1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

CiVUP - CiV Unofficial Patch

Discussion in 'Communitas Expansion Pack' started by Thalassicus, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, there's also how we can just move over tiles to see what's there. It's not just a problem with subs though... reveals barbarian encampments.
     
  2. bacongravy

    bacongravy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    California
    Hi Thal, I really appreciate the work you've done to create the Unofficial Patch and maintain Attila's Mods and Copesetic UI Tweaks. I was a little disappointed when they got gobbled up by Thal's Balance Mods, since I liked using them with vanilla CiV as well as other balance-style mods. To keep them alive outside of your mod I've refactored the changes from those mods into a collection of mini-mods and then grouped them into a collection called SmoothPack. By separating out the changes it makes it easier to disable individual features and avoid conflicts between mods.

    Each mini-mod has its own modinfo file in SmoothPack, renamed modinfo-disabled to avoid confusing the CiV mod browser. You are welcome to take any or all of the mods an put them in Thal's Balance Mods if you so desire.

    Other than moving stuff around there is very little difference between the old mods and the Smooth mods. However, the SmoothCityPlotWorkedTiles InGameUIAddin is my own creation, based on the original work by Cope.
     
  3. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds great, I'll take a look! :)

    The reason I merged Attila's mod, Cope's, and the unofficial patch is compatibility.

    For example, in the unofficial patch I fixed the Krepost bug by creating a new building attribute that only affects the local city. Doing this required altering CityBannerManager.lua and InfoTooltipInclude.lua (plus several other files). These are part of Cope's mod and my autotips mod (respectively). Since each file interacts with files in other mods, to fix bugs like this example, it's not possible to have just one of the two files active. :undecide:

    This only applies to bug-fixes in the unofficial patch. It's still easy to use the unofficial patch with vanilla civ and a different balance mod, as described in the first post of this thread:

    I actually could offer the mods separately if Firaxis finished the "associations" tab of ModBuddy. That's where dependencies between mods could be defined... but they never implemented it.
     
  4. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    Thal - Valkrionn just uploaded a new GP UI modcomp that looks fantastic! Haven't tried it yet, but he said anyone can use it for their mods.:)
     
  5. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Yep, I saw a preview of that a few weeks ago. It's basically the same format as what's already on the top bar so I don't think there's a need to change over. :)
     
  6. Keipher

    Keipher Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Forgive me if I overlooked something, but is there somewhere I could download this without needing to use the mod browser? My laptop is too old to install Civ V, and I don't have Internet at my flat. :(
     
  7. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    Sure! You can go to the first post Balanced - Combined (stickied at the top of this forum) and press the big blue B, which will take you here for a manual download. Unzip it and drop in the folder here: My Documents\My Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 5\MODS.
     
  8. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll add a download link at the top of this thread, thank you for asking Keipher.
     
  9. Iceco

    Iceco Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Some ideas for the notifications.
    Since it's about the interface, I guess I should suggest it here:
    • Is it possible to get rid of some of the allied :c5citystate: cross-DoWs?
      For example when Rome declares war on China, you get a whole series of 'Almaty declared on...' a few times, 'Venice declared on...' a few times and so on.
      Would it be possible to group all those notifications as "Rome and allies Almaty and Venice declared war on China and allies Brussels, Warsaw and Cape Town." or else have a few "Almaty assists Rome in battle".
      Same goes for when a new :c5citystate: joins an existing war. Those announcements could be bundled too.
    • Is it possible to make the 'end of trade agreement' announcements clickable (like the :c5citystate: messages) and bring you to that leader's trade screen? That would be faster than having to open the diplomacy window and hunting for the right leader all the time. Or would that prevent you from clicking "next turn" like the :c5citystate: messages currently do?
      On the topic of combining notifications, these could be combined too, I guess.
    • For this I have the least hope it will work, but would it be possible to have a third 'magnitude' of notifications? Currently you have the big buttons for picking a new tech or production (not for policy though?) and then smaller buttons for the other notifications. Wouldn't it be useful to introduce a tier of even smaller notifications, so you can allow, for example, notifications for every :c5citizen: increase or border growth?
     
  10. Mentos

    Mentos Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    377
    I'd like to see the Golden Age progression as turn based info instead of large meaningless numbers. The same way like Research, Policy, and Great Persons are shown on the top bar.
     
  11. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    @Iceco
    Most notifications are created from the c++ side of things we don't have access to, sadly. There's not really much I can do about them other than changing the text.

    @Mentos
    I kept golden age progression like vanilla because happiness is very volatile. Research, culture, and specialists tend to be rather steady. If we've got scientists working slots in a city, we're generally going to keep them working until the great person is complete, so the "turns until" is usually accurate. Culture and science similarly change slowly, as population grows or buildings are completed. The turns until a golden age can increase tenfold whenever we trade away a luxury, so I'm not sure it'd be very helpful.

    I thought about doing a "running average" for golden age estimates... so it takes like, say the past 10 turns of GA estimates and uses that to show a number. A lot like the estimated time until completion for downloads off the net. The reason I haven't done something like that is it's somewhat difficult to code, requiring me to save things into the savegame file.
     
  12. sav

    sav Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    596
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    I played your mod for the first time tonight, and found the game a lot easier than just with CiVUP. Is it meant to be? Like, by the medieval age I was easily getting over 70 gold a turn, buildings cost about 350 gold each to buy, and my happiness was in the 20s, had a massive military and no worries.

    Contrast that to just using CivUP, where it fluctuated as my fortunes did, seemed a lot harder.
     
  13. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    It depends on what difficulty setting you play on. Various factors of the AI were buffed in the WWGD part of the full mod.
     
  14. SlightlyMad

    SlightlyMad Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    I've noticed that gold income seems about the same in early-game, because costs have been reduced but the TP change balances that, but once the TPs are 2-gold by mid-game, expenses stay low.
     
  15. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, TPs used to be 3g and are now 2g, so their income was reduced 1/3. Expenses were reduced slightly to match. It's difficult to reduce river gold though since it's already at 1, which is why I experimented with moving it to a building in the previous beta.
     
  16. SlightlyMad

    SlightlyMad Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Yeah, I guess it's more a problem with the game's core. The increased gold I'm seeing may be coming from the fact that big cities are more viable now, so I'm growing larger overall populations. I think the problem may be that expenses are pretty much static per building, but population directly increases income by working tiles with gold output, as well as increasing trade route income.

    I still wouldn't be opposed to increasing building and unit maintenance further.
     
  17. Seek

    Seek Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3,410
    I wouldn't be opposed to a small increase to lategame maintenance either. There is certainly more gold in TBC - Coastal tiles, Temple, etc. I think the early game is pretty well balanced, but unless I stay really small I always end up with a *lot* of GPT.
     
  18. Txurce

    Txurce Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,263
    Location:
    Venice, California
    I've noticed that while the Unofficial Patch seems to include Alpaca & Sneaks' Custom Notifications, it doesn't include the tool that displays new culturally-acquired tiles. Could this be added, and if not is there a compatibility issue with the original CN mod available on one of Alpaca's threads?
     
  19. magnus333

    magnus333 Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    In the notes I see "The user interface now correctly shows bonuses and penalties when attacking a city. Previously, only the Great General bonus was shown, even though others had effect. (Partially fixed in patch 1.0.1.135)"
    Which bonuses are these? I thought these were contained in EnemyUnitPanel.lua (which is not included in the latest Core).

    Also "Fixed an issue where the city growth progress meter (internal city view) always showed as full." was stealth fixed in .221 the other day.
     
  20. Thalassicus

    Thalassicus Bytes and Nibblers

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,057
    Location:
    Texas
    Firaxis removed the city bonuses/penalties thing.
     

Share This Page