1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes - After the 29th of March

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Mar 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Unusual! Great People usually can't be attacked by anything. This must be a change in C2C - I don't like it. ;)
     
  2. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28,433
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I've never attempted to code any ai for limited religions except for some regarding when to use a great prophet during a Divine Prophets game. All I did for Limited Religions was debug it and allow it to function in harmony with Divine Prophets. As for tech research determination, that's a side of the code I've never looked at for any purpose. But I suppose if Limited Religions is on and they own a holy city, they should have little value for researching other religious techs (except I suppose to deny other players the ability to get there first but I THINK, if I'm not mistaken, if the first to the tech already has a holy city then it will still go to the NEXT to research it that does NOT have a holy city... not sure on that though.)

    I'm pretty sure I remember killing prophets and other GPs extensively in Vanilla and in C2C but I can't recall that for sure. I've always thought they should be captured instead.
     
  3. Imrahil66

    Imrahil66 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    thx for help. I was able to continue the game when i have returned around 8 turns back :). But i ll try to download SVN gamecoredll.
     
  4. Talin2009

    Talin2009 King

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    614
    No, they are not founded yet, but civ (Nampoina in my savegame) who researches 4 of them in a row (kemetism, judaism, hellenism, asatru) cannot found any of them because it have already founded religion, thus it is pointless research for it. And it sells them right away after research for 1-2 gp.

    So Nampoina wasted around 10 turns on those techs. I think such AI behavior should be addressed too (it is not exactly case that happened before with researching founded techs but still needs addressing).
     
  5. crazyewok

    crazyewok Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    202
    Updated the SVn and still get a crash 3 turns in this time.
     
  6. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Had a weird CTD just happen:crazyeye:

    Everything was good, when i seen the new event i put ingame and it was missing a TXT, so i used the "go to windows" button on my keyboard and the game went to desktop icon , i then proceeded to fix the TXT and when i came back i pressed ON my (civ IV) C2C icon and when it came back it was originally missing the interface, then i re-clicked i to go back down, then re-clicked it to come back to play, BUT this time the interface was there but the units were INVISIBLE, i then re-did it again and this time POOF, CTD.:crazyeye:

    SVN 5219, No VP
    Attached minidump, savedgame (Must have a good PC for this save to work)
     
  7. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Playing a deceiver civ in my current game for a change and it good to be able to look at AI. This save you can see one clear mistake by mexico who has a big capital but not many improvements.. this is totally sub-optimal. Also i've noticed in other games (as well as this one) when there are tiles that are across a 1 tile coast - the ai never puts a worker in a boat to ferry it over so they can put an improvement on these tiles, again a big mistake.

    Also in this save (I can only see 2 AI cities) Dehli has 3 settlers horded inside and guess what asoka is building next? You guessed it, another settler :) Its not really that bad, not as bad as not improving the land, but i'm just curious why she is doing that.

    Woah, I just went to attach by bbai log and its 65.5MB what the hell.. Does it accumulate the data from each game or something? Thats the biggest text file i've ever seen. I can upload it somewhere else.. Do you want it?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It does eventually, if on the same continent as the city or if you build another city near by on the other island/continent. You are right it never uses boats to ferry units across. The same happens for small islands in the cultural area even if they have resources (requires a fort and route) or not.

    BTW on the previous discussions about making the resources on islands available to the trade network without a fort (or city) so that a mainland city can get both the resource and commerce/food/hammers from the plot - I cant see how to do it and I expect it will have the "connecting areas" problem pointed out by Koshling.
     
  9. Koshling

    Koshling Vorlon

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Ai logs compress really well - usually 20 - 50 fold.
     
  10. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ok I uploaded it in the same .rar now, 5.17mb not too bad :)
     
  11. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    @ls612

    Error in last SVN:

    iTerrainWork doesnt work with featurework.
     
  12. Taxman66

    Taxman66 King

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    872
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbia, Maryland USA
    V29

    The description of Bismark in the Leader portion of the 'pedia says he is Charismatic, Politician and Excessive.

    However, he is actually Scientific, Progessist and Megalomaniac


    Not sure if there are other leaders who have different traits.
     
  13. Sgtslick

    Sgtslick Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,688
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Melbourne
    @Taxman66
    Spoiler :
    Code:
    <LeaderHeadInfo>
    	<Type>LEADER_BISMARCK</Type>
    			<Description>TXT_KEY_LEADER_BISMARCK</Description>
    .
    .
    .
    .
    
    <Traits>
    		                <Trait>
    					<TraitType>TRAIT_CHARISMATIC</TraitType>
    					<bTrait>1</bTrait>
    				</Trait>
    				<Trait>
    					<TraitType>TRAIT_POLITICIAN</TraitType>
    					<bTrait>1</bTrait>
    				</Trait>
    				<Trait>
    					<TraitType>TRAIT_EXCESSIVE</TraitType>
    					<bTrait>1</bTrait>
    				</Trait>
    


    He is charismatic, politician, excessive as shown above (taken out of the CIV4LeaderHeadInfos.xml). Whats make you think he is Scientific, Progessist and Megalomaniac?
     
  14. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Not sure what is going on but I can't get rid of the tick marks ie tha BUG option to turn them off is not working. It also looks like I can't turn on "auto end turns with no decisions".

    When I went out of the game and came back in they had changed. So why didn't they change while I was playing?:confused:

    edit @SO I just got your unfortunate spy event. In turn 33!

    1) It should not fire if you don't have contact with any other nation.
    2) Spies are not available until writing so perhaps that tech should be required
    3) pic 1 - option 1 should require cannibalism
    4) pic 2 - option 3 - nothing is showing in hover over but that could just be because I have not met with anyone yet.
    5) pic 3 - option 5 - nothing in hover over. again probably because I have not met anyone yet.

    Choosing option 1 did not do anything.
     
  15. Hydromancerx

    Hydromancerx C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    16,281
    Location:
    California, USA
    Yeah that event should not be triggered until Writing tech.
     
  16. WimpyTheWarrior

    WimpyTheWarrior Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I also had this condition [stuck tick marks] around mid-March, and had the same work around that you experienced; when I quit the game and re-started it the tick marks were gone as I selected.
     
  17. Jugger

    Jugger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    I did some tests related to workers and tile improvements and came up with the following list of possible bugs (I used SVN revision 5218). Please note that since there is no specification of the system I have no idea what is a feature and what is a bug, therefore I'm listing everything that seem inconsistent or counter-intuitive.
    There are inconsistencies in how building certain improvements does or doesn't remove terrain features (Forests, Jungles, etc.) on that tile. Often, early versions of certain improvements do not remove forests therefore it's preferable to build an early version of the improvement and upgrade it through being worked by nearby city. This requires disabling of hiding obsolete worker improvements in BUG menu and even with the option disabled later workers are usually unable to build the old improvements. I've tested which improvements remove which features and the results are in the attached file (sheet Feature compatibility).
    There are inconsistencies in whether or not certain improvements are buildable on certain combinations of terrain types, features, etc. I've thoroughly tested this as well and the results for Workshop, Cottage and Farm are also in the attached file (on their respective sheets). Other improvements seemed fine, or the inconsistencies were minor and are mentioned later in this post.
    The new workers - Llama/Mammoth/Camel Workers cannot build Tree Nurseries unlike the other workers of that era (regular Worker or Mule/Elephant/Buffalo Workers). Industrial Era Workers are again able to build Tree Nurseries.
    The "improved" Forts (the ones providing +75% and +100% defense bonus) are only buildable on the terrain types form the original game, while Forts are buildable on every terrain type.
    Not sure if the Tree Nursery improvement, after growing into Young Forest and later into Plant Forest, should also place a forest feature on the tile as does the late game Plant Forest worker action (available when terraforming/reforestation option is enabled), but it doesn't.
    Tree Nurseries cannot be built on Marsh, even though it's possible to plant all types of features on this terrain type (Forest, Savanna, Bamboo in late game with the terraforming/reforestation option enabled). On Permafrost, it's possible to build Tree Nurseries, but it's impossible to plant any features.
    With the Usable Mountains option enabled, when mousing over a Mountains tile, the tooltip doesn't display its terrain type or features on it (most likely because in unmodded Civ4 mountains are never usable). It's often impossible to tell what improvements will be be buildable on Mountain tiles, because some are only available on certain terrain types. It would be great if this info was displayed in the tooltips or at least if Mountains ignored terrain types altogether (they have the same yields for all terrain types anyway).
    The New Forest terrain feature (not sure if it's currently supported by any map generators) cannot be removed except by building certain few improvements on that tile. It also doesn't allow building of any Lumbermill-type improvements.
    Cacti terrain features (again, not sure if it's currently supported by any map generators) cannot be removed at all, only by planting another feature over it.
    Windtrap improvement seems like a late game version of the Windmill improvement, but cannot be build on Mountains even though Windmill can.
    It's possible to build Lumberjack and "Gather Wood" (the first tier of the improvement) on Jungles, but it's impossible to build Lumbermills.
    Jungle tile feature seem to block building of many different types of improvements on certain terrain types (see the attached file for more details), it also appears that you cannot build the Ancient Relics special improvement on Jungle tile. This is quite strange since it can be removed by chopping it down and the improvements can be build there afterwards. Similarly for Swamps and Peat Bogs.
    Rapa-Nui Workers' pedia description states that they should be able to build special Moai improvement, but they cannot. No such improvement seem to exist either. They can also build Highway and Jumplane, but cannot build Railroad, Electric Railroad and Maglev (these seem inferior to Jumplane).
    Different worker units are supposed to have different work rates (and they appear to), but these work rates don't seem to be displayed anywhere. This means it's impossible to tell how much of a work speed upgrade are you getting when upgrading workers without extensive testing.
    For some reason the Buffalo and Elephant Workers cannot Burn/Remove Bamboo unlike Work Mule and Dog Worker (same tier workers). They all share other worker actions.
    Entranced Workers (the cheap worker units trainable with Voodoo as state religion) are not tagged as Worker type unit and while they are able to earn experience, they are unable to purchase any promotions, since they have none available.
    When attaching a Noble (and possibly Great General) to a unit, the experience points from the Noble are also shared with worker units on the same tile.

    P.S. It's totally possible that I made a mistake somewhere in my tests. All this was tested through a map made through the World Builder so it wasn't very effective and quite prone to errors. So don't take my word for any of this and check it for yourself if possible. Also if I listed thing that are not bugs, then I'm sorry, I didn't know what was intended and what wasn't. And lastly, I didn't go through all bug report posts so sorry if I double posted any or all of these.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Stormwind

    Stormwind King

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    697
  19. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,676
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    @DH

    Railroad_Slave TXT missing

    Also after the LAST SVN stuff (dont know which one) the ugly "rubber" green forest stuff is back)


    Also last SVN fixed the interface and invisible units thx (Nope still happens) newer minidump only attached)

    Plus last SVN i noted that worker's have new promo's nice!

    And all i can say about the Slavery stuff now in:eek:;) and Zoroastrianism info, really nice catch on that!!
     
  20. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,547
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    I think you may have a choice disappearing units and terrains or plastic trees:mischief:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page