1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

September Patch Notes Discussion

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Krajzen, Sep 10, 2019.

  1. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,869
    You are not the only one but it seems like only a few so may be down to platform / specific driver / mods
    I think @Boris Gudenuf has similar issues but also some worse
     
  2. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,869
  3. PhilBowles

    PhilBowles Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5,020
    More tweaks that seem geared towards polishing a finished game - heavy focus on improving coastal cities and useful benefits from Great Admirals.

    Most interesting to me are the new map options, and while I don't fully understand what's meant by a filterable map list when creating a game, I'm hopeful that this - or some unannounced tweak to the map UI - is a type of random map option (i.e. you can select multiple map types when creating a game and the game will randomly select one of the options).

    Also, that's a lot of people to squeeze into one lighthouse.

    I doubt I'll play the multiplayer scenario - it looks amusing, but if this is meant to be a 'new way to play' rather than the usual disposable addition to the scenario list, I'm a bit confused that they decided to go all Fallout instead of at least using factions that link to the main game's historical theme, akin to the abortive Total War Arena or Age of Empires Online.
     
    Victoria likes this.
  4. FeiLing

    FeiLing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    I'm sure the AI will just settle that anyway :p
    (or maybe they made AI Kupe cheat and have knowledge of where the map edges are and sail always the other way?)

    It however also looks like those large thin vertical land masses on tilted axis provide Kupe a major advantage when it comes to traverse and explore beyon them quickly.
     
  5. Gedemon

    Gedemon Modder Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,649
    Location:
    France
    Get the latest version of YnAMP
     
    TomTorres likes this.
  6. acluewithout

    acluewithout Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2,602
    Very funny.
     
  7. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,869
    Umm, went the other way and found ice also, then I realised there is 2 poles...duh.
    Turning out to be interesting and different, sort of a small continent map
    Th icy landmasses are more than just thing strips and turn green when going eat and west. Will post another pic later... probably with a tile porn shot also as I found piopiotahi, PP at T35.
     
    Caprikel and acluewithout like this.
  8. Stavangerchj

    Stavangerchj Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the reply. Shortly after starting my first game, the game and my PC crashed. After a reboot and restart, the menu works again.
     
  9. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,869
    Twisted Earth... so one pole in the middle and the other pole at the corners.
    All 4 sides are not navigable but you do get circumnavigation making it to both ends.
    upload_2019-9-11_15-14-32.png

    I also restarted ... unimpressed.
    upload_2019-9-11_15-34-49.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019
  10. MrRadar

    MrRadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    938
    This is more of a Flat-earther's point of view than tilted axis, though.
     
    Victoria likes this.
  11. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,869
    lol, squashed earth
    5 restarts, all in the corner.... no-one puts Kupe in the corner!
    Not exactly a Polynesian startling place
     
  12. Kwami

    Kwami Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,331
    Kupe always seems to have trouble with new map scripts. When Seven Seas was released, he often started on land.

    Maybe QA should make a point of testing Kupe on new maps. :p
     
  13. Rosty K

    Rosty K Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    959
    Gender:
    Male
    Though I had a damaged barbarian archer (in red) stand still and wait for me to finish without shooting back.
     
  14. MrRadar

    MrRadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    938
    Probably not enough ocean space without any sight of land elsewhere.
    Looks like I won't be in a hurry to try out this type of map
     
    Victoria likes this.
  15. King Rad

    King Rad Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    I also continued a Sweden game, and I was far enough along that I had a couple of harbors, with a third under construction. I'll have to see how the new rules affect the old harbors [and the third one currently under construction]. fortunately, unlike @Boris Gudenuf , I had no problem with any of the mods affecting my load of the game. However, except for the barbarian unlimited experience mod, most of the ones I use are just things like the reports mods, which don't affect game play.
     
  16. Snarf054

    Snarf054 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    So far so good. Only played a few turns to check if my mods were going to insta crash but everything seems good. My only gritch is I always play a random civ which means I don't get the option to choose my jersey colors :(
     
  17. Invigilator

    Invigilator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Is anyone getting a constant insta-crash on start up? I did the uninstall/reinstall thing already with no change in results.

    I know my computer is a little older, but everything ran fine before the September patch, so with all the menu issues I'm reading of I'm wondering if this is a me/computer thing or a game thing.
     
  18. Snarf054

    Snarf054 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Try switching from direct x 11 to 12 or vice versa. I had the same issue 2 days ago won't even start on DX11 but works on DX12. (I know there is a fix for this but I'm too lazy to fix it right now)
     
  19. Kwami

    Kwami Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,331
    Unsubscribe from mods. There are no menu issues unless you're running mods.
     
  20. leandrombraz

    leandrombraz Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    870
    It'll be interesting to set the temperature as cold and play as Russia or Canada. Spawn in the center or corner of the map instead of top or bottom.
     
    Meluhhan, Caprikel and Victoria like this.

Share This Page