1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Workers of the World!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Unit Graphics' started by Plotinus, May 30, 2007.

  1. WildWeazel

    WildWeazel Yeah, well... Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    6,895
    Location:
    %CIV3%\Conquests\Scenarios\
    Wow, how did I not look at this thread until now? These are all excellent and much-needed units. Thank you Plotinus! :thumbsup:
     
  2. wolf_brother

    wolf_brother King

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Location:
    UTC−6
    wow.. just wow, its all so amazing... I definitely plan to use a lot of these hot babies in my mod.

    Hey, thats not a bad idea. How hard would it be to make some socialist/soviet workers?

    Spoiler :




     
  3. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,815
    Location:
    Somerset
    I'm actually trying to make one, but I can't find a sickle prop anywhere!
     
  4. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    Do like you done with the katana and the Ethiopians- get a dagger/sword, break it up, and reposition it into a sickly shape?
     
  5. Exoticpollution

    Exoticpollution Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    What do you intend to use a sickle for? The workers don't reap crops of course. I assume it is for clearing jungle? That seems to be the most similar action.

    Incidentally the Angolan socialists put a machete on their flag a replacement for the sickle as an agrarian symbol.
     
  6. Sword_Of_Geddon

    Sword_Of_Geddon Mysterious Jungle Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13,593
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New England, USA
    I saw a commerical where they had the florida communist party and their symbol was a sickle and a palm tree. It was for fun of coarse, not a real communist party symbol or group, just a stupid commericial. But it was funny.
     
  7. wolf_brother

    wolf_brother King

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    801
    Location:
    UTC−6
    Does anyone know if you can make the animation and icons change for units based upon culture, the same way you can do for buildings?

    We all know that you can for units by era, just by looking at settlers, workers, leaders and armies in the vanilla game and by this tutorial.

    But is it possible to change this type of thing by culture? So that the "Aztec Worker" would be used by the American cultural group, the "Celtic Worker" would be used the European cultural group, and the "Indian Worker" would be used by the Middle Eastern cultural group?

    That would make these units a lot easier and better to use in game, imho.
     
  8. Quinzy

    Quinzy Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5,402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Éire
    Irrigate animation?
     
  9. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,815
    Location:
    Somerset
    I'm going to use a sickle for the Jungle, and also as part of his costume.

    [wolf brother] You can do better than that - you can have a different worker for every civ if you want. In the Units page of the Rules editor you can specify which civs are able to build a unit. So you could, for example, add in the Aztec Worker and make it available only to the Mesoamerican civs. Then you could add in the Roman Worker and make that available only to the Mediterranean civs. And so on. If you want all the various workers to be called simply "worker", so they really differ only in their graphics, you will have to add spaces to the names to differentiate them - "worker", "worker ", "worker ", and so on.
     
  10. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    If you do that then you end up with gaps in between the name of your unit and the next word. So you could follow this tutorial if that started to bother you
     
  11. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    I just saw the title of that thread and never read it, I assumed it was about the spaces. Cool, thanks kai! :cool:
     
  12. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    You can also use Gramphos copy tool to just makes as many copies of the workers as you have same, and keep the same name

    IT may be confusing, but it works.

    In my mod, I'm adding a "code" in the name

    so US_01S # Worker

    Is the worker for the American save, first era.
     
  13. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    Does the "US_01S #" show up as part of the name?
     
  14. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    Yes. With more than 3000 units, I decided it was the best way to keep it managable
     
  15. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    3000 units? Your insane, do you like eat, or sleap?
     
  16. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I do.

    But I also take years to make my mods
     
  17. Stormrage

    Stormrage Ever Present Taskmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    10,573
    Location:
    behind the scenes
    Eat? Sleep? Kai, you have your basic Living Dead. And then you have the Civing Dead ;)
     
  18. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,085
    Location:
    The North
    Oh, ok then, anyways I think I am going to try and use every single one of these units!
     
  19. Plotinus

    Plotinus Philosopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    16,815
    Location:
    Somerset
    You forget that Steph is French, and therefore capable of doing pretty much anything whilst at the same time enjoying a five-course meal.
     
  20. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I make my 3,000 + units mod, work on SSS, paint my figurines, work on my software at the office, suf internet, take care of my familly..

    Why do you think it says "multi many tasks man" under my name?
     

Share This Page