1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v40 download - After Oct 2019

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Thunderbrd, Oct 20, 2019.

  1. stachnie

    stachnie Theorist

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Not far from Krakow, Poland
    I will try that, thanks. This is Windows 10, so some strange things happen to older games and running as admin sometimes helps...

    The mod is exactly in the place it needs to be (D:\PROG\Firaxis Games\Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Mods\Caveman2Cosmos).

    I don't think it would help (this is a fresh reinstall of C2C) but it may be the last resort, so thanks a lot.


    S.
     
  2. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Also delete User Settings folder too if this won't work
     
  3. stachnie

    stachnie Theorist

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Not far from Krakow, Poland
    I have reinstalled C2C (this time I have used a SVN version updated on Jan. 17) and it seems no advisor works (including the Scientific one). I will try the tip with User Settings.

    S.

    Edit: no effect. I wiill try with the download version (at least the Scientific advisor works).
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2020
  4. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    If you are playing with language other than English, then switch to English.
     
  5. stachnie

    stachnie Theorist

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Not far from Krakow, Poland
    And this was THE tip which finally worked - I had to switch the language and restart the game. I will check if my leader will develop after I hit End of Turn - if not, I will start a new game. Thanks a lot!


    S.
     
  6. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    I got python error on loading with Polish translation, so its actual bug.

    Code:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
      File "BugEventManager", line 307, in _handleDefaultEvent
      File "CvEventManager", line 206, in onWindowActivation
      File "CvScreensInterface", line 1273, in lateInit
      File "CvMilitaryAdvisor", line 20, in __init__
      File "UnitGrouper", line 377, in __init__
      File "UnitGrouper", line 352, in __init__
      File "UnitGrouper", line 64, in __init__
      File "BugUtil", line 143, in getPlainText
      File "BugUtil", line 158, in getText
    RuntimeError: unidentifiable C++ exception
    I could open all advisors though, I guess I need base civ translation to replicate thing with advisors.
    Polish letters are not displayed at all.
     
  7. stachnie

    stachnie Theorist

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Not far from Krakow, Poland
    Yes, indeed - I had a lot of error messages when playing. Anyway, the Polish translation is incomplete and recently I have spent a lot of time playing Civ V in English because there is no Polish translation of the Vox Populi - Community Patch mod, so this is not a big problem for me...
     
  8. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    Screenshot_3.png Screenshot_4.png
    AI rly wants education XD (ancient era)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Its property - essentially it is measure of citizens competence.
    It is VERY easy to max it out (unlock all possible levels) in early eras.
     
  10. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    Yea but i mean why the hell ai did so much story tellers? He just dont need em.
     
  11. raxo2222

    raxo2222 Time Traveller

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,634
    Location:
    Poland
    Are you playing on V40.1? It was released recently.

    There was bug, where AI built random units for no reason.
    Also it may be planning for building new city.
     
  12. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    v40.0
     
  13. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,812
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yeah some work has been done that I THINK improves that a lot this time around but I haven't fully confirmed it. v40.1 is fully compatible with v40 saves btw, so I'd urge you to get updated to it right away.
     
  14. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Not A Bug!

    Because Story Tellers Also can add Patriotism (Base Culture) to keep an encroaching foreign culture at bay. Story Teller line of units are Not just used for Education any more!

    Current game I have a city under Cultural seige from a Strong Advanced AI. The only way I can keep my City from flipping Culturally to this AI is by employing almost 20 Story Tellers with Patriotism promotions instead of Education promo.

    I do not know if this Patriotism is described in the Civilopedia or not. But the Patriotism Promo for Story Tellers line of units has increased the usage for Story Tellers thru out the game's play now.

    How did I learn this, by checking why the AI was using more Story Tellers than me (and I generally, before this investigation, use as many as my treasury will allow). And that it seemed my efforts to culturally flip adjacent city tiles was getting harder and harder to do. So I went into WB and checked out a few of the AI's City units, in particular Story Tellers.

    One of my 2 Test games the only way I'm surviving Culturally (surrounded on 3 sides by advanced AI, both Science and Culture wise they are, is to ramp up ST usage with the Patriotism promo. I have also built every Culture giving building as well that I can. Even at the cost of production to a point.
     
  15. dmeyster

    dmeyster Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Russia, Moscow
    Screenshot_3.png
    Check screenshot again pls O; Is there any rival borders close to ai's city? I dont see any. So it cant be culture protection as reason to build so many story tellers.
     
  16. Toffer90

    Toffer90 C2C Modder

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,019
    Location:
    Norway
    It is a know issue in v40 that AI overbuild units like that, the problem was greatly reduced along the way to v40.1
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,812
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Nice that you've found that to be a helpful side to what they can do! I've wondered how much play they'll get on that ability. I'm glad you were able to see and strategically make use of this. Not sure how much the AI can but if we see culture warfare becoming more intense, you can bet we'll make sure they know how to. I think that there WAS a major overtraining problem with them so it may have been incidental that they had so many where you were trying to culture conquer, but if that helped you to see how valuable they can be in this regard, that's really cool, IMO. It's an under-appreciated ability I think and they've gone, ironically, unsung in this regard.
     
  18. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    @Thunderbrd @dmeyster

    Screenshots of one of my cities that has lost many adjacent tiles to Superior AI Culture. This city has 27 STs of which 25 are using the Patriot Promo. Notice that the bar denoting culture inside the city screen shows that the Babylonians have more Culture influence than I do. I stabilized the rapid decline at it's current level or 37 by using this many STs on Patriot Promo. From past experience if this Culture bar gets below 23-25% I will lose this city to the Babylonians. I need it to get it back above 50% to even start to reclaiming adjacent tiles. Big task in this situation!

    I have no idea if I can start to reverse the damage as he has acquired tiles in my Fat X up to my main city tile. The Fort to the right of the city was mine ( a palisade at that time) but he overwhelmed the defenders with Bandit riders and Footpads. Then moved regular military in to hold it. (screenshot 3) The fort is exerting pressure on my city just as if it were an adjacent city. I have Realistic Culture Spread Option On. This too has an effect exerting pressure to hold a tile culture wise. Civ4ScreenShot0017.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0018.JPG Civ4ScreenShot0019.JPG
     
    raxo2222 and Thunderbrd like this.
  19. Galadrion

    Galadrion Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    188
    Huh. Looks like some of my "cultural imperialism" drives. I've been worried that you folks would manage to teach the AI how to use these tactics, and it looks like you've managed it. Games are going to start getting mighty interesting, it seems...
     
  20. dmd175

    dmd175 Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Mountains
    hey guys,
    this is a great mod. I've played FFH2, Sengoku, RFC/E, etc but this is amazing and very addicting.

    I've played about 7 games now. I've not got past Renaissance (I really want to see tech tree...) but won by culture and domination and diplo so now have those disabled. Current game is Emperor and I'm having CTDs that I could reproduce.

    Settings include: this game is on v40.0, graphics paging on, normal game speed, prehistoric start, C2C_planet_generator (tiny 72x48), surround and destroy (first time I've used this - love it - but also first patch of CTDs), developing leaders, peace among NPC, WFL, beeline stings, unrestricted leader.
    Computer: W10, i7 3.4GHz, 12 GB RAM, 1GB video card
    (Side question - what is the best map that is recommended - are there multi-layer space maps like Civ II ToT that I unlock at higher tech? sorry I've looked in threads for this but I am uncertain and again have not gotten that far in a game)

    I had a bunch of CTDs around 1AD and just kept trying autosave until that resolved. I did nothing on the turns until it did. It seemed talking to other nations then was a culprit.
    Now around 1205 AD I've had another bunch. Kept crashing reproducibly 1205. The one thing I did that just got me past 1205 as I'm typing this post was preventing discovery of Islam and Voodoo on the same turn, both of which went (surprisingly) into the same city that already had 3 religions founded. Attached save. Currently I got to 1213- saved - and about to continue (fingers crossed).

    Here are a few other things I've seen.
    -twice I've been given the trireme quest. Both times it came after I had researched shipbuilding so the quest was not possible.
    -The Famen Temple wonder says "100% success" for missionaries. This is incorrect as I've had multiple failures - or does it only apply to state religion?

    Thank you again all. Great mod!
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page