1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v39 plus (SVN) - After the 20th of July 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yeah, it's not terribly hard to do but just a bit time consuming as far as projects go. It's been one of those 'might get to it someday' sort of things on my end.
     
    billw2015 likes this.
  2. irishhombre

    irishhombre Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    376
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rannoch, Perseus Veil
    Okay, I reported this bug before I know. At first at it was just an annoyance but now it is messing the game up. :wallbash: I can not shift queue buildings reliably anymore thanks to this bug. Almost every time I try to shift queue a building now, I get this popup. Oh and to top off the annoyance factor I have to click the OK button several times to get the message to go away. Save and screenshot uploaded. SVN 11047.
    Spoiler Error Message :
    upload_2019-10-8_14-13-14.png
     

    Attached Files:

    billw2015 likes this.
  3. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,013
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I'm not arguing anything. But it will increase the number of units in the game.

    This unit was one of many that was built with the National Limit long ago. But then players started to demand a way to get them in unlimited quantities. So.. the Option Unlimited National Units was created. Then as those players that want the Unlimited Option played awhile some came back and began to *itch about some of the units ( That were designed to be limited in the 1st place) where OP.

    So for the past 2 years plus T-brd and I have argued over this unit.

    It all started when the Ram siege unit line was given strengths better than equivalent melee, throw, and archer units. The AI Spammed the *ell out of the Ram units. They would set stacks of them all around their Main city tile. 8 adjacent tiles with 10-15+ Ram units and 1 or 2 melee or archer units on every single tile. It was insane. I made adjustments to the ram line and to some of the main units in terms of strength. T-brd worked on getting the AI to Not load stacks of them on every tile. It came with mixed results.

    The Arsonist was originally a 10 str unit that was limited to 10 units by the National Limit provision. Siege Towers in comparison was also str 10 but unlimited. And came later than Arsonists. Siege rams were also str 10, with Battering rams at str 8 and early rams at str 6. Hand rams were str 4. None of these in the ram line at that time had any limits on them.

    So now a modder (you billw) without all this prior knowledge says he thinks they are OP on Discord. And this was what T-brd was waiting for. Especially after the last discussion ended up in a huha you said / I said degenerative argument. At the end of which I bowed out.

    So there you have it. I'm not arguing for or against what has been done. But I Will Comment on what the possible outcomes can and Most likely will occur. Sorry you all don't like my opinions but hey that's life now isn't it. We all have opinions and we All like to voice them. :) And if it ends up bad, I will probably comment on that too.:p
     
  4. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,013
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    I was late to the Arsonist party. So like everything else in the game you deal with it. It was a comment on how it affected my game. Not a plea for a bug fix or any other such thing. The AI got luck that the Fix was not put in before they had a chance to build the old str units. No worse that some of the Hero Spam we already have in the game as well, imhpo that is. Nor the myriad and infinite number of promotions and promotion combos that keep growing every year either. Just sometimes too much is exactly that. Too much. :)
     
  5. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    The national limit system when the limit isn't tiny (<5 maybe?), or doesn't scale by map size is fundamentally broken anyway. Who cares about a limit of 40 rams or 20 arsonists if your army is only 100 units anyway? Its a meaningless limit, and isn't anything but the crudest tool for balancing. Perhaps it should be % of total forces instead of a fixed number? You could also perhaps dynamically scale the unit strength down if it goes above the max %.
     
    MattCA likes this.
  6. tmv

    tmv Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    Wouldn't that be a bit arbitrary?
     
  7. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    No, I just specified the constraints under which it would happen, hence it isn't arbitrary. However it is just the off-the-top-of-my-head solution to some exploits people might use.
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I will admit that unit limits does not work well on anything that can be merged or split and therein lies a big problem with that particular unit using a limit to define a balance point. Plus, the arbitrary factor of those limits not scaling to mapsize etc also plays a role, and even if limited, a unit can still be imbalancing when there is no real need to include such an imbalancing force. The heroes are... still a matter of discussion in regards to balance and are actually worse on NON-SM games than they are on games with it. In SM, the factor of being an Individual and unable to merge with others of their kind as they are unique is a huge potentially exploitable weakness. Outside SM, they can be completely indominable and can be used to some truly lethal effect that is almost impossible to do anything about if done right, making their only limitation the fact that they cannot move an infinite number of times so as to attack and kill everything in one round. Maybe some sanity adjustments will be necessary with them at some point. They are a second phase to investigate regarding balance.
     
  9. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Yeah I look forward to that. They seem extremely overpowered to me, especially when you can easily amass a virtual stack of them. I would have thought those units should just be flavor units with normal strengths (maybe a free special promo), rather than super hero units.
     
  10. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,278
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm happy they are fairly powerful but they may be a bit much and without the Ideas Project constraining culture use, they are a bit too easily amassed.
     
  11. billw2015

    billw2015 King

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    837
    Pushing a fix now.
     
  12. irishhombre

    irishhombre Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Messages:
    376
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rannoch, Perseus Veil
    Thank you.
     
  13. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,440
    Location:
    Poland
    @billw2015 I used assert DLL to check out something.

    Loading save causes those asserts:
    Code:
    Assert Failed
    
    File:  .\.\CvAllocator.cpp
    Line:  80
    Expression:  p != NULL
    Message:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Deleting a null pointer!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Assert Failed
    
    File:  .\.\CvPlot.cpp
    Line:  12283
    Expression:  pAdjacentPlot != NULL
    Message:
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Adjacent plot is NULL!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    
    Loaded this autosave as test.
     

    Attached Files:

    Osk21 and billw2015 like this.
  14. miccal2000

    miccal2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Just downloaded the new SVN, and I'm getting this error:

    Any ideas, please? I've never seen this before.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,636
    Location:
    Norway
    Where is you C2C mod folder, and is it named exactly "Caveman2Cosmos" ?
    The mod folder cannot be in "...\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\MODS"

    It must be in the Mods folder that is found in the same folder as where the Civ4BeyondSword.exe file is.
     
    Osk21 likes this.
  16. miccal2000

    miccal2000 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    It was in the wrong place. Works fine now!
     
    Osk21 likes this.
  17. Volgadar

    Volgadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow
    CTD at the end of turn from time to time. Untill the last svn commits it was happening much more often (~ every 3rd turn) till the ~2700 turn. But it's still a problem in 11049.

    Had the same ctd issue in 38.5 game in much later eras (end of Industrial - beggining of Atomic) and slower gamespeed. I've got the point that time and my current game is a bit faster, map is smaller, difficulty is harder. But now ctds began in the classical era...

    I'm playing the russian version of the game with cyrrilic-patched game fonts (thanks to i18n-team from russian civ-forum). Is it possible to upload them or merge with current c2c fonts?

    Last savegame, logs, usersettings folder, minidumps for last few ctds, fonts folder - all included. Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

    billw2015 likes this.
  18. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,440
    Location:
    Poland
    You have to delete those font files, as those are outdated.
     
  19. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    I Forgot a earlier one : Tatooer , give +2 Culture and +3% with Dye. And +2 Happy and it's build faster for Strategic leaders.
    Its replacment (Tatoo parlor) only give +1 Culture and +1% with some later tech. Only +1 happy and Strategic don't build it faster
    So when Tattoo parlor is available, it's just totally useless and building it only give malus...
     
  20. Volgadar

    Volgadar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Moscow
    Without them I'm getting an encoding issue: current mod fonts are latin-only, cyrillic letters outputs as some kind of unreadable pictogramms.
     

Share This Page