1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v38 plus (SVN) - After the 20th of February 2018

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Feb 24, 2018.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    Using Toffer's mapscript isn't crime (no idea how you come to that conclusion) - in fact all mapscripts now generate equally big maps as C2C_World.
    And I didn't say this mapscript isn't best, I was talking, that space maps have Duel to Small- Earth - I compared sizes here not quality.
    That is if you played on Small sized map, then generated map would be bigger than Earth in space maps - that is I was talking about size alone, space maps were mentioned as example, where Earth is in between Duel and Small size.

    That is what would be Small map in C2C_World it would have dimension similar to Large map in any other mapscripts before standardization.
    You just kept confusing things, so I straightened things so players wouldn't be confused.
    I guess I was bit blunt when trying to do so :p

    C2C_World maps always were oversized - that is Duel/Tiny/Small/Standard was actually Small/Standard/Large/Huge when it came to generating maps.
    C2C_World Large was Huge+ and C2C_World Huge was midway between Huge and Giant.
    Just C2C_World Gigantic was DOWNsized here.
    I think only few other mapscripts made maps similarly big.

    There were mapscripts that downscaled size below what was default sizes too.

    So if you want original Huge or Large or Standard, then you should choose Standard or Small or Tiny size - it was always a thing in C2C_World.
    This is what I tried to say - Duel/Tiny/Small maps are perfectly fine to play since always in C2C_World, you can put more AIs here than default.
    You were playing on big sizes, which got hurt most (biggest increase of EoT in mature game) after strengthening AI.

    Slowdown is caused by AI, that now can build stronger economy (and more units) than it used to.
    If Duel (60x40) has area of 1, then Tiny/Small/Standard/Large/Huge/Giant/Gigantic have area very close to 2/3/4/5/6/7/8 Duel sized maps.
    That was always thing of C2C_World, now extended to all other mapscripts.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  2. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,296
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Notification: Dad passed away yesterday afternoon. I will not be posting for awhile.
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    No idea what is happening here, they have cost so should be buildable.
    I know that you need courthouse and certain national wonders.

    It would be weird if free buildings were invalid prereq for something.
    I deleted city, that contained wonder giving courthouse, and hurried new courthouse and 3 national wonders, that are needed for certain ordinances.
    And still can't build them.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  4. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    Brisbane
    1. In my largest city in late Renaissance (many AI cities are bigger), each engineer specialist gives 190+ culture per turn. Isn't that way too much? I'm thinking anything more than 30 is OP. This explains why my city governors are running mostly engineers, and so all my GPs are engineers too.

    2. After holding a city for 400 turns (5 times the length of a trade deal/peace treaty), with no current culture pressure from other civs, I have only 35% culture in the city itself. Consequently it still has no land tiles it can work except using Fixed Borders. I suggest that I should be getting 50% culture in 80-100 turns in the city and at most another 50 turns for the adjacent tiles.

    3. Cities that are starving due to this ridiculously slow culture spread can feed themselves indefinitely using food merchants.
     
  5. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    Ordinance.jpg
    The strange thing is that Prostitution Ban does work and it also needs the Courthouse but Carpool etc. don´t appear.
     
  6. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    Yeah, now I went nuclear and deleted prereqs of ordinances.
    I'll then restore prereqs.
    Only two ordinances are available.....

    Started new game and now I see only 3 ordinances, while I should see 8 or 9 ordinances, as prereqs for them were removed.
    I'll remove requirements for their effects.
    And still only three ordinances are visible.
    I have hiding of all things disabled.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    @Thunderbrd something is horribly broken.
    I can build only 3 ordinances out of 8 or 9 available, and I removed ALL prereqs from them as test (uploaded file with ordinances without requirements).

    Can you check what is happening?
    It seems like they had phantom obsoletion or tech requirements, since they aren't visible of start of game (you need to use file I provided, so all ordinances should be visible on beginning of game).
    They all are national wonders placable by Judge.
    If you don't hide buildings in BUG options, then it should be grayed out if unbuildable.
    It is always hidden, if you don't have tech requirement and if building is obsolete.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm sorry to hear that and am saddened for you.
     
  9. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Um, yeah. Have you identified where all that extra culture is coming from?
    That sounds pretty related to problem 1. When there's THAT much culture being earned for the previous owners, it would be hard to overcome what they established.
    Yeah, well that's the crazy thing about how food merchants work. You're using them to convert production to food so of course this happens, even if the conversion isn't 100%.
    I'll put it on my list to look into. It's going to be difficult for me since I have never used ordinances.
     
    raxo2222 and Yudishtira like this.
  10. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    I uploaded file in my previous post, that removes all requirements for ordinances and this bug still persists.
    That is can build only three of them and 5 or 6 others aren't displayed at all despite no requirements.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  11. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'd love to help, but I don't know how to do that.
     
  12. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,544
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    There are two ways I can "fix" Cannibalism and Human Sacrifice without resorting to the dll. I can either
    1. make them "core" and not optional which goes against the whole concept of World Views.

      Or

    2. make 6 secondary mods/folders which contain just the unit details for each possible combination and have the user turn on and off the appropriate sets. The problem with this one is maintaining it. When more world views are added, eg the various Prisoner of War options it will become even more complex.
    I am thinking option 2 is the way to go at the moment. The default will be all on. I will "fix" Cannibalism first as I have thought of a much better way of doing the Human Sacrifice (I think).
     
    KaTiON_PT likes this.
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm totally cool with that and don't see why world views should be modular anyhow. Players don't have to use them ingame even if they are available. I'm also usually in favor of less modularization since few will ever understand how to use it properly.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  14. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Well, try to see where it may be coming from in the pedia, in the city list, etc.
     
  15. Niveras

    Niveras Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    362
    Is there any kind of log, or an option to enable such, for generating worlds? Or, are there some mapscripts and settings (mapscript settings, not game settings) that handle world generation poorly, to the extent that certain combinations shouldn't be used?

    I'm having trouble creating c2c_world maps, and sometimes other map scripts if I select a high size - the loading doesn't go past "Initializing", even if I give it 15+ minutes. I'd like to figure out where it is that it is sticking/bogging down so I can try to avoid those settings.
     
  16. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    The tile improvement Hydro Dam is too weak. The Water Mill automatically upgrades to a Hydro Dam and gains nothing but looses 3 food (with my current settings). I would add 2 hammers and 3 food to the Hydro Dam.
     
  17. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    I think windmill/watermill -> wind turbine/hydro dam should not only get more hammers but convert current food yields to hammers.
    Their food output is almost inconsequential compared to farms., when windmill/watermill upgrade.

    Traits may be involved.
    Windmill: 3F, 3P, 5C with tech boosters.
    Modern Windmill: 2P, 3C
    Modern Windmill should have 7P (3F -> 3P, and one bonus production) and 6C.

    Watermill: 3F, 5P, 3C with tech boosters.
    Hydro Dam: 5P, 3C
    It should have 9P (3F -> 3P +1 bonus) and 4C.
    Traits weren't involved in those improvements.

    Also upgraded improvement should always be better than previous improvement immediately.
    Cottage: 2C (1P, 4C)
    Hamlet: 1P, 5C (2P, 6C)
    Village: 2P, 7C (3P, 8C)
    Town: 3P, 9C (4P, 10C)
    Suburbs: 4P, 11C
    One of these could randomly upgrade to windmill/watermill/lumbermill, I removed those alt upgrades, since yields are incompatible.

    Wood Gatherer: 1P
    Lumberjack: 2P (4P, 1C)
    Lumbermill: 4P, 1C (6P, 1C) - needs boost of 1P.
    Treefarm: 5P, 4C - needs boost of 3P, and moved to Atomic era (Ecology looks good), since it seems like those already exist. Industrial+ workers can build this. Information era ecotech could boost commerce and production like Ecological Engineering.
    Hybrid Forest: 1F, 5P, 5C - needs boost of 4P.
    All those should be buildable in jungle.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    Snofru1 likes this.
  18. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,262
    Location:
    Norway
    C2C World mapscript does log quite a bit in the PythonDbg.log file when you generate a map with it.
    To turn on this logging, you will need to go into "My Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\CivilizationIV.ini".
    This line must be set to 1:
    LoggingEnabled = 1​
     
  19. Snofru1

    Snofru1 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,243
    Location:
    Germany
    I like all of your suggestions concerning tile improvements, @raxo2222.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  20. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,948
    Location:
    Poland
    @Thunderbrd or @Toffer90 something wrong is with ALLOWS_IMPROVEMENT_UPGRADE - this text seems to appear very inconsistently (allows X to upgrade to Y).
    Spoiler :

    Civ4BeyondSword 2019-02-03 17-34-34-79.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2019-02-03 17-34-52-13.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2019-02-03 17-35-02-03.jpg Civ4BeyondSword 2019-02-03 17-35-05-98.jpg
     

Share This Page