1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v40 plus (SVN) - After Oct 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Oct 20, 2019.

  1. garfunkel

    garfunkel Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    45


    Captured Neanderthal can be upgraded to both Gatherer and Neanderthal Gatherer..
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2020
  2. sunrisereader

    sunrisereader Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    181
    Is the option on where you get research from other players? If that is the case one of them might have researched the tech giving you a boost from that or even settled a city making him strong enough you get research boost from him.
     
  3. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Fixed this, thanks.
    It would take a pretty extreme edge case to get this effect - maybe playing a duel map with 1 opponent, WFL on, and the opponent just placed their second city? - but more likely there was some event the player missed or didn't notice, happens to the best of us. Unless it happens again, probably not an issue.
     
  4. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    option is that I get research from my vasalles as parent, but none had any, they are far away from my research.
    As this is a random event with the go step back in research, it is not replicateable by loading the autosav made before.
     
  5. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    why stone watchtower does not mark the field with culture/ownership like wooden watchtowers do?
    see screenshot
    1 = wooden watchtower, 2 = stone watchtower, 3 = wooden watchtower, 4 = wooden palisandes, 5 = stone watchtower (while the stone watchtowers get buid automatically 25 turns after built wooden watchtower. Means, while wooden watchtower are borders not able to pass for other, now, after 25 turns, the fields are passable with stone watchtower. Need to destroy all stone watchtowers and build wooden new, all 25 turns)

    Edit: 2 turns later, next wooden watchtowers are stone woodtowers, but now one stone watchtower (the 6) kept the culture/ownership of the field. (1 = wooden wt, 2 = stone wt, 3 = storne wt, 4 = stone wt, 5 = wooden palisande, 6 = stone wt
    Civ4ScreenShot0003.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0001.JPG

    Don't see any logical reason for such, so I suspect it's a bug

    Edit 3:
    2 turns later, destroyed stone tower No 2 and built wooden watchtower again, but field gets not back the ownership and culture. So my suspect that it is a bug, looks to be confirmed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2020
  6. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    v41 has some issues with watchtowers that should be fixed in current SVN; there will likely be a v41.1 at some point to fix that and a handful of other errors... and I'm assuming you're playing v41 proper, unless I'm wrong? If you're playing on the most recent SVN on a game that is properly updated, then something weird is happening.
     
  7. Dreifels

    Dreifels King

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Europe
    is there a thread for v41? not seen
    Edit: found - you may move the wrong postings
    (yes, I play the .41, for unknown reason I can't get working fine the GEM with SVN but with the v41 ready package only)
     
  8. Talin2009

    Talin2009 King

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    Latest SVN

    When training Camel Rider they dont have Heat1, 2, 3 free promotions as they always have been and according to description

    p.s. Tried adding in WB misc. Camel mounted units, seems they all miss that promotion. Tried adding Maccabee unit - he have Heat1 promotion - everything correct.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
  9. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,561
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I suspect that a fix I made for that was undone at some point by someone who thought my fix was an unnecessary step as I originally thought myself before I added it. This is a little tricky because if the system tries to give the unit Heat 1 then 2 then 3 in order, it works great but if it gives 3, it eliminates it as being invalidated before it even tries the other 2.

    I'll try to remember to take a look at this again later.
     
  11. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,396
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I think it's more than that. At some point, the Arctic and Desert promotions were changed to require Combat I (I suppose to make them more in line with the other terrain promotions), but the units having these promotions from the start were not given Combat I as well. You also lose e.g. the Arctic promotions of the Mammoth Rider if you load an older game when assigning the next promotion.
     
    Thunderbrd likes this.

Share This Page