1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

v27 and above - Single Player Bug/Crashes report thread

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Nov 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    If we are lucky it is "just" the way the save is read in. Most programs today assume you can read the whole file into memory this does not work when the memory available to the program is smaller than the size of the file read in. Since 32-bit programs can only access about 3Gb of memory that will be the limit on save size in such a circumstance. However, what with me being old and remembering when 4Kb was a huge amount of memory, there are ways to get round the problem. They "just" require programmers to do a whole lot more on the interface between the game and the save.
     
  2. krushyn

    krushyn Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    USA
    .... well it gets soon to 2.6 MB (I had ~6 MB in the past from smaller maps working well) , that is why I was able to reload saves earlier inthe game probably. I am trying to go back with posts and to read them.I am such a not-frequent flier here in the forum some of those infos I need I have problem to retrieve/find (or to lazy to look for) , but i am grateful for all your answers and seriously adore hard work you put into the mod .
    Thank You guys!
     
  3. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    Then it can't be a save size issue, I've seen saves over 10 MBs no problem.
     
  4. krushyn

    krushyn Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    USA
    Just a save from the immense...
    .... and one more thing : just started a new game on a bit smaller size and my automations do not work well.... seems like autohunt/destroy when pressing do not move units, autoexplore stops when barbs are around or animals, and after using all moves there is no unit circulation...... did I press something again?? pressing Space do not skip unit as it used to.... Go-To also stops for unit/stacks even thou no enemy at sight


    EDIT: I moved rev down few numbers before latest change to UNITsINFO file or something similar and my automations work perfectly now !
     

    Attached Files:

  5. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    I checked for GEM in SVN...
    https://caveman2cosmos.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/caveman2cosmos/trunk/PrivateMaps/
    THIS should be the reason, I guess (I opened my own version and saw the difference):
    CivicOption=CIVICOPTION_MILITARY, Civic=CIVIC_BANDITS (my)
    must be CIVIC_BANDITRY (updated)
    THANKS!!!
    I'll just download the newest version - should work now.
    I'll tell soon.

    EDIT.
    Ehem, when I started Play Scenario, it got me defeated at the start.
    I'll try Custom now, but it's somewhat funny.
    Meaning, I'll need to look through Victory conditions now, somewhere.
    See ya.

    EDIT 2.
    Same on Custom.
    WEIRD.
    Must be due to starting conditions then - NO IDEA!!!
    HELP, please!

    I think I'll have to spend a lot of time on comparing the older version I still have and the new SVN one, which causes these auto-defeats.
    STUPID... :(
    (I already see that the older one lacks some civics and has some turned differently, but I don't get the problem...)

    EDIT.
    WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON???
    Now even the OLD map gives me Defeated - without any changes..!!!

    If it's memory problems - this SUUUCKS!!!
     
  6. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,061
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    @civfan613,

    Until the Civics, which are in a state of change, are finished And the Leader Traits are settled too, using GEM will most likely be unstable with each new SVN revision.

    Play another Regular BtS/RoM map and leave the heavily scripted maps be till the dust settles in these 2 categories.

    JosEPh
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    I could not agree more, thx JosEPh_II;)
     
  8. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Thanks, though it's upsetting.
    Anyways, my whole idea was to (ehem) cheat-win GEM by making me progress immensely - I CAN cheat my city production/food/science values. :D
    This isn't as fun with a random map...
    Sorry, just ranting.
    (I hate playing week-long games, which is the only reason I wanted to cheat anyways - I like the game as it is, just hate playing for hours AND increasing turn waits...)
     
  9. Imrahil66

    Imrahil66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    hello,

    a few things :
    - the cost of sea plane is 10x bigger then other aircrafts
    - I think military defensive buildings (like walls, towers, turrets, ...) shouldnt have crime reducing ability. They were used defending city not catching criminals.
     
  10. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Walls do because they limit where criminals can get into and out of the city making the crime catchers job easier. ;) Other military defense buildings probably shouldn't reduce crime.
     
  11. BlueGenie

    BlueGenie Emperor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,575
    I was under the impression that such buildings, like Watch Towers, were used for both purposes; spotting incoming enemies and keeping an eye on the city itself.
    I might be under the wrong impression though.

    Cheers
     
  12. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,061
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This should go in the ls612 Units thread.

    It was decided that they would have Crime reducing ability. Opinions are always welcome but this has been discussed and debated.

    Welcome to C2C.

    JosEPh
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    TXT missing for building Fire Hanger . .
     
  14. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,072
    Location:
    America
    The seaplane's cost looks right to me (700 unmodified). :confused:
     
  15. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    This has been a problem since before C2C was and mod. I still cannot figure out why since the text is there. If you can solve the mystery let me know.
     
  16. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Quite simple really. In the buildingclassinfos it is KEY_TXT_FIRE_HANGER rather than KEY_TXT_BUILDING_FIRE_HANGER
     
  17. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    That is correct, if you looked carefully at what i underlined above:rolleyes:
     
  18. civfan613

    civfan613 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    GEM problem solved!
    (Notepad++ rules!)
    Had to look into the C2C random locations map for comparison.
    I simply edited away all those civics - who needs them to begin with???
    Also changed Era from none to prehistoric and added maxturn=0.
    Not sure, which part was THE solving one, but now a Custom scenario works fine.
    See ya!
     
  19. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,519
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I got this even. The only problem is that I am not Chief head Hunter. It then fell over. No save sorry I was testing something else.
     
  20. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    So that's why all the water mod stuff was messed up too! Good old cut and paste screwed it up all this time!! :eek:

    I am less embarrassed :blush: and more relived that the bug was solved! :w00t:

    So many times i was like. "Why is this not working?!?!" :wallbash:

    Thank you! :worship:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page