1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Civrules, Oct 29, 2005.

  1. Shady Grady

    Shady Grady Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for those replies!!

    Now that I am playing with no Barbs.... :confused: I, uh, kinda miss them. And yes, the early experience points come in most handy down the road. But... come on.... "RAGING BARBS"? Huh? Wow! I've played raging Barbs a few times... and actually, come to think of it, unless I was really rushing thru the game, I found that it forced me to more critically examine city productions.

    If I remember correctly, back in CIV III, City Unhappiness and Citizen Content (I know those aren't the right words) was much easier to manage, which is to say that City Management was much more easier than in IV.

    But I digress. Maybe :eek:

    In the beginning I like to build 3 or 4 explorers (as Montezuma a.k.a Shady Grady) and explore in concentric circles. Pop goody huts as much as possible and locate my nearest and closest (same thing right?) neighbors and go from there.

    As for my current experiment, just barely hanging in there now that it is around the year 1450 and I am running into Washington's Rifle's. My military units, and I just began building Grenadier's, just don't seem to cut it.

    So... the Barbs must remain in the future. Thanks again!
     
  2. Sparrow3

    Sparrow3 Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    if your civc is vassalage, consider promoting some of your grenadiers to combat II. They make good city defenders & later (after RR) they can be upgraded to machine gun, even better for city defense.
     
  3. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    You can also give Grens City Garrison promotions, which Machine Guns can't get on their own.
     
  4. Olson

    Olson Warlord

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You shouldn't feel hesitant to ask about acronyms, nicknames, etc. on this thread.

    Most nicknames are for leaders (ie. Monty = Montezuma of Aztecs; Hatty = Hatshepsut of Egypt),

    abbreviations for military units (ie. cats = catapults; axes = axemen; phants = war elephants), and

    acronyms for technologies (ie. CoL = Code of Laws) or
    Wonders (ie. TGL or GL = The Great Library; GLH = Great LightHouse...many get these two mixed).

    "nerfed" isn't explained anywhere but I'm guessing, from context, it comes from Nerf footballs and means 'to make softer', lol.
     
  5. danthechan

    danthechan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    looking over the list most were pretty easy to follow. rexing was one that threw me, but rapid early expansion is a style i like to use.

    in a current game i used it effectively with the inca's, then eliminated or vassalated my 2 unruly neighbors. i am going for my 1st prince vic and have had up to a thousand point lead on the 2 best civs, england and egypt. i am currently pounding china and greece with tanks/marines/helos. i really wanted a non dom win but now both england and egypt have completed apollo. liz even has 2 parts built already. i'm sure my tech and production is superior. can i start this late and still beat them to space, or do i need to point my war machine to the british isles in order to save this game. i'm not sure how long the ai takes to launch once they start finishing parts.
    also what exactly do they mean when they classify a wonder as a team project? thanks
     
  6. UnforcedError

    UnforcedError Settler

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,299
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    You can generally beat the AI to space even if they start building parts. The AI does not have an optimized space strategy, it will just select the parts to build fairly randomly and launch the ship when it can be launched. (If they launch before you do, just raze their cap.)

    A team project is not a wonder. It means the project needs to be completed only once by a team, with every member contributing as many parts as they like. (A permanent alliance with the AI functions as a team as well.) It won't grant you GP points like a wonder, nor can it be rushed by say a GE.
     
  7. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,787
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    Team project means that if you are playing with Teams, an option where more than one Empire are permanent allies and win or lose the game as a team, then only one of the empires can build the item in question but all of them get the benefits.

    If the AI is not nearly done with the spaceship then you could still beat them, although it will be a real race. The AI does not optimize where to build spaceship parts. When a city is ready for a new build, a random number generator decides whether to build a needed spaceship part or something else in that city. As a result, they could have cities with really poor production building a critical part and taking a looong time. You can also slow them down by using spies to sabotage a part being built or destroying one that has been built, so they have to build it again. If they manage to launch before you do then you have ten turns (20 on epic, 30 on marathon) to capture or destroy their capital before the spaceship arrives. If you do this, the spaceship is also destroyed.

    Edit: crosspost with UnenforcedError
     
  8. danthechan

    danthechan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    thanks guys, that brings me to another noob question. i tried to use spies in my last game, succeeding in destroying production of a couple completed parts. it cost a ton of gold and i had to halt teching to catch up to the ever growing cost. i didn't see any option to destroy an already built part. what was i missing there.
     
  9. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,787
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    The cost is espionage points, not gold. You get espionage points from various buildings and running spy specialists in your cities. You also can get espionage points instead of gold by using the espionage slider in the upper left of your screen, same place as the research and culture sliders. When a spy does a mission, you will only see the missions that are available espionage point cost wise. So, if you don't have enough espionage points against that empire, you won't see the option to destroy completed parts. They are expensive missions, 20,000 espionage points and up for any of them. (That's on marathon, I have never tried that on any other speed, so I don't know if the cost is adjusted for speed but, if it is, it will still be high relative to the rate at which you are generating the points.)
     
  10. elmurcis

    elmurcis Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,136
    Location:
    Latvia
    How high is chance to discover new resource (gold/gems/copper etc.) working mine tile? (Just guess that it could be near 1/1000 worked mine turns.. or something like that)
    And is there any way to change this chance (increase ofcourse :D )
     
  11. danthechan

    danthechan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    i have made a few hundred mines so far and have never discovered anything.
    i am still playing the game i mentioned above. i have completed all parts but the stasis. the others can't be far behind. egypt DoW'd and came at my stasis building city with about 60 units, about 15 of them mech inf. i'm pretty sure i saw kitchen sink as one of the lesser units. i am holding them but they are moving like a glacier thru my territory towards my cap. just when i catch my breath england declares on me.
    question: do i care about any city but the stasis builder and my cap? if not i can funnel everything to them and hold my breath on the way to space.
     
  12. Nakajima69

    Nakajima69 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I cannot figure out how delete saved games. Help, please?
     
  13. Sisiutil

    Sisiutil All Leader Challenger

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    6,899
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Yes, but remember your space ship has to arrive at Alpha Centauri--you have to survive the duration of the trip, you don't win when you launch.
    Saved games should be located in C:\Users\user_name\Documents\My Games\Beyond the Sword\Saves\single. Or close to it.
     
  14. Yudishtira

    Yudishtira Spiritual/Creative

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,815
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What constitutes 'high' War Weariness?

    Also, does the effect level off after a while? I thought 200 was bad when I had it, but I see an AI now with over 500! And is it different for different mods?
     
  15. Abegweit

    Abegweit Anarchist trader

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    4,869
    Location:
    One step ahead of the authorities
    I'm pretty sure that it's 1/10000 per resource per turn for each worked tile. IOW, at the beginning of the game it's 3/10000. One each for each of silver, gold and gems. When you learn BW, the possibility of discovering copper is added making it 4/10000. And so on.

    I'm guessing that it is possible but would require a change to the DLL.
     
  16. God-Emperor

    God-Emperor Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,551
    Location:
    Texas
    Nope. It is in the XML. In CIV4ImprovementInfos.xml the IMPROVEMENT_MINE has a section BonusTypeStructs for the various mine-able bonuses. Each of those entries has an item called iDiscoverRand which is set to 10000. If you changed one (or more) to 5000 the odds of "discovering" that bonus would be 1 in 5000 instead of 1 in 10000.
     
  17. elmurcis

    elmurcis Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,136
    Location:
    Latvia
    Big thanks for both [Abegweit and God-Emperor] - atleast I know how lucky sometimes I am when i get gems in 1st and copper in 2nd city before 1000 BC (sometimes can get also that +2 h boost from event just few turns before resource is found... that really can be game changing situation...)
     
  18. Berzerker

    Berzerker Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    19,878
    Location:
    the golf course
    how do i disable global warming?
     
  19. s.bernbaum

    s.bernbaum Mostly lurking

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,787
    Location:
    The wilds of Montana
    It's quite easy to remove global warming from the game. The file GlobalDefines.xml which exists for every version of the game (vanilla, Warlords and BTS) holds many parameters that effect the game. One of them is:

    Find this code in the file:

    <Define>
    <DefineName>GLOBAL_WARMING_PROB</DefineName>
    <iDefineIntVal>20</iDefineIntVal>
    </Define>

    Changing the 20 to 0 removes global warming from the game.

    The file is located in:
    ...\Civilization 4\Assets\XML
    ...\Civilization 4\Warlords\Assets\XML
    ...\Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Assets\XML

    Don't make the change in the original file! Copy it into the corresponding subfolder in CustomAssets in the (your user name)/Documents/CIV folder and make the change there. When the game loads, it will substitute anything that it finds in the CustomAssets folder for the original in the loaded game. If you ever need the original, perhaps for a multiplayer game or to use with a mod, you only need to temporarily rename CustomAssets in order to use the original files.
     
  20. Silv Something

    Silv Something Pi(e) Loving Maniac

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow . . .
    Spoiler :

    It sounds to me that danthechan is not playing BtS.

    Espionage points :)espionage:) were not introduced until BtS, and until BtS the spaceship only has to be launched to win.

    So for him, there is no need to account for extra time after the spaceship has been built. Nor is there an espionage slider.
     

Share This Page