1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[MOD] v41 SVN and GithubDesktop Bugs and Crashes Single player

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by JosEPh_II, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. sunrisereader

    sunrisereader Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    In my most recent game the turn times went from 20-30s per turn to 4 to 5 minutes per turn in less then 10 turns.
    I know the game slows as the number of units and cities rise but was not expecting it to get that much slower in so few turns.
    Also the AI are slow launch attacks(i was at war with 6 AI's at the same time and saw a total of 4 horsemen attack during the last war.
    Some of the AI's do not expand despite having great oppertuneties to do so, the mongols are the worse they have only 3 cities and a fort south of those next to a river on the coast but have not created a city there despite it being a great spot for it.
    Other AI's do expand and some are still ahead of me in score, army size, and research(i am at ancient ballistics, they are 4-5 techs into the next age).
    The AI's have 100.000+ gold at times so my main source of income is selling tech to them as even the minor AI with single cities are rich.
    I added a save game(updated yesterday with the svn) hopefully that can help improve the AI and or turn times.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Do you happen to have a save from before the turn time shot up? Sounds like this file is from after.
     
  3. sunrisereader

    sunrisereader Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Sadly not i tried playing a few more turns so all of the autosaves are from after then and the last normal save is from several hours before then:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have the latest SVN but I still get garrison units in my cities mired in and unable to move for a turn. I thought that was fixed, or did you decide to leave it?
     
  5. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Two screenshots of the same unit's odds for the same combat, one from two tiles away, one from the adjacent tile.

    All the components of the calculation that are shown are the same, but the conclusion reached is very different.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. sunrisereader

    sunrisereader Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    I think the enemy can only see one of the units so only one gets stealth attacks.
     
    Yudishtira likes this.
  7. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If the dogs have stealth attacks, it's a good suggestion. But this has been happening since long before stealth attacks were a thing. And it doesn't explain what is missing from one of the identical mouseovers.
     
  8. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,335
    Location:
    Norway
    In the first screenshot the enemy cannot see your unit, so stealth combat is factored in, in the second screenshot the enemy can see your unit so stealth combat is not factored in.
    That stealth combat is factored in in the first screenshot is a bug though, as the enemy will see your unit when it moves in to make the attack.
     
  9. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,335
    Location:
    Norway
    Doesn't CTD for me, is it repeatable for you?
    When does it CTD?
     
  10. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,655
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    ok did a clean up again and this time it worked, but there is that pop-up again, i really think something is wrong in the pop-up area, seems to me that is were the most problems occur .. .
     
  11. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,335
    Location:
    Norway
    In StrategyOnly test1.zip it crash on a random event, I will investigate which one it is.

    EDIT: Ok, I've found the cause of the CTD, and the commit that introduced it, MattCA is fixing it now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2020
    strategyonly likes this.
  12. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you fixed that it would be amazing. I was just hoping the odds mouseover could show the stealth combat factor when it is being applied, rather than now where only the exact same factors are shown in both cases and only the end result shown to be different.
     
  13. Blazenclaw

    Blazenclaw eccentric eclectic

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Spoiler But the factors are different? :

    upload_2020-12-28_22-9-35.png
     
  14. tantoniou

    tantoniou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Not sure if it's a bug, but smells like one.
    My one-era-ahead nation's 007 unit just tried a 'make the city revolt for 1 turn' to a neighbor nation's city. The action was performed succesfully, my 007 unit was thwarted by espionage defenses but managed to escape. The neighbor city didn't revolt as it should, but upon returning to my capital, the 007 unit caused a revolt to my capital!

    Anyways, not a proper holidays message this one...so thanks everybody in C2C team for making this great mod, even with its bugs and misconfigures, it's been keeping me and a lot of people good company in these strange times. Hope the coming year treats you better, along with the rest of us!
     
    Blazenclaw likes this.
  15. tantoniou

    tantoniou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    I also get a lot of ctd's with the latest svn (11278)

    Edit:
    Switched back to 11277 and all seems good for now
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2020
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,335
    Location:
    Norway
    Hehe, yeah, that's probably a bug, could you upload a save where you have it set up to be repeated?
    Next SVN rev will arrive within 30 minutes with a fix to that frequent CTD issue.
     
    tantoniou and strategyonly like this.
  17. tantoniou

    tantoniou Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    The city where my top secret agent performs 'support city revolt' is the Aborigines city of Larrakia, in my south-eastern border. Apparently it happens every time I tried it (and I thought it was random!)
     

    Attached Files:

    Toffer90 likes this.
  18. Osk21

    Osk21 Barbarian Killer win Peace thru War!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    Units keep registering kills, turn never ends.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Osk21

    Osk21 Barbarian Killer win Peace thru War!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    170
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rockford, IL
    I am able to make a difference of a few turns by when I take a barbarian city but it always becomes a situation where the turn does not end.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8,108
    Location:
    Poland
    Did you update to latest SVN?
     

Share This Page