1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Tech Tree Playtesting + Feedback

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Do you mean Axemen? Or Light Swordsmen?
     
  2. Bernd-das-Brot

    Bernd-das-Brot Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Axemen! I had some in my egypt game. When the Romans attacked I could not build them anymore.

    Orchard can be build on any flat land. Intended?

    Guilds mentions +production for building the removed grocer.
     
  3. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    You could build Axemen at some point? That's not supposed to be possible.

    The Orchard stuff is not intended, there was a bug like that before, I thought I had removed it.
     
  4. FinalLegendZero

    FinalLegendZero Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    East Asian civs (China, Japan, etc.) don't have a unit model for Light Swordsmen, so they appear as red domes on the map.
     
  5. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Update: fixed the Python exception in the city screen, fixed Asian Light Swordsman art.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    To follow up on the Axeman thing, do you have a save where you can build them?
     
  7. Bernd-das-Brot

    Bernd-das-Brot Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I investigated the Axemen thing and know now that I could not build Axemen, but could upgrade militia to Axemen with Alloys and copper available. If you discover alloys axemen are shown as available unit by the way. Hope that helps. :)
     
  8. Bernd-das-Brot

    Bernd-das-Brot Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Another problem:

    AI uses ancient Archers as main city defenders in medieval/early renaissance times. Makes them way to easy to conquer.
     
  9. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Ah, that makes sense. Will be easy to fix.

    Will investigate.
     
  10. Bernd-das-Brot

    Bernd-das-Brot Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Problem may be that Archers are available until Longbows are discovered. So the AI builds Archers as city defenders even if crossbows are available. Straightforward upgrade path archer only to crossbow and skirmisher only to longbow could help the AI as the rolls of archers (defensive) and skirmishers (offensive) are totally different.


    The civipedia entry of marine reserve is bugged.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Yeah, although the AI should be aware that Crossbowmen supersede Archers in the city defense role. But if I can't get the AI to prefer them I'll instead force their obsoletion.
     
  12. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Update:
    - Militia cannot upgrade to Axemen anymore
    - Orchards can only be built on associated resources
     
  13. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    There're some bugs in current version.

    First, Roman UHV3: first to discover Theology, Machinery and Civil Service, but in Victory Condition in game, also need Architecture and Politics.
    Second, in 1700ad scenerio, Turkey and Prussia have no initial techs, don't know if some civs else also have no initial techs.

    Also, by the way, I suggest to nerf Turkey in both 600ad and 1700ad, maybe slow down research speed, or decrease initial techs in 1700ad. Too overpowered Turkey in v1.14, somentimes I meet Turkey with machine guns and oil wells when I use America in 1830.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2016
  14. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    Also this is a Roman save at the start, Epic, Emperor. Obviously AIs research are too fast.

    Civ4ScreenShot0141.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Doc_Strangelove

    Doc_Strangelove Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Great work, Leoreth. I can really see this changing the direction the mod is going in a very exciting way.
    I'll give it a full play-through before I can really give any meaningful comment on this, but so far, this is looking amazing.
     
  16. mrrandomplayer

    mrrandomplayer Hopeless Situation Warrior

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,319
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The land of prequel memes
    Babylon is kinda good right now, me from two years ago would be green with envy.

    But in all seriousness the research pace in the beginning of the game is too fast while the research at the end of the game is too slow still. America still hasn't gotten film by the end of the game, for example, and I don't complete the tech tree until just a few turns before the end, despite getting massive tech cost reductions from a small empire size and a bonkers amount of wonders.

    Also, some OMG screenshots.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    Update: fixed Prussian and Turkish starting techs for the 1700 AD scenario.
     
  18. black213

    black213 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    I'm unable to fetch this; the drop-down menu button next to branch is greyed out.
     
  19. jcoto

    jcoto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Hi! I played two games, these are my observations:

    1. Started with Babylon, you can't get the UHV for researching first the techs. Writing is duplicated, and I know I researched all of them first but I still didn't get the UHV.

    2. I played as Russia. Railroad is way too far now to get it before 1920. Research is very slow, while some other civs go way too fast. I think someone built the Eiffel Tower (requires railroad) like 150 years before me.
     
  20. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    987
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    The Great Lighthouse also free lighthouses to inland cities.

    Also the code of Turkish and Prussia initial techs has some mistakes. I've test it and find this is the correct code.

    iCivRussia : Techs(column=11, exceptions=[iCivilLiberties]),
    iCivPoland : Techs([iConstitution], column=11),
    iCivPortugal : Techs([iReplaceableParts], column=11),
    iCivMughals : Techs(column=11, exceptions=[iScientificMethod, iCivilLiberties]),
    iCivTurkey : Techs(column=11, exceptions=[iScientificMethod, iCivilLiberties, iCorporation]),
    iCivThailand : Techs([iUrbanPlanning, iHorticulture], column=10),
    iCivCongo : Techs([iCartography, iJudiciary], column=8),
    iCivNetherlands:Techs([iReplaceableParts, iHydraulics, iPhysics, iConstitution], column=11),
    iCivGermany : Techs([iReplaceableParts, iPhysics, iGeology, iMeasurement], column=11),
    }]
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page