1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v37 plus (SVN) - After the 24th of December 2016

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. The Boss

    The Boss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Italy
    All correct, folder is correct, into Mods of Beyond the sword, it is not nested and I have BTS 3.19
    What else?
    I re-installed it after a crash of HD into a Toshiba external HD 2 GB
    Some difficult?
     
  2. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,628
    Location:
    Poland
    2 GB? did you meant 2 TB?
    What Windows you have?
    Do you use English language?
    Make sure you see something like Mods/Caveman2Cosmos/Assets (there would be other folders and files in Caveman2Cosmos folder too)

    You can find logs in C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2018
  3. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,205
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Clear the cache folder found in C:\Users\"Username"\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword. Delete all contents of the cache folder. Then restart game.
     
  4. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm still struggling to understand something here. I just looked and we HAVE a tag that allows us to define any wonder type building as being one that does count, when built, against the limit of how many of that building can be built (globally or by player or whatever) BUT does NOT count towards the local city wonder limit. What other benefits then cause us to want to define a secondary effect building and spreading that data all over the map to so many cities? Isn't the motive for adding this 'effect' building generated from a 'psuedo wonder' simply to ensure that the 'pseudo wonder' can't be built elsewhere while dodging the local city limit on national and world wonders? When we can do this with a simple bool, why are we spreading these effect buildings everywhere (at least when they do nothing directly?)

    I DID see one application and that was you had made some buildings require those effect buildings, but can't we simply instead require that the 'effect' generating wonder building be somewhere in the nation instead?(iNumBuildingNeeded)

    Are you using the effect buildings to say some OTHER buildings cannot be built in the same city as this effect? (not just the 'pseudo-wonder' that's generating the effect buildings?)

    I'm honestly asking what am I missing here. I know you've probably thought this through very thoroughly and I'm just wondering how it works and I'm getting a little confused.
     
  5. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    latest SVN, brand new copy, End of turn LOOP?>?>?>?>? cant proceed .. .
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'll take a look as soon as possible.
     
  7. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Fixed this issue. Go figure a while back I broke something trying to fix something else. That's pretty much how it goes.
     
    tmv likes this.
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Fixed on the current SVN.
     
  9. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    yeppers that worked, "FanDamTastic" work as usual, thx. . .SO
     
  10. The Boss

    The Boss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Italy
    To JosEPh_II:
    "Clear the cache folder found in C:\Users\"Username"\AppData\Local\My Games\Beyond the Sword. Delete all contents of the cache folder. Then restart game. "

    Tried, doesn't work...

    To raxo2222:
    "2 GB? did you meant 2 TB?
    What Windows you have?
    Do you use English language?
    Make sure you see something like Mods/Caveman2Cosmos/Assets (there would be other folders and files in Caveman2Cosmos folder too)

    You can find logs in C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs"

    My fault, 2 TB is correct
    I use windows10
    I use English Language
    I can see Mods/Cavman2Cosmos/Assets

    In Logs (at the end) (Python2Err2) I find:
    load_module InputUtil
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugUtil - extending BugEventManager.preGameStart instead CvAppInterface
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'PreGameStart'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'BeginActivePlayerTurn'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'SwitchHotSeatPlayer'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'LanguageChanged'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'ResolutionChanged'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'PythonReloaded'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'unitUpgraded'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'unitCaptured'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'combatWithdrawal'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'combatRetreat'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'combatLogCollateral'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'combatLogFlanking'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'playerRevolution'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugEventManager - adding event 'addTeam'
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugInit - init() called
    09:51:19 DEBUG: BugInit - game not fully initialized
    PY:OnInit

    What is that? Why game not fully initialized?
    In Logs\xml all loading modules area SUCCEEDED
     
  11. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,628
    Location:
    Poland
    Is your pythonerr log empty? pythonerr2 is useless for debugging.

    Since you are using windows 10 did you tried game in administrator mode?
     
  12. The Boss

    The Boss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Italy
    In C:\Users\<USERNAME>\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Logs" I only find Pythonerr2, not Pythonerr, and yes, i'm in administrator mode
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    latest SVN, have this two error messages???
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,011
    Location:
    Norway
    @Praetyre: probably an issue from rev. 9831.

    Each Great person needs an art def for the picture in the splash screen:

    e.g. <UniqueName>TXT_KEY_GREAT_PERSON_ADOLPHE_SAX</UniqueName>
    must have:
    Code:
            <InterfaceArtInfo>
                <Type>ART_DEF_GREAT_PERSON_ADOLPHE_SAX</Type>
                <Path>Art/interface/great_people/adolphe_sax.dds</Path>
            </InterfaceArtInfo>
    and the <UniqueName> entry must be a TXT_KEY_ entry if you want the name and pedia to display correctly in the splash screen.

    The path can perhaps be empty like so:
    <Type>ART_DEF_GREAT_PERSON_ADOLPHE_SAX</Type>
    <Path/>

    Edit: this is probably the great person that was born when SO got the error:
    <UniqueName>Albert Speer</UniqueName>

    EditEdit: I don't have a deeper understanding of how it works than what I said above, so if you want to know more you must ask Sparth, I think he designed it as it is today...

    EditEditEdit: This must be fixed before we release a new version of C2C, alternatively removed temporarily.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  15. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,309
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Confirmed. Thank you. I feared SM was broken with this bug, because this problem was always going to hit you when playing a game - and weakening your strongest units to the point of irrelevance before long.
     
  16. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I couldn't leave that broken. Thank YOU for finding the bug. I recently made this bug in the process of fixing another one. Any code change always runs the risk of an oversight and I don't really blame myself for not realizing I was creating this issue given the degree of complexity it was wrapped up in.
     
    tmv likes this.
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm sure it's as simple as having to provide an art file, dds3 format, same size as one of the originals. Which means ya gotta unpack the fpk that has an example and put together an image of the same dimensions and map to the file path you want it to be in. And include the art in a temporary art file with that file path stemming from Assets.
     
  18. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    got another error message"
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,011
    Location:
    Norway
    It's not simple when we are speaking about around 100 new great persons who doesn't have an ART_DEF nor a TXT_KEY_X nor a TXT_KEY_X_PEDIA.; and that's why I suggested that he could add ART_DEF for the new great persons with an empty path <Path><\Path> as a quick fix (May not even work... I don't think the lack of TXT_KEY throws off an error, so we could have great persons without text in splash for v38, no biggie), or simply remove all the new great persons until after v38.
    Yeah, there are loads of these problems lurking from the changes in rev. 9831.
    Something like 100 great person names that throw off errors were added in that rev.

    @Praetyre:
    Same problem, different great person.
    This time it was:
    <UniqueName>Ludwig von Mises</UniqueName>
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  20. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    yeah, i say remove them that were added for now, whom ever did it that is . . . .
     
    Toffer90 likes this.

Share This Page