1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The "OMG! Look what happened in DoC!" Thread

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. great.taurus

    great.taurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    I see your 9485 gold and raise you a further 55,590. :(

    Spoiler :


    Not sure how I was supposed to catch them, to be honest.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,192
    And I thought 9485 was a great amount, until I see yours. Not sure how they could hoard up all that money.
     
  3. great.taurus

    great.taurus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    It may have been bugged. 2 turns later they had over 80,000.
     
  4. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Erebus
  5. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    That must be a bug, no? You need like 25 Great Merchants. Byzantium's tech doesn't seem that slow either.
     
  6. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,466
    It is a bug, it was present in the original RFC and has been plaguing the game since.
     
  7. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,192
    Netherlands capitulating to Indonesia.

    Spoiler :


    Question: Do vassals give that +4 stability bonus when switching to Viceroyalty after vassalizing them?
     
  8. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Erebus
    They should.
     
  9. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,192
    Look at this picture.

    Spoiler :


    How did that happen? It must be a Babylon collapse because independents don't just go out and conquer people. But how could a collapse happen that early?
     
  10. hoplitejoe

    hoplitejoe Top fun-poster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5,466
    Jerusalem probably got them early on.
     
  11. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,192
    There's the Oracle in Babylon (so I can't build it again) just to confuse me more. So I guess the Babylonians were busy building the Oracle while the sneaky independents attacked.
     
  12. Alexius08

    Alexius08 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,102
    It must be a collapse because Babylon kept its palace.
     
  13. Fresol

    Fresol Angry Halfling in Green

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,192
    It's strange to see them collapse with no obvious reason. Persia (me) just spawned.
     
  14. Akbarthegreat

    Akbarthegreat Angel of Junil

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,746
    Location:
    Erebus
    I've had the indies capture Babylon, when I play as them. First warrior goes to the Afghan hut, and they send a warrior before they are back.
     
  15. DylanAraki

    DylanAraki Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Canada
    Vikings/Sweden in Constantinople.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    ^That screenie has even more 'OMG's in it.
    The English and Dutch are on steroids, but that's pretty normal, I think. Less normal is Mongol empire (including Russia) at 1775 AD. And Leoreth, you definitely need to do something about everyone crushing France ;)
     
  17. iOnlySignIn

    iOnlySignIn Prince$s

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,134
    Location:
    Virgo Supercluster
    I think it's mainly because Paris (and most of France, really) has virtually no Production.

    In my games AI France always have very good tech lead, but their army is always too small compared to Germany or Spain since they invest their already small Production into Wonders and Culture buildings for their UHVs.

    Spain by contrast is short on Food, but they're helped by their awesome Conquistadors (both the UU and the mechanism).

    Germany is great in Food and Production, and is *supposed* to lack Trade. But it doesn't really matter since they can get money and tech by beating everybody into a pulp.
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    RFC itself is based on CivFanatics so that would be a step in the wrong direction imo. These technical difficulties are fairly new, I hope they will be fixed soon.

    On France, they definitely could use a lower unit production cost modifier. France's major problem is Germany imo, and I hope they'll do better anyway when facing a HRE with weaker modifiers instead of Germany.
     
  19. ramz711

    ramz711 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Hell with the lid off
    Personally, I would love to see an AI France that duplicates the Napoleonic Empire. Still have yet to see that happen, though.
     
  20. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    32,994
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Agreed. It usually happens when Germany collapses, but that's rare enough in itself. Again, the HRE can probably get a different treatment stability wise than Germany.
     

Share This Page