1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

0.19.1: Unofficial Update to the Unofficial Patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unofficial Patches' started by Dresden, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. glider1

    glider1 Deity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,788
    Location:
    Where animals hop not run
    Doh!!! Now I know I am blind.
     
  2. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    That's exactly how it works (provided that you have selected the "backup all files" and "update SDK sources" options in the installer). :)
     
  3. Fistleaf

    Fistleaf Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    Singapore
    So if I installed grumbler's patch as a mod, and selected the backup and update SDK options. do I still need to load the solver mod to play?
     
  4. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    Yep, I do believe the mod option from the installer is still called the solver mod. While I generally use the more generic term Unofficial Patch when discussing it, Solver did start this project (and may eventually take it over again) so it seems perfectly reasonable to me to keep that name for the mod folder.
     
  5. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    That was pretty much my reasoning for keeping the name 'solver' for the mod folder for now.

    Within the installer I'm calling it Solver's/Dresden's Unofficial Patch.

    (Depending on how things go from here this will change to Dresden/Solver and maybe one day even just to ... Dresden's Patch. ;) )
     
  6. Poppis

    Poppis Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi,

    just installed 3.17 and then the unofficial patch using grumblers installer. It asked me whether I would like to install it as a mod or not. I chose not to, since I want it to be on all the time and loading it as a mod every time would get tedious.

    After installing I started the game, went to "options" and "load a mod" and I could see a mod called solver in there. So I just wanted to know if I did something wrong. I checked the "about this build" and it still says it's 3.17(allthough I don't think the unofficial patch should change that).

    Is there some way to check that I actually have 0.19.1 installed?

    In civ/BTS/CvGameCoreDLL there is a folder called backup_before_solver_0.19.1, so at least it's made the backups.
     
  7. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    What about Bhruic's fix to AI danger logic? My spies are still stopping when near enemy units, despite that being fixed in Bhruic's patch.
     
  8. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    No, you didn't. :)

    Turns out the installer had a defect which caused it to put "Python\Entrypoints\CvRandomEventInterface.py" into both the BTS assets folder and the mod folder if you selected "install to assets". You can simply delete the "solver" mod folder in this case.

    If the user selected "install as a mod", the installer would omit copying CvRandomEventInterface.py completely. Fortunately, as it turns out, this isn't really a problem, because the CvRandomEventInterface.py from 0.19.1 and from BTS 3.17 are identical. ;)

    To avoid further confusion and since CvRandomEventInterface.py is unchanged, I've uploaded a new version of the installer without it.

    You're right, the unofficial patch doesn't affect the version info.

    You should also see similarly named folders in Assets, Assets\Python\Screens, Assets\XML\text and Assets\XML\units.

    Thanks for bringing this issue to my attention! :)
     
  9. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    Dresden, what do you think of adding a version notice to the flag overlay like the BetterAI guys did?
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Poppis

    Poppis Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    Finland
    Ah, thanks for the quick reply. I quess I'm good to go then.

    That version notice would be great for any future versions of the patch.
     
  11. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    @grumbler: Indeed I have been considering a version indicator like BetterAI uses. I'm torn between the usefulness of easily determining the exact version and the desire to keep minimal changes.

    @Xenomorph: That was supposed to be part of Official 3.17; the readme even uses the same description as Bhruic's readme:
    Code:
    Spies no longer interrupt their mission when moving next to an enemy unit
    I'll look into it.
     
  12. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph King

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    It may be an artifact from incorporating the Better AI mod (which would make the problem partly my fault, partly theirs).
     
  13. DMOC

    DMOC Mathematician

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,594
    Subscription post. :)
     
  14. GooglyBoogly

    GooglyBoogly Freakamongus

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Re: DMOC

    If you want to subscribe to a thread you don't have to post. At the top right, under "Thread Tools" there is an option to subscribe to the thread - It's great for lurkers.
     
  15. Freezer-TPF-

    Freezer-TPF- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Does grumbler's installer work for the Steam version of BtS?
     
  16. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Yes ( ten chars )
     
  17. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    OK, it's about time I get another update going. I haven't been real diligent about keeping track of what things need to be addressed in 0.19.2 0.21 though so please let me know what is missing from these lists. ;)

    Stuff that has already been identified and/or tested
    1. The rare but entertaining "AI builds you a wonder" bug. Fix from DanF5771.
    2. The "Theology without religion" bug. See the discussion in this forum.
    3. The Glance Screen incorrectly parsing leader name bug. See description from BTS Bug forum. Fix from BUG mod.
    4. The Favorite Civics redline all trade-screen civics bug. Fix from DanF5771. I'm still on the fence about this one but am leaning more towards changing it.
    5. The Better AI "closeness" fix. First mentioned a few months back; the BetterAI team is happy with how it is working out in their testing so it is something we should consider here. I'd like some opinions from others.
    6. Fixed rare bug where Info screen Score graph would break if using debug mode and viewing an unmet AI.
    7. Conquistador's don't ignore city walls even though they are a gunpowder unit and they replace Cuirassiers which do ignore walls.

    Stuff that has been suggested and needs to be looked at
    1. Spies no longer interrupt their mission when moving next to an enemy unit; this wasn't actually fixed in Official 3.17 despite the readme and needs to be revisited. Bhruic had fixed it in his 3.13 patch but that area of code has changed quite a bit so some work needs to be done.
    2. Adding an in-game patch version indicator (probably using the flag hover text like BetterAI does)
    3. AP votes stopping when current pope switches to FR. An old one that I never really got around to looking into.
    4. Ruff's map script fixes; listed here because I don't know how well the most recent ones have been tested.
    5. AI resource valuation causing them to give away obsolete resources which still benefit the other nation.
    6. Possible error in AI promotion valuation regarding first-strike-granting promotions.
    7. Bonus gold from hammer overflow caps includes all production modifiers whereas the actual overflow hammers do not. Recently brought up in the pinned topic. Not sure how I feel about this one and would like to hear some other opinions.
    8. Building or removing a fort will now force a plotgroup update to verify resource connections. See http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=295332

    Any feedback on these items (should we fix it?, how to fix it, etc.) and anything missing is welcome.

    Note: Green items are implemented in current test version.
     
  18. GooglyBoogly

    GooglyBoogly Freakamongus

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Double Post
     
  19. GooglyBoogly

    GooglyBoogly Freakamongus

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    New Zealand
  20. Psyringe

    Psyringe Scout

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,394
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Glad you're continuing your work on this patch. :) Just throwing in one comment about one of the bugs mentioned:

    I'd welcome a change. Imho, the way it workscurrently simply doesn't make sense. Whether or not you'll be able to (for example) influence a rival to switch his labor civics should depend on his valuation of these civics (and of course on his relation towards you and the offer you make). It should not matter whether or not he found his favorite *religious* civic in the meantime.
     

Share This Page