1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Civs [Suggestion/Request]

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by AtlantaMarty, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    You do realize that the Tamils are added to DoC already, right?

    Other than that you have a good point about the AI. I thought they'd require less effort to improve than adding new full civs but what do I know.
     
  2. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    What do the Tamils have to do with anything? In DoC, the Tamils represent South Indian civilization while "India" represents North Indian civilization.

    AI's a pain in the ass, as a general rule. I haven't actually ever touched the Civ AI other than a few forays but AI coding tends to be hard. On the other hand, adding full civs may be a little tedious but it's not hard- it's the same old routine that Leoreth has probably got down to an art form by now.
     
  3. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    I assumed that is what you meant by "India was never unified until independence".

    You said that Maurya and Gupta names for India are "not perfect" because of this, but in fact they are perfect because there's a separate representation for the Tamils as a full civ. India in game right now covers exactly the same areas as those historical empires did.

    However, calling the proposed Swahili civ (one that actually has more than 1 city) "Kilwa Sultanate" would be "not perfect" since it would grossly overepresent the historical extent of Kilwa.

    Hence your example of India used as counterargument against me in post 180:
    is invalid. Contrary to what you claim here, the use of Maurya and Gupta names as compared to the proposed use of a Kilwa name is very different. in the former case it's a correct and appropriate use. In the latter case it's a gross exaggeration.

    I'm sorry I did not explain what I meant exactly. I assumed others would be able to fill in the gaps.
     
  4. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Well India could be a one city state and it would still be DCN'ed the Gupta Empire. It could also conquer the Tamils and half of Asia and that would still be its name. Because it represents the Indian civilization. We are proposing a Swahili civilization that will represent and take DCN's based off of the various Sultanates, city states, and kingdoms of East Africa of the past 1000 or so years.
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,989
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    Kilwa did control most of the Swahili coast for a time. Of course they didn't have much control over the hinterland and the more prominent ports were probably largely autonomous as well, but for the purposes of the game considering them "part" of the Sultanate is fine.

    You can be the Duchy of Florence too when playing Italy, even while controlling Venice and Rome. I'd favor something along "Swahili City States" when running the respective civic though.
     
  6. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    Nope. Not with or without my EDCNs modmodmod.

    Do you have a good idea for an alternative name in that case? I will add it to EDCNs if you do.

    I don't think there is a "Swahili civilization" in the sense with the other civs in this game. I hope I'm wrong.

    The crude Culture and City Radius mechanism in Civ IV makes that a problem. For me.

    That should certainly be its default name.
     
  7. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    Swahili did have a unique culture due to the Afro-Arab fusion.

    Portugal has a similar issue with most of it's colonies being coastal v. the city radius mechanic.
     
  8. Leoreth

    Leoreth Friend Next Door Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,989
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Faraway
    There certainly isn't a Swahili civilization in the game.
     
  9. NorwegianSalmon

    NorwegianSalmon Warlord

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    I don't know how autonomous the Kilwa Sultanate's subjects were, but cities that historically were semi-autonomous certainly already appear in the game. For a good portion of their existence in the game, civilizations like Italy, Greece, Maya and Mongolia were nowhere near as centralized as the game portrays them. That's alright, of course, because it's a game.
     
  10. Pavel Chichikov

    Pavel Chichikov King

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    668
  11. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Well, whatever the name is in your modmodmod, it doesn't really change as flexibly as it would in real life. The bottom line is, civilizations, not polities or states or whatever.


    Nope. The ones you have seem just fine IMO.

    The one thing Civ V got right. This is definitely moddable into Civ IV tho. In fact it's been done, for the most part, by the wonderful Afforess as the "Realistic Borders" feature of his Rise of Mankind mod.

    Ooh you just get wittier and wittier don't you :p
     
  12. giant49er

    giant49er Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    California, man
    I think that Oman would be better than the Swahali. And there goals would probably be similar (gold, control East Africa, trade, beating up Portuguese).
     
  13. Askiya

    Askiya Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Oman would be more appropriate as an Arabia DCN, and wouldn't cover the entire timescape of the East African city states.
     
  14. giant49er

    giant49er Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    California, man
    True, but neither would Kilwa.
     
  15. Wondering Kid

    Wondering Kid Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Umm, guys? Why not both? In any case, the Arabic Peninsula needs a new player. And Africa needs more love. (Besides, with those two; having a Boer Civ might be more relevant)
     
  16. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    NE Africa: Egypt
    Horn of Africa: Ethiopia
    East Africa: Oman/Kilwa
    South Africa: Boer
    Central Africa: Congo
    West Africa: Mali
    Maghreb: Moors

    Egypt fights with Moors and Ethiopia,
    Ethiopia fights with Egypt and Oman/Kilwa
    Oman/Kilwa fights Ethiopia and Boers
    South Africa fights Congo and Oman/Kilwa
    Congo fights South Africa
    Mali fights Moors
    Moors fight Mali and Egypt

    Sounds good to me.
     
  17. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    And to think, RFC only had 4 native African civilizations!

    Question: Are the Moors their own civ right now, or a scripted respawn of Carthage?
     
  18. Wondering Kid

    Wondering Kid Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    Just good? It pretty much Africa awesome and an active war zone. As it should be.

    Only thing I'd really like to bring into consideration (again) is that Congo AI sucks at developing their nation and at city settlement. They should be tweaked in some way so that they are a competent African Civ that could actually do something besides being vassaled. Considering that so far we only have those guys vying for Africa, it is quite sad.

    Also, why not implement a mechanic that represents "the Scramble for Africa" in the 1700AD version? This way we'll see Africa fully come into play, as the French will be trying to move into the Maghreb while the British attempt to settle Sudan and uganda while staving of Boer and Prussian attempts to get a foothold in south Africa and Botswana. :D
     
  19. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,321
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    That seems pretty interesting to me. After that, we would only need Polynesia, maybe another India civ like the Maratha, Venice:D and we'd be done with new civs!
     
  20. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The Moors were introduced as a stand-alone civ in v1.10.
     

Share This Page