1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Tomatekh's New Civilizations

Discussion in 'Civ5 - New Civilizations' started by Tomatekh, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Packherd2

    Packherd2 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Hello,

    I've attached a screenshot and a save file with an example of the unique improvement graphics glitch. I've seen it discussed here a few months ago. I vaguely recall there also being a discussion that this might be a Mac problem. I also recall that most of the improvement tiles were Leugi's design, so I hope that if this is useful it will get to whoever can use it.

    Notwithstand this one glitch, the new civs are all fantastic and I'm really enjoying them with the decisions mod. Kudos all around! :goodjob:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. janboruta

    janboruta Artistriarch

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2,140
    Location:
    Tarnów, Poland
    This is a problem with many new models and textures when playing with DirectX 9. As far as I know (and even Leugi was stumped), nothing can be done about that at the moment. DirectX 10/11 doesn't have that problem, but some systems or weaker computers can't use it.
     
  3. Leugi

    Leugi Supreme Libertador

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Bolivia
    It has to do with DDS or something, but I tried all possible ways of saving and nothing really worked :(
     
  4. Packherd2

    Packherd2 Warlord

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    That's a bummer.
     
  5. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Sumer's ability isn't triggering for me. I have tons of mods so there could be a lot of things causing the problem, but the wording of the ability suggests that perhaps something else is up. Does Sumer's extra population apply to every city except the capital?
     
  6. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    For Sumer, any city you settle (which includes the capital) should start with extra population.

    I'm fairly certain it's not the Sumer mod itself causing the problem. The lua to trigger the ability is very simple. (Plus, I just used the mod yesterday and it was working).

    It's possible you're using another mod which would interfere with the PlayerCityFounded function. Although, I know a lot of mods use that, so, if that's the case, Sumer wouldn't be the only mod you're having trouble with.

    I can only suggest to first redownload the mod and test to see if it works (I've had a lot of reports of steam not fully downloading mods recently), and, if not, enable error logging and post what shows up in the database and lua files.

    (Also, I didn't realize the wording could be confusing; I'll try to clarify it a bit in the future. "Newly founded" was meant to help distinguish settled cities from cities you capture, trade for, or start with in a scenario. All of which do not trigger the ability.)
     
  7. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    The wording is only confusing when the ability doesn't trigger because mod problems. Database and lua logs didn't appear to contain anything relevant. The only similar thing I can think of is the Civ IV Leader Traits' expansive trait, but that doesn't appear to be handled with lua. It's also not a version issue, since I checked to see if it had updated when it first didn't work and downloaded the new version.

    Many days later edit for no reason: It wasn't Civ IV Leader Traits. Oh well, this isn't too big of a deal so long as I use IGE to replicate the UA.
     
  8. pyroflare77

    pyroflare77 King

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Now that I have started a game with Sumer, the bizarre experiences continue. Pretty much nothing unique about them is triggering properly. Vulture gets no bonus experience, Ziggurat doesn't give faith to specialists, but the decisions work at least.
     
  9. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    I'm really not sure what the problem is as I can't seem to replicate anything. For me, the latest version of Sumer works fine.

    I know it's a pain disabling and re-enabling everything (especially if you us a lot of mods), but if you could possibly check Sumer by itself without any mods. Also, delete any old versions of the mod from the mod folder. I've very rarely had reports of old versions interfering with newer versions.
     
  10. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    Hi everyone, the Sioux will be updated within the next few days to accommodate the bison from the patch. It actually won't be changing much as we had already made plans to accommodate the change beforehand if the resource did get patched in.

    Also, can everyone let me know if they encounter problems with any of my other civs and the new patch. Having not gone over the changes yet, I'm not sure if any conflicts were introduced.
     
  11. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    The Sioux have been updated for the patch. They haven’t changed much, but somehow their Bison have become much cooler:



    Sioux bison now roam the night in search of lady bison… actually, the biggest change to the mod is only that “Bison” now become “Wild Bison” in Sioux territory.

    (Sukritact made the fantastic night version of the Bison icon. We were aiming to keep a similar icon, in the same way Antiquity Sites and Hidden Antiquity Sites use the same icon but in day vs. night lighting).

    So, with standard Bison everywhere the Sioux have lost some of their uniqueness, but functionally the civ hasn’t changed much:

    - Standard Bison are converted to Wild Bison in Sioux territory
    - Wild Bison function the same as the old Sioux Buffalo (and the Sioux can still spawn a Wild Bison by settling on/near Plains)
    - The base +1 Culture of the old Sioux Buffalo has been changed to only take effect for Wild Bison after you research Chivalry

    The Sioux play as usual except now you can get additional roaming (Wild) Bison by settling/claiming standard Bison tiles. This is a minor buff to the civ; however, I don’t really see it as game changing. No buildings interact with the standard Bison resource, and fully improved Bison (Camp + Economics) actually have near the same tile yield (+1 Food, +1 Production, +1 Gold) as the old Sioux Buffalo (+1 Food, +1 Production, +1 Gold, +1 Culture). So, essentially, the buff translates to the Sioux being able to use the full improved yields of standard Bison without having to improve/tech upgrade the tile. I did tier the culture bonus for Wild Bison because, with the extra Bison, you have extra Bison potentially claiming tiles (and the gameplay reason I added culture to the resource was to help tile acquisition more than social policies).

    Of course, it may all be too much, so please leave balance feedback. Previously, I had some steam comments saying the civ was weak, so the indirect buff might also serve to balance everything out. Who knows?

    Other changes, I buffed the Akichita decision. I might completely re-do the Ghost Dance decision in a later update (although, I don’t view this decision as bad as I’m sure some of you do, since, if used at the start of the Classical Era, it nets a 60 faith which is a nice bonus for that point in the game). I also added internal Cultural Diversity and Cultural Influence support.

    The civ has a rare Event (which was added in the previous update, but has been fixed for the new patch) which can fire for the Sioux, Shoshone, and Blackfoot. White Buffalo Calf: All Bison/Wild Bison now also give +1 Faith.

    One note, the compatibility stuff with Cl’s Blackfoot civilization has been temporarily disabled. I’ll re-add it once they update their mod, as I didn’t want to have to write the code twice.

    Finally, a big thanks to Sukritact for the Wild Bison icon, JFD for some SQL help, and Leugi for initial brain-storming when I first released the Sioux. Without their help I wouldn’t have been able to update the civ so soon after the patch.

    Again, let me know any balance feedback and if you guys encounter any problems with the new version.

    Civfanatics Link / Steam Workshop Link
     
  12. thsLttB

    thsLttB Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Cool thanks for the hotfix, the new bison art looks super sweet.
     
  13. bouncymischa

    bouncymischa Synthetic Genie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,537
    Location:
    In a bottle
    That is a gorgeous new icon! Very nicely done!
     
  14. snipperrabbit!!

    snipperrabbit!! Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,396
    I just had an idea about adapting the wild bison code for a sea resource, maybe thuna ?
     
  15. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    The code itself isn't that complicated, so it would be relatively easy to implement it for any resource. However, there are some significant gameplay issues for why I wouldn't suggest using it for sea resources.

    The main one is simply space. If you're going to make a resource move around it actually needs space to move or there's little point in doing it. I originally had the bison with much more restrictive terrain requirements in terms of what it could move into, but had to free them up because it originally only ended up moving back and forth over the same tiles.

    The problem with sea resources is that they will be confined to the coast, which is only about two tiles thick. Add to this that it can't go on top of other sea resources and things like ice, and there's very little room for it to move. The resource will either stay moving back and forth over the same few tiles or almost immediately leave your city radius and not come back; neither of which I think are very interesting for the player.

    You can't really allow them into the ocean because that's the opposite problem, too much space where people can't settle. The resources would quickly move away from cities and spend most of the time in an area players couldn't see or use, making them pointless.

    The other issue relates to the gameplay reasons I added the moving bison. The bison has two mechanics: to create large yield tiles by stacking with existing improvements; and to claim land. The first one is impossible with a moving sea resource; the resource can't move onto a tile with an existing resource (and you can only build sea improvements on tiles with an existing resource). The second is also greatly diminished. With very little space to move there's very little land to claim, and since you can't improve empty sea tiles, there's very little rush/need to claim non resource sea tiles anyway. The problem with the ocean also comes up again. If you let them move into the ocean and claim tiles, you'd get these long lines of territory jutting out into the sea which not only would look a little weird but would be somewhat game breaking in terms of how naval stuff is balanced in the game; i.e. it would be claiming territory that can never be claimed under normal circumstances.

    So, truthfully, I don't see much point in using the bison code on a sea resource. I can potentially see having a sea resource that moves along a set predetermined "migratory" route be very interesting, but that would have to be coded from scratch and I can't imagine it would be an easy thing to code or implement.
     
  16. TPangolin

    TPangolin Just the worst person

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4,026
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    We might try out that code with a Walrus resource for the Greenland civ we're making. Design is still tentative, but still would be interesting.
     
  17. Natan35

    Natan35 Mayor of St. Natansburg

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5,116
    Location:
    Ashdod,israel
    Maybe space walruses for beyond earth...:)
     
  18. Skaz881

    Skaz881 History Major

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA.
    Do you plan to update Harappa along with your other civs? You've been updating most of them so I was curious if Harappa would be getting one as well.
     
  19. BttLsht

    BttLsht King

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Messages:
    656
    Location:
    Israel
    Tom said Harappa will receive an overhaul not just bug fixes.
     
  20. Tomatekh

    Tomatekh Sahib-i-Qirani

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,369
    Yes, Harappa has been almost completely re-worked. It's not quite ready for release, however.

    I know I haven't posted any new civ updates in this thread in a while, but I've actually made a lot of progress with my new civ mods recently. So, everything is slowly moving towards release.
     

Share This Page