1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New Version - June 2nd (6-2)

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by Gazebo, Jun 2, 2019.

  1. CppMaster

    CppMaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Poland
    Yep. Anyone could also create a difficulty between King and Emperor to have sth in between. It'd be just an interpolation between those two.
     
  2. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,373
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Well, now I understand. The biggest difference is the starting worker, so if the player manages to capture one from a neighbor, that's removing the AI advantage and turning it back to a manageable difficulty again.
     
  3. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,802
    So giving "half a worker"? (Like a worker with prisoner of war promotion, so that it is less efficient during the first 50 turns)
     
    vyyt, CppMaster and Kim Dong Un like this.
  4. CppMaster

    CppMaster Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Poland
    Good idea, but I guess it's not doable by just changing .xml
    Instead you can have a difficulty with King settings, but with additional worker for AI. Or Emperor settings without the worker.
    There are plenty of ways to interpolate between difficulties.
     
  5. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,974
    I will agree that Emperor has gotten a lot harder lately, which I mainly attest to AI tactical improvements. The AI on Emperor just wars so much better than it used to.

    Ultimately, should it get a nerf? I'm of mixed minds on the subject, I think it would be worth considering the removal of the extra worker just because that's a bit of a "crutch"...the AI has to get bonuses, but a magical free unit at the beginning is a bit harder to swallow then just "more bonuses"...and as others have noted it creates the weird imbalance where if a player wars the AI early they actually get an advantage they wouldn't on King. But if a small bump on other stats was needed to compensate I would not object.
     
    Tantro, vyyt and tu_79 like this.
  6. Txurce

    Txurce Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,255
    Location:
    Venice, California
    I' agree. I've always felt the goal should be to get rid of AI advantages where possible. That the worker can be stolen pretty easily is also a bit problematic.

    I am now playing Immortal without the extra worker. It's a great balance.
     
    vyyt and tu_79 like this.
  7. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Changing the difficulties by removing the AI bonuses means you aren’t actually playing on said difficulty. Just saying.

    G
     
    Skidizzle and burleigh like this.
  8. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,373
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Besides, having different starts changes the dynamics (forced vs not forced to steal that early worker is an example). It's like playing a different scenario.


    Hmmm. Now that'd be interesting. For instance, difficulty level just controlling how much yields everyone gets. Then, in the settings, activate a package of challenges (AI starts with a worker, another for AI with extra explorer but ruins disabled, another with an extra settler) and those masochistic players could activate more than one challenge at once.
     
    JamesNinelives and Kim Dong Un like this.
  9. Txurce

    Txurce Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,255
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Yes. And you can do it inside VP, or with the Really Advanced Setup mod.
     
  10. Borussia

    Borussia Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    What about no specialists in puppets?
    My puppet cities use them.
    Wasn't that changed in 5-19?

    Also sometimes the city uses laborers instead of working good tiles.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    If free, they can.

    G
     
  12. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,974
    It would be if we officially changed the bonus at that difficulty level ;)
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  13. Txurce

    Txurce Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,255
    Location:
    Venice, California
    Otherwise it's just the unofficial, improved version.
     
  14. John.B.C

    John.B.C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    I picked the tradition branch and no matter how much I try to assing my first engineer, he won't be assigned when I try to assign him. Is this a bug? The only thing that changes is the tick for manual specialist control or not... My first thought was the improved city view mod, and that it might be causing it - has this mod experienced any updates these past 4 months?
     
  15. Stalker0

    Stalker0 Baller Magnus

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4,974
    If city is unhappy, than you cannot assign specialists. That is probably the culprit.
     
    vyyt likes this.
  16. John.B.C

    John.B.C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    My happiness is 100% and my capital has 5 happy people and 5 unhappy people? So this is the problem?
     
  17. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Little Rock
    Yes.
     
    JamesNinelives likes this.
  18. John.B.C

    John.B.C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    Ah good to know, thanks.
     
  19. John.B.C

    John.B.C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    234
    Gender:
    Male
    When i capture an enemy worker and disband it, it says that i should recive 20 gold, but I don't. Is this a bug or intended?
     
  20. amateurgamer88

    amateurgamer88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2018
    Messages:
    811
    Gender:
    Male
    Are you in friendly territory?
     
    Skidizzle, JamesNinelives and vyyt like this.

Share This Page