1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

SCENARIO: Age of Imperialism; 1895-1924, Deluxe Version

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by El Justo, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. smirnoff

    smirnoff Crusader

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Canada
    Your my MAN ,Meteor Man :)

    and also curious how you did it lol
     
  2. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    It was very easy actually. Lure the Navy out of their hiding places, wait a turn, then pounce out of the shadows of the ocean: out of Britain's LOS. And do this simultaneously all around the world right after declaring war.

    The result: one naked empire.
     
  3. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,917
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    Hear! Hear!

    I've noticed that occasionally the British load up a large part of their fleet in one city and don't bother moving it for a very long time. Then even tend to refrain from moving long enough for you to blockade them.
     
  4. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    "Sitting ducks in the harbor". If you had planes. Or "dead in the harbor" if you capture the city. :D
     
  5. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,917
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    A major downside to capturing the city is that the defenders are at full health.
     
  6. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Not necessarily, you could have whacked the British armies in the field, and they could have retreated to the city. Then they would have lower HP's.
     
  7. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,917
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    Not if they don't leave the city to engage my forces, as is usually the case for me.
     
  8. smirnoff

    smirnoff Crusader

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Location:
    Canada
    what a convo now , all this just because i said of something lol
    dont go in duel guys :)
     
  9. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    I know :). This is an age old debate.
    Just bring up some arty for heaven's sake!
     
  10. ChaosArbiter

    ChaosArbiter King

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    903
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Not necessarily - I've had times (in my Germany game) when bombarding with Ships would target the vessels in Gibraltar, but the Rail Guns would damage the defending infantry units first.
     
  11. Tank_Guy#3

    Tank_Guy#3 Lion of Lehistan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    5,917
    Location:
    Vivat Sobieski!
    I was invading the land for the first time. I only put artillery on the ground after I have a beachhead that is relatively secure. I don't even want to go in to how I define relatively secure, far too many factors involved.

    Again, I'm not using artillery as I've not even landed troops yet (my marines are on transports waiting to land).
     
  12. Nexxo

    Nexxo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    To El Justo

    I notice in first page of this thread that goverment cannot be changed,how did you do that? I didnt search whole thread so i dont know if someone ask you that allready,but i will be greatfull if you answer me.

    And i have to say great scenario.

    I played as Austria and great,but i have one sugestion.
    Why don't you give austria one more costal city like Split or Dubrovnik.
    Anyway awesome scenario.
     
  13. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    I can answer that. :)

    The governments in the game are available with certain techs. (Let's say Monarchy is available with the tech "Divine Right") These certain techs (Divine Right) are given only to those civilizations that the modder wants to use the government ("Divine Right" is given only to England, so only England can use the government Monarchy). The tech (in this case, "Divine Right"), is also no-era, and non-tradeable.

    In this way, only civs that start with the government tech (Divine Right) can use the government (Monarchy, which requires Divine Right), and no civ can gain that government tech later in the game.
     
  14. Nexxo

    Nexxo Prince

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    WOW that was fast, thx that solve my problem;)
     
  15. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Great, glad I was able to help.
     
  16. Klyden

    Klyden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,276
    I believe the mod is at the global allowed limit for cities. The other issue is that A/H was pretty much a land power first when it came to money and had limited production available for a navy. Giving them a second port to start with makes it much easier for a A/H player to break out of a blockade situation and also eases the choices they have to make when it comes to navy vs army. A/H currently constructed has a good "feel" to it when it comes to naval capabilities and production and actually can probably produce more than they should, depending on how a player wants to assign production tiles between the cities.
     
  17. Communisto

    Communisto Condottiere

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,461
    Location:
    The Frozen North
    how do I make it so the enemy moves aren't shown? Even though the box is unchecked i still have to watch them all.
     
  18. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,584
    Location:
    Albuquerque
    Uncheck the "Animate enemy moves" box. if this one is checked, it doesn't matter if the "show enemy moves" box is unchecked.
     
  19. Babylon746

    Babylon746 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Started a game as Austria-Hungary, and I can confirm that a second coastal city would make it far too easy. It's easy enough as it is, having conquered Egypt, Sudan, Constantinople and Antalya before weathering off a huge French attack...

    However, the Austrians can't build the Torpedo Bombers. They're not checked as buildable in the editor. No major bug, but one that could annoy Austrians in the late run, so I thought I'd mention it.
     
  20. El Justo

    El Justo Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    12,945
    Location:
    Southern NJ

Share This Page