1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v39 plus (SVN) - After the 20th of July 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    Use English language as translations are EXTREMELY incomplete.

    Also you shouldn't crash at all - this means you have actual crash bug.
     
  2. Volgadar

    Volgadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow
    I'm using english. But the game itself is fully and officially localizated. Only citynames and some interface parts are russian.
     
  3. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    Get English version then.
     
  4. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Thanks for the comprehensive bug report!
     
  5. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    It sounds like the fonts are the problem, not the translations. Not sure how the base game handles this, however we can provide option to use default fonts and I guess it might solve this problem for non-English versions of the game? Of course there wouldn't be translations, but at least the UI wouldn't be borked.
     
  6. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    I can't reproduce the issue. The crashdumps indicate it is something to do with string deallocation, so I'm guessing it is something to do with using non English game version, and a mistake somewhere with text encoding. Can't do much more for this one without a lot more investigative work. TL/DR: acquire the English language version of the game and see if the issue persists.

    edit: Ignore this, I did repro it on Win 7
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
  7. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    I reproduced crash - use Windows 7 VM.

    You need to do few turns

    There is some advisor popup, that has gibberish text (why Russian was baked in save?) click on last option.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
    Volgadar and billw2015 like this.
  8. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    I'm fixing those bugs.
    I guess some of these got broken when I hit them with modifier nerf.
    And some I didn't adjust +1% from resource entries.
    Upload save.
     
    MattCA likes this.
  9. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Okay I found an issue with city trade routes and leader traits. I'm pushing a new SVN build now which will include this fix, the blacksmith event one and some more text fixes.
     
    Volgadar and MattCA like this.
  10. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    I fixed issues with replacements (hypermarket gold boosts aren't fixed yet - too messy to do), and now most of resources can be produced till end of game - except shady chemicals and soft obsoleted resources (saddles, sails, diskettes, stone tools and other stuff are kinda obsolete).
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
    KaTiON_PT and MattCA like this.
  11. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    Insect Manipulation Lab and Cyber Insect Lab are avaiable at Cyberpunk absoleted by Biometrics... And Biometrics is a far earlier tech than Cyberpunk
     
    raxo2222 and MattCA like this.
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,552
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    got a PINK building mentioned...
     

    Attached Files:

    • oink.JPG
      oink.JPG
      File size:
      374.9 KB
      Views:
      26
  13. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    Its result of carelessness from long ago - someone moved art location without checking python.
    I fixed it on my side.
     
    strategyonly likes this.
  14. Volgadar

    Volgadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow
    Thanks a lot. And yeah, I really forgot to mention the os version (I have also a linux/wine c2c, guess it could provide a lot of buggy stuff).

    BUG menu? That would be great!
     
  15. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    A small "obsolete" problem (again)
    Animal Race Track is obsolete at Species Uplifting, but cant be build after Vertical Flight because Modern Stable is obsolete.
     
  16. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    This is structural issue with mod - requirements obsolete before buildings requiring them.
    This is one of reasons as to why later starts are not supported.
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I chalk this up to largely being the result of tech tree rearrangements that didn't take these potential consequences into account.
     
    raxo2222 likes this.
  18. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,428
    Location:
    Poland
    This mod grew from less than 300 techs, when it was first released as separate entity to over 900 techs we have now.
    So these rearrangements happened a lot.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,264
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yep, which is a big reason you've been a major asset to the team to help us smooth these problems out when they are found. Thank you for that!
     
  20. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,683
    Location:
    Brisbane
    This is the code for "Reports from the ... speak of reduced volcanic activity".
    Code:
    def doVolcanoDormantEruption(argsList):
      kTriggeredData = argsList[0]
      pPlot = GC.getMap().plot(kTriggeredData.iPlotX, kTriggeredData.iPlotY)
      if pPlot.isNone():
        return
      player = GC.getPlayer(kTriggeredData.ePlayer)
      team = player.getTeam()
    
      doVolcanoPlot(pPlot)
      doVolcanoNeighbouringPlots(pPlot)
      doVolcanoAdjustFertility((pPlot, 1, team))
      doVolcanoReport((pPlot, BugUtil.getPlainText("TXT_KEY_EVENT_TRIGGER_VOLCANO_EXTINCT")))
    
      return
    
    (from CvRandomEventInterface.py)

    I'm pretty sure the TXT_KEY should be TXT_KEY_EVENTTRIGGER_VOLCANO_SLEEP.

    Maybe also there should be some limit check on the adjust fertility, as there is theoretically no limit to how many times this can happen.

    The problem I was actually looking for was that the empire usually if not always displays as "???". The variable is %s1_civ_adjective, so maybe that variable is not being initialised or passed, or has the wrong name.

    ETA: Delving further, BugUtil.getPlainText is wrong - it is only used where there are no parameters. Should be getText, and empire adjective of the volcano's plot's owner should be passed as a parameter.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2019
    Toffer90 and billw2015 like this.

Share This Page