1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread II

Discussion in 'Computer Talk' started by Methos, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,394
    Location:
    Canada
    Follow the instructions the computer gives you.
     
  2. GoodGame

    GoodGame Red, White, & Blue, baby!

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    13,725
    You have the installation disks and registration code, right? It's not illegitimate then.
    I'd notify Microsoft that they are in error, and try to get it resolved. Possibly, Best Buy resold registration code for accident, at which point they probably are bound to give you a new OS.
     
  3. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,317
    Location:
    US of A
    The scroll wheel on my mouse is sticking. Any way to make that work smoothly again?
     
  4. shadowplay

    shadowplay (boss music)

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Toronto
    Open the mouse up for a cleaning. There should be some little screws on the bottom of the mouse you can remove... though sometimes they're hidden. Looking at the two mice in front of me, for example, only one has screws visible on the bottom... the other mouse has them hidden (IIRC) on the inside underneath the batteries. Take a look...
     
  5. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,394
    Location:
    Canada
    Probably get a new mouse. I just got a new mouse after the scroll wheel on my old one started acting up. This happens every couple years with my mouse on a pretty consistent basis.
     
  6. shadowplay

    shadowplay (boss music)

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,550
    Location:
    Toronto
    What did you do in the days of mechanical mice? Buy a new mouse every time it got dirty? If you've had it for years and it's never been cleaned before there's going to be hair and finger oils and all kinds of gnarly stuff wrapped around the scroll wheel which could be interfering with it's performance. It's worth taking apart and cleaning before you spring for a new mouse.
     
  7. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,394
    Location:
    Canada
    I've taken them apart, it's not dirt problems, mouse wheels just fail after a while.
     
  8. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,317
    Location:
    US of A
    That's what I ended up doing last time I had one fail. But I have a hard time finding mice I like. :sad:
     
  9. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,028
    Gender:
    Female
    I recommend when you find a good one to buy a second one for when the first one gets worn out.
     
  10. salty mud

    salty mud Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    4,754
    Location:
    die Schweiz
    Sounds like something that happened to me a while back. Turned out to be a very well disguised virus. If it asks for personal information of any kind, alarm bells should be ringing very loudly.
     
  11. cardgame

    cardgame Obsessively Opposed to the Typical

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14,433
    Location:
    Misery
    Some of the larger ones by Microsoft are nice, I find.

    They fit my hand quite well. Good response of the scroll wheel and such.
     
  12. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,230
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Funny you are talking about mice, I had a mouse question.

    Is there any way to clean it (near the optic) without taking it apart? I just got done taking mine apart, but I'm lazy, and would like to avoid doing that in the future. I had been putting off taking my mouse apart for months. Even though it was affecting performance in my games (sometimes it wouldn't register when I moved the mouse, or it would be jerky movement). Can you spray air in there to clear it, or is it best just to take it apart?

    Not only do I have to remove 4 screws to get the cover off, but I have to remove 2 more to remove the electronic board and the optic attached to it. Then I can clean underneath that optic. I cleaned the mouse wheel too. The only issues I had with that, were sometimes it would have unintended movements like a minute after I used it. I never understood why that happens. It's always did that as far as I remember.

    Yeah I know it's not much work, but I'm a horrible procrastinator when it comes to work around the house.
     
  13. Dreadnought

    Dreadnought Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    6,897
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    For all you java programmers out there, I have a question.

    I've recently written a class involving a while(true) loop involving Thread.sleep. My emulator issued a heads-up to me, stating that I've used a Thread.sleep in a loop. Some googling has informed me that it may cause performance issues if I use a Thread.sleep during a loop. The program compiles and all; the emulator is merely introducing a tip to me that doesn't influence whether the program can run or not.

    My question is: is it truly a problem if I use a Thread.sleep in a loop? Or can I reasonably ignore this warning?
     
  14. Zelig

    Zelig Beep Boop

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    16,394
    Location:
    Canada
    Just use a cotton swap to clean the mouse, and vacuum your house on a weekly basis so that your mouse doesn't accumulate much gunk.

    I've honestly never had a problem with needing to clean the optic area of a mouse.
     
  15. Quintillus

    Quintillus Archiving Civ3 Content Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,354
    Location:
    Columbus
    As long as you have proper logic to make sure it doesn't loop forever if you don't want it to, it's not a problem. It just means you might have a good amount of idle time in the loop - which might actually be what you want. And, you might even want the loop with Thread.sleep to keep going forever.

    As a non-made-up example, I use Thread.sleep within an infinite loop in the portion of my Civ3 editor that displays the map. Its purpose is to keep the CPU from being hammered by the infinite loop. I have the infinite loop to execute every 1/60th of a second. It displays the map if need be, and then sleeps for the remainder of the 60th of a second, instead of immediately seeing if it needs to draw the map again. My Java editor does give me a warning about it now that I check, but in this case, it's just what I want.
     
  16. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,028
    Gender:
    Female
    Question: I have a WMV video file. I making subtitles for the WMV video file. The subtitles are in the ASS (lol) format. I'd like to hardcode the subtitles in when they finished. Is there a way to do that (free software only) without transcoding the WMV to another format first?
     
  17. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,028
    Gender:
    Female
    I got it. This freeware program'll do it. The 5.10 version. Didn't try beta. Its quite simple to use, too. A keeper.

    http://www.videohelp.com/tools/XviD4PSP
     
  18. aimeeandbeatles

    aimeeandbeatles watermelon

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    19,028
    Gender:
    Female
    Something funny happened. I have 2.0 speakers. The right one is attached to the power and the computer and the left one is attached by a wire to the right speaker. I didnt pull the wires and nothing went "bang" recently but suddenly the left speaker volume dropped. Its still there but quieter. And when I plug in my headphones to the speaker (the jack is in the right side) the volume is out on the left side but the headphones are fine otherwise. I already unplugged it all and plugged it back in but that did not help. No wires feel loose that I can tell. Any suggestions or should I just write off these speakers? Ive had them for a few years. Which is how long they usually last (I dont get real expensive speakers)
     
  19. Cutlass

    Cutlass The Man Who Wasn't There.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    46,317
    Location:
    US of A
    if all the jacks are tight all the way back to the the PC, and there's no controls on the speakers to adjust, then next would be to look in the PC volume controls and see if there's a balance setting that for some reason got out of whack. If that doesn't help, then try a different set of speakers. Borrow a set if you don't own any others. If those work right, then something in your old speakers has broken down.
     
  20. Michkov

    Michkov Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,422
    I lost my volume control button in the lower right of my taskbar. Anyone knows how I can get it back? I'm using Win7
     

Share This Page