2885 is a 20+ min Eot that I killed by having to Hard restart my computer. The game will Not let you End task in Task manager as the game still controls the Mouse functions. You get the running man cursor but can not do anything with it.

    EDIT2: ANewDawn log file added

    JosEPh
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,429
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ok, thanks! Hangs aren't usually too hard to fix now. Some of the things I've done in the code to make it easier to resolve them have been helping a lot there. I'll have to take a look at this very soon.
     
  3. Parsec

    Parsec Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    i guess the Ornithopter is not the only animation which have such problems. i have read at laest 2 other posts which sounds like having the same issue, maybe with other units.
     
  4. dilophosaur

    dilophosaur Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    I had notorious crash to desktop during AI turns today. (repeated several times, even from earlier (-1 turn) save - nothing helped. I use the latest SVN build.

    logs

    saves and the empty MiniDump.dmp file

    My MiniDump.dmp file is empty -I dunno why.

    What to do to replicate the crash? Nothing, just end the turn (in the case of the newest save).
     
  5. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Pls look at post # 1, thx . .
     
  6. dilophosaur

    dilophosaur Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    Thanks, sorry for that. I added all required files, I think.
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,429
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  8. TrippedOnACloud

    TrippedOnACloud Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Very minor, fairly pointless bug relating to Natural Wonder discovery:
    If your starting location is within sight of a Natural Wonder, you'll receive the gold immediately, as usual. However, if you then load the initial autosave, said autosave will not have the gold, but the Natural Wonder will already be discovered. Honestly probably not worth the time and effort to fix.

    In the "not sure if bug or feature" category, some animals that belong to the "Neutral Animals" civ are aggressive, notably assorted Bears and Musk Oxen. Also, Eagles and Hawks are incredibly annoying due to their apparently high aggression and high movement speed. I've lost so, so many workers to them. Doesn't really make much sense to me that a ten-pound bird can and will hunt down and kill groups of adult humans.
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    That is because you live in a world where humans are at the top of the food chain. Something that took gunpowder to achieve.;)
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,429
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Not a bug. The team the animal is on is more a matter of the hunting/prey chain when Peace Among NPCs is not on than it is to form assumptions about the nature of the animal in terms of its aggression level. Some 'prey' creatures are very aggressive... take the Hippo for example. Not a predator but perhaps the most aggressive animal on the planet.

    True but he has a point about eagles and hawks. They might be set a little too aggressive. Particularly if they can enter borders... I don't know if they were setup to be able to do so but I'm wondering how he's losing so many workers to them.

    I've also come to think they might be spawning a little too frequently from the few small playtests I've done lately.
     
  11. TrippedOnACloud

    TrippedOnACloud Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Fair enough. Cape Buffalo being another prime example of a highly dangerous and aggressive herbivore.

    They can indeed enter borders. I'm losing so many workers to them mostly because they often spawn inside my borders, and 3 movement means they can also attack from outside of vision range as well as from peaks and water. Also, I'm not terribly attentive when it comes to checking on nearby enemies and such, and I'm too lazy to escort workers.

    While you're looking at spawn rates, you should probably check on the ratios for predators to prey when Peace Among NPCs is on or off.

    New minor bug I discovered, if you take a city with a bandit-class unit (thereby making the city barbarian), it loses its cultural identity.
     
  12. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,031
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Not a Bug but is a WAD. Dh has already explained this before when this was being developed.

    JosEPh
     
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There can only be one set of spawns definitions for all options. There is no way to adjust the spawn rate by option.

    Nothing to do with me. Came as a complete surprise. However in vanilla if barbarians take your city they don't necessarily get to keep the culture. Taking it back quickly usually restores your culture. Not sure what happens in vanilla when a barbarian takes a city then someone other than the original owner takes it but normally when you take another city it looses some culture so what is happening is probably as designed.
     
  14. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Europe
    looks for me like a failure. I have in early game at "immigration" the top = "No Borders", but no unit of an AI civ can cross my land, so in fact it is same like closed borders.

    Same is reversed. I cannot cross an AI land, w/o getting the popup quwstion if I want war with them.

    edit:
    just notice that also my raft can't go over AI's water fields.
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,518
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes. It is behaving the way it is designed to. I have suggested alternatives but this is the way the modder wanted it.
     
  16. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Europe
    by such C2C more and more gets to be a special mod (only) instead a mod for different playing styles. Pity!

    corresponding to that, the AI more and more goes the war only way. First I thought it is a lack in AI, but in between I suspect it is willed. Less intelligence more action. I (but if I want such I take an action shooter game)

    and related to that: the next curiosity: I cannot use a raft as transport, but just see a raft which transports a Chaser, so the AI can do what I cannot do?

    Edit
    with research of boad building my raft can transport, but not before. Some logic is for me extraterrestrial.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. TrippedOnACloud

    TrippedOnACloud Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Ah, well.

    Note that I'm not referring to :culture:, but to the cultural identity of the city that determines the Native Culture building it gets, as used by the Assimilation code. Mind, I haven't checked to see what happens if an actual Barbarian takes a city, with regards to Assimilation effects. It's quite possible that real Barbarians also wipe the cultural identity.

    There is absolutely nothing that I can see in the XML or Civilopedia, on either Rafts or the related techs, that would cause this. I've also never had any issues with rafts being unable to transport.
     
  18. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    724
    Location:
    Europe
    and another issue: Aborigines got contact with Egypt by telepathie or teleport.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,429
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Actually there are a few ways to. One of them is specifically designed to adjust the ratios between the groups based on the options in use. But I've gotta review how I set that up because it's been a little bit. Maybe Toffer or Harrier can recall how that's done cuz one of them used the system once I developed it. (It's getting bad when you've developed so many systems that you can't recall how to use one of them. Ugh.)

    Exactly as designed indeed. And you are also right that there is a period of time where you can recapture and get your cultural influence back. If another civ captures it right away though, it may erase that earlier owner from the record for that.

    HN units that can capture cities shouldn't be capturing for their player because they 'claim' no allegiance to any throne. So to deepen how hidden their nationality is, they now capture for the barbarian player (which can certainly be a setup for the player to move in right away afterwards to capture without initiating a war.)
     
  20. TrippedOnACloud

    TrippedOnACloud Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    You're misunderstanding my point, still. I realize they capture for Barbarian, and that it's how it is meant to work. I'm not talking about culture :)culture:), I'm talking about the "identity" of the city as it relates to Assimilation and the gaining of Native Culture (Continent) of the original owner.

    If I capture the city normally, then the city becomes, say, "Berlin (German)", and will get a Native Culture (European). If, however, I use HN/Bandit units to capture the city, it first becomes "Berlin" under barbarian control (note lack of (German)), and taking it myself treats it as though it was always a barbarian city without the Native Culture (European).

    Mind, if the way the Assimilation code works is that it checks for highest culture :)culture:) at time of conquest, and the HN conquest for the barbarian player wipes out the original culture, that would account for it.

    Oceanian cultures, of which Aborigines are one, can build Culture (Polynesian), which in turn allows the Catamaran unit, which can travel across Sea tiles at a much earlier stage in the tech tree than other ships. Are you sure they didn't gain contact by means of an early water crossing?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page