1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Dawn of Civilization - an RFC modmod by Leoreth

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall - Dawn of Civilization' started by Leoreth, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
  2. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Well I do declare, this is one marvelous piece of code:

    Found it in the Mongoose SDK. A fix for the Flood Plains disappearing problem. Found in CvCity.cpp:

    Original BTS:
    Code:
    CyArgsList argsList;
    	argsList.add(iX);
    	argsList.add(iY);
    	long lResult=0;
    	gDLL->getPythonIFace()->callFunction(PYGameModule, "citiesDestroyFeatures", argsList.makeFunctionArgs(), &lResult);
    
    	if (lResult == 1)
    	{{
    			pPlot->setFeatureType(NO_FEATURE);
    		}
    	}
    
    
    changed to:

    Code:
    CyArgsList argsList;
    	argsList.add(iX);
    	argsList.add(iY);
    	long lResult=0;
    	gDLL->getPythonIFace()->callFunction(PYGameModule, "citiesDestroyFeatures", argsList.makeFunctionArgs(), &lResult);
    
    	if (lResult == 1)
    	{
    		//
    		// Mongoose FloodPlainsFix BEGIN
    		//
    		if ((pPlot->getFeatureType() != NO_FEATURE) && (pPlot->getFeatureType() != (FeatureTypes)GC.getInfoTypeForString("FEATURE_MUSHROOMS")) && (pPlot->getFeatureType() != (FeatureTypes)GC.getInfoTypeForString("FEATURE_FLOOD_PLAINS")))
    		//
    		// Mongoose FloodPlainsFix END
    		//
    		{
    			pPlot->setFeatureType(NO_FEATURE);
    		}
    	}
    
    This is definitely going into Synthesis.


    Which means....?
     
  3. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    very cool

    Here IS MY SAVE FROM MY PREVIOUS POST, ROMAN up CRASH BUG (lol can you hear me?!)

    As well a python error during Byzantine spawn\


    By jammerculture at 2011-03-06


    arrrggh never mind still wont let me upload
     
  4. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
  5. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Ah :lol:
     
  6. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    Thanks! There's just the question if the floodplains' additional food is still added to the city tile when it stays (somehow I suspect this ...).

    No need to shout, I can hear you from here :D

    Thanks for the exception screenie, I hope they get this forum fixed soon so I can check out your save.
     
  7. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
    Besides, Qart-Gadir and Lixus can be pretty good cities if you let 'em grow for a while. :lol:
     
  8. jammerculture

    jammerculture Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Canada
    it appears I may have been playing without all the latest updates. I had renamed the folder the SVN was going into and did a clean install of 1.7. However the SVN was still going into the original folder. Hopefully I haven't had you chasing ghosts.
     
  9. dcode147

    dcode147 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Do the ivory and wheat disappear at a certain year? I still see them in 3000BC start, but not for the AD600 start.

    EDIT 4 quick suggestions I can't count :p
    - Benghazi kinda sucks as a city for gameplay right now. Moving the fish near Sparta 1S, would make that resource more useful to more cities.
    - Is it possible to make all the ivory in North Africa (the one next to Tripoli in 3000BC and the Morocco one) disappear by certain year? (if that's not the case right now)
    - Also it is okay to leave the wheat by Tripoli until a certain year? (that way it would actually be worth it for Phoenicians to found a city around there in North Africa. Plus it would be historical since Africa was the breadbasket of Rome)
    - Can you remove Barbarian elephant archer spawns after 200AD (at the latest)? Barb elephants are unhistorical and the cause of too many cities razed in North Africa.
     
  10. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Leoreth, do i hav to download the svn once i download version 1.71. cuz once i say yes it tranfers more 100+ mbs. Can u just elaborate on the svns
     
  11. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    I BELIEVE that's the case, although that isn't an issue right?

    For a long while... a really loooonnnggg while...:old:

    They are preplaced in the 3000 BC start, but not the 600 AD start.

    Indeed. It seems unfair our ivory disappears in N. Africa but the barbs still get it.
     
  12. JiimBV

    JiimBV Afro Samurai

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Canada
    Just out of curiousity, what is the SVN thing I keep reading about?
     
  13. Gruekiller

    Gruekiller Back From The Beyond

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Ohio
  14. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Ok so just a few comments on resources:

    1) You should probably put the wheat in Tripoli back but move the fish one tile north east. The reason i say this is because you have to consider Tunis. If the Arabs found Tunis or later when u add a Berber Tunis; Tripoli will be deprived of resources. But if u move the fish north east only Tunis will have access to the fish; while Tarbulus will have wheat in the place of fish.
    2) Move the stone in Baghdad one tile west.

    Oh and regarding the Byzantine Spearmen. I didn't test how the arabs do with their addition yet. But a good way to solve the problem would be that the spearmen don't get any bonus against the camel archers. I did some research and found that the early Arabs were good skirmishers and usually didn't engage in direct combat. Anyways camel archers are still archer so they wouldn't engage in melee combat against spearmen
     
  15. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    1. Well these cities are supposed to suck (there was nothing important going on there in post-Arab history).
    2. Yeah, that's definitely planned.
    3. Ditto.
    4. Ditto :D

    It's explained in the FAQ in the first post of this thread what SVN is and how you can use it.
     
  16. Linkman226

    Linkman226 #anarchy

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,493
    Fixed, sorry for the poor copypasta

    Why not just give camel archers a shock promotion off the bat?
     
  17. Gatsby

    Gatsby King

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    655
    This question has probably been asked already, but: if I have the previous version of the mod (e.g. 1.7) and want to upgrade to 1.71, is there a patch I can download or do I have to re-download the whole mod?
     
  18. Leoreth

    Leoreth 心の怪盗団 Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33,869
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leblanc
    No, sorry, I was lazy and thought it didn't matter in the days of widespread fast internet access. Mea culpa :(
     
  19. J. pride

    J. pride King

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    So is there anything specific u need feedback on? (wat can i help u with)

    Before i told u some ideas on Byzantine and Arabs but wat are u focusing on now?
     
  20. civ_king

    civ_king Deus Caritas Est

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    16,368
    "fast internet?" mine was only 150KB/s until a month ago (now it is 300KB/s)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page