1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

VP Modpack: Magnus Mutatio

Discussion in 'Mods Repository' started by Moi Magnus, Dec 22, 2018.

  1. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486
    Location:
    israel
    hi there,
    i started a game with this modpack.

    im not sure i installed it right.
    i created a Z-MP_MODPACK folder,
    extracted all the files from the zip (using the one with eui and the mods)

    after that, loaded the game and started a game, thats it.
    is there some indication to know that im running the mod properly?

    in addition,
    how can i tell which other mod parts can i use with this?

    thanks in advance.

    **
    UPDATE
    seems im getting some ui error with the beta.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
  2. Tempto

    Tempto Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Yes, I've experienced the same thing. The EUI folder (ui_bc1) is missing from the modpack. It should be inside the main modpack folder alongside the other few folders (Override, Interface, etc.). I just dragged the ui_bc1 folder from an older version of the modpack and it worked. If you download the latest EUI from the official page it won't work. Not currently on my PC sadly so I can't upload the file, but I think it's a simple oversight (forgetting to include it in the release).
     
    Moi Magnus likes this.
  3. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    Sorry, stupid mistake during the upload, should be fixed by now.
     
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486
    Location:
    israel
    great, thanks.

    i had a crash to desktop with the july version when i clicked at some icon , weird.
    do i need to delete some stuff before?
     
  5. swapoer

    swapoer Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    I would like to make 2 more mod recommendations for the improved interface version.

    UI - Map Pins
    Enables pins, of different colours and with notes, to be added to the map

    * Use Control-X to enter "pinboard mode"
    * Use Control-X or Escape to exit "pinboard mode"
    * When in "pinboard mode" click on the map to place a pin
    * Right-Click on a pin to edit/move/delete it
    * Use Shift-X to toggle the pins on and off
    http://www.picknmixmods.com/mods/CivV/UI/Map Pins.html

    I think it is very handy when deciding which locations to settle new cities.


    (ui) Small Resource Icons (v 4)
    Replaces the standard 64x64 resource icons in the 3D map view with 45x45 versions.

    Also makes the Natural Wonder icons persist (by default they only appear on the map in the turn the wonder is first discovered)

    Modifies the core game files GenericWorldAnchor.lua and ResourceIconManager.lua/xml, so will be incompatible with any 3rd party mod that also modifies these files. (Compatible with my own mods that change these files: Units - Herdsmen, Units - Mounted Units and Maps - Rotate Start Position)
    http://www.picknmixmods.com/mods/CivV/UI/Small Resource Icons.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2019
  6. akasha27

    akasha27 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Principality of Sealand
    I wonder if InfoAddict that comes with this modpack is the EUI version
    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/info-addict-compatibility-file-for-eui.24646/

    I'm facing some CTDs which I think are related to it.

    I also have a question:
    - If I want to remove a MOD from this modpack, I just need to remove it from the final folder right?
    - If I want to add a mod that is not on the modpack, I should add it to the the default MODS folder and not the MODPACK folder, right?

    Thank you
     
  7. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486
    Location:
    israel
    HI again,

    i wanted to ask - do i need the MPModsPack.Civ5Pkg file to have its name and its inner value should be changed? i saw it holds "mp modpack".
     
  8. Xialeth

    Xialeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Germany
    @Moi Magnus I recently downloaded and installed the latest stable version of your modpack (in the Magnus Mutatio++ version), and immediately got a texture load error for the resource "JFD_AmericaRooseveltForVPAtlas_64.dds", giving me a red rectangle instead of the Slater Mill. It wasn't much of an issue at first, only pinging me at the very beginning of the game and once upon opening the tech tree for the first time. I confirmed the file was there and that I could open it (both yes).

    It did become a problem when I tried to research the Slater Mill, giving me a texture load error whenever the picture refreshed (I pushed it with two great scientists to get it researched as quickly as possible), so for every other nation and every city state once. This continued as I was building the Slater Mill, and afterwards whenever I opened the city overview of the city I'd built it in, I got continuous error messages.

    Deleted the mod in question, which gave me the missing texture "JFD_AmericaRooseveltForVPAtlas_45.dds", before biting the bullet and deleting the modpack and re-downloading it. This gave me yet another error message for "JFD_AmericaRooseveltForVPAtlas_128.dds"

    I've for now downgraded to the Magnus Mutatio version (which lacks several things, but better than the constant windows-error-ping), but would love to play on the full version again. Any ideas how to resolve it?
     
  9. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    Sorry for not answering immediately, I have less time than last year for Vox Populi.

    I didn't tested the July version more than few turns. Didn't have this problem, but I might have missed it. Do you have the same problem with the last beta version I just uploaded?

    Crashes are not related to this, at least the compatibily file should not change anything (I even think it is included in Vox Populi, but not sure)
    Unfortunately, removing a mod from the modpack is quite hard, it is easier to create your own modpack (see "how to create a modpack" in the wiki, I think I've put a link in the opening post)

    Things work for me without changing this name. You should not touch it. However, make sure the files of your modpack (including this one) are all in a folder with a name starting by "M" (like "Mods_VP_2019-10-08_EUI" which is the default name if you just unzip my files).

    I've uploaded a new version for the last beta version that does not have this problem on my computer.
    (Just deleting the file in the modpack is not enough, you also have to track in the Override/CIV5Units.xml all the lines that refer to it and delete them... Easier to recreate a modpack from scratch)
     
  10. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    So, small resource icons was already in it, but I forgot to list it.
    I will take a look at the pin mod latter, thanks for the suggestion!
     
    swapoer likes this.
  11. akasha27

    akasha27 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Principality of Sealand
    Would you consider moving the (7) Community Events (v 5) to Mods_VP_2019-10-08_Improved-Interface
    As you can disable events it doesn't affect those that just want that modpack. I woudn't use Mods_VP_2019-10-08_Magnus-Mutatio unless for that mod.

    I know we have been through this, but I personally find https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/reforestation-v-8.21156/ very useful, specially on late game to settle on ice lands.
    I've seen AI using it.

    Edit: There is a new version of the mentioned mod:
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=198158029

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2019
  12. Jakiro

    Jakiro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Hi guys, I've just got back to civ V, played about 80hrs of MM++ and super love it, but i really don't want AI to pick new CIV ( like hmer, new Jap, Eng, Pal...), so is it ok, if i delete (or move away) those folder from "Mods" folder?
     
    Moi Magnus likes this.
  13. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    No it wont work (you will get errors because of textures not found). I believe that you can use the mod Really Advanced Setting to disable them.
    (Put the modpack as usual, but go through the MODS menu, and select RAS as your unique mod. Do not enable the Vox Populi mods, otherwise you will have two copy of VP enabled and things will not work at all).
    Though I did not test compatibility of RAS with my modpack, so I'm not 100% sure.
     
    Jakiro likes this.
  14. Jakiro

    Jakiro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Thank you very much for super fast respond. I installed the pack as a DLC (so i can get some more steam achievements)... so I guess i'll live with it then.
     
  15. Authopius

    Authopius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Will this get updated to 10-23? Sorry for the impatience but I had this bug on the past two versions of VP wherein I kept chrashing mid-Renaissance Era. Now I played two games with 10-23 and I both finished them all with no flaws. This modpack has tons of interesting additions that can make my game more enjoyable and thrilling, so I'm hoping this gets updated to 10-23 soon. Thanks!

    Or is there a way I can manually update this? Like replacing files of old version to the latest one?
     
  16. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    I'm usually waiting for eventual hotfixes from G, and for updates of the mods I use. I might update it tomorrow, but I'm not completely sure.

    Just replacing the files do not work. However, something you can do is that instead of using the modpack, you to go into the modpack's folder, take all the mods in the "Mods" subfolder of the modpack, put them in your Civ5 MODS folder. You will no be able to manually enable those mods through the MODS menu. And if you use VP installer to have the 10-23 version, then you will be able to play with all the mods of my modpack together with the latest version of VP.
     
    swapoer and Authopius like this.
  17. Authopius

    Authopius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, Philippines
    I'll wait for an official update of the modpack. But for the meantime, the technique you mentioned worked and now I'm playing 10-23 with the other mods included in the modpack. Thanks!
     
    Moi Magnus likes this.
  18. Authopius

    Authopius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Okay, small update. Texture bugs and glitches are starting to appear. Some textures are missing and some were replaced by textures that aren't meant for them. I noticed that the three remaining files from the Magnus Mutation++ that were untouched (Since I only touched the Mods folder where I moved all contents to the Civ V MODS folder). To be specific, these are the files:

    • Override folder
    • UI folder
    • MPModsPack.Civ5Pkg

    I highly suspect that this is the cause of my missing textures. Now my question is where do I put them?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,837
    Weird, those files are not supposed to be required, so I don't know why you had problems.

    I'm currently uploading a new version, since that's quicker than investigating this issue. I don't have the time to test it (and I had some weird error when creating Magnus Mutatio, so I'm not sure it's working. But Magnus Mutatio++ should be ok)
     
    Authopius likes this.
  20. Authopius

    Authopius Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Just finished an Immortal Game, no flaws spotted for me. Good job.
    Just one request tho, if possible you can add 43-Civ VP to this modpack, I'll highly appreciate it.
     

Share This Page