1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes - After the 24th of February 2014

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. LumenAngel

    LumenAngel King

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Center of the World (France)
    SVN 7106
    Myth of Crocodile can be build in all coastal city. And look like bonus for Temple of Set are cumulative.. A solution can be a Myth of snake buildable by a Subdues <snake> in capital with this bus instead of Myth of Corcodile. After all, Set was a snake. Sebek was the crocodile

    City Screen say that building Myth of Fire will make me LOSE research. It's false, I wont gain or lose any research

    National Belief Wonders cant be build, even by a Great Prophet

    EDIT
    All promotions apper for all units in pedia

    In BUG option, we can unchecked Buil Fort (Forced) for auto workers, but not Build Fort
     
  2. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,539
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    My PROFILER_ALTERNATE_SAMPLE_SET_SOURCE is the same.

    Thanks for spotting that. I am going to leave it at the crocodile for the time being.

    I am trying to figure this one out. The XML looks fine.
     
  3. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    An empty string is still a string. No issue for text.
     
  4. Opuhara

    Opuhara Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Papeete Tahiti
     
  5. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Who committed this civ? Leaderhead info is WRONG!!
     
  6. Camber

    Camber Resident Family Therapist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    The Great Beyond
    Build 7080: Bee Bombs (building) has no description of effects in the city view. Just its name and cost.
     
  7. charlesb96

    charlesb96 King

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    669
    Location:
    Upper left corner of the Map
    I reported this once before and it is happening again. I have 2 units selected together as a stack, stack attack option is off, 1 stone spearman, 1 wanderer. Odds of success on attack is given as 98%. That is for the stone spearman attacking, yet when I attack with both units selected, it is the wanderer that is chosen to attack and he dies because his odds are only 2%. Many times it will be the stone spearman who leads the attack, but sometimes it is the wanderer, and he dies. No logical reason why the wanderer is the one chosen, seems to vary.

    V34 download, no SVN
     
  8. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I'm going to vote no because I don't suspect these as the most highly suspect of the ram problems. I believe, rather, that there is a memory leak somewhere in the code. If it's the graphics that would really suck because in the game these units are REALLY FRICKIN' COOL! And furthemore, they will definitely have a major impact on the gameplay differences once I get into detailing the equipment mechanism more. So I'm really hoping we don't have to. I suppose collecting a core amount of civs then taking the rest (and their culture definitions should be included in their modules as well) and modularizing those out into an optional inclusion that is defaulted to 'off' might not be a bad idea. I do sometimes feel some of the civs we include are, while really cool to have such a vast variety, somewhat miscellaneous in the big picture of world history.

    That missing definition doesn't seem right, no. Based on the naming I'd suggest a 0 in it's place but honestly it probably isn't an issue since that's most likely the default anyhow - which would be applied if the define is left 'undefined' (if setup right which I figure it would be.)

    My wife and I HAVE been encountering some crashes that suggest we might be running out of memory somewhere. They aren't terribly frequent but they do happen with some regularity. I'm curious as to what exactly is causing this and would probably need to seek some more knowledgeable wisdom than my own to determine this.

    I was wondering if anyone was going to bring this up. I'm aware of the problem and know very well what is causing it. I think I'm going to need to make the building depend on an option that's still under development for now. It uses a tag that is currently disabled without that option as I prepare to include an entire game dynamic under only said option. Since the building has no other effect it is currently a blank building. This is on my list to address.

    Yeah, I have a 3 page list of debugs and immediate developments to work on and this is on it.

    I'm having great success so far it seems with the OOS debugging efforts so tomorrow I may be able to commit those fixes. I've got an unusual amount of time to work on things here too so I may be able to get some of my backlog taken care of over the next week or so.
     
  9. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    CTD latest SVN Now it does NOT load at all??

    I figured it out, lets see IF you can??
     
  10. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Already stated...
    An empty string "", is a valid string.
    "0" is not an empty string, and is not the same as "".
     
  11. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Ah... that's right it's not a boolean. I tend to assume such defines are either bools or integers. Not a worry then.
     
  12. vivictius

    vivictius Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    425
    Immigrants start automated, if you don't stop them quickly they rush out of your boarders and get them selves killed.
     
  13. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Got this message when i tried this out:

    Traceback (most recent call last):

    File "CvRandomEventInterface", line 170, in getHelpHolyMountain1

    AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'getTextKey'
    ERR: Python function getHelpHolyMountain1 failed, module CvRandomEventInterface

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=522704
     
  14. The Boss

    The Boss Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Italy
    At SO (message #276)
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by The Boss
    Every time I launch the game, I get 2 message errors:
    1) "Xml parsing SAX error: Assets\xml\text\civ4gametext_aiautoplay.xml: invalid byte 'n' at position 2 of a 4-byte sequence at line 1"
    2)"load xml call failed for xml\test\civ4gametext_aiautoplay.xml
    Current xml file is: xml\text\civ4gametext_cities_bts.xml"
    At every message I press OK, and game starts without problems (I think?!?)
    Why is this? What can I do to scratch the problem?
    Have I done something wrong during installation?
    Help please!

    Have you started it as "Run as Admin"?

    Yes, got XP 32 bit 4 MB RAM and I'm administrator of the sistem.
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,539
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Yes. Starting automated is part of the design of them. They use the same AI as missionaries and corporate execs - they find a target city, go there and do their thing. It has been suggested that they request an escort if they are going across wild lands but since the player can't assign units to general escort duty this cannot not hapen.
     
  16. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,563
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    EveryTIME i exit from WB and try to go to Main Menu i get a CTD is anyone else getting this??
     
  17. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    All the minidump is telling me is that it's taking place in the EXE. I thought we had this problem before then sorted it out as a missing graphic then the problem disappeared for a while? I don't often use WB at all so I'm not personally experiencing it.
     
  18. Camber

    Camber Resident Family Therapist

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    The Great Beyond
    Build 7080. Mesa Verde wonder gives a free Desert Combat I to units built in the city. Including ships! I just built an Outrigger and Quinquereme that were given the promotion. The description/tooltip list unit types given the promotion, but naval units are not among those listed.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27,797
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks for the report. Helps to explain another issue I was trying to get more info on. I think I've got a better idea of how that and this are happening now so it's on my official fix list.
     
  20. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16,205
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    Latest Minidump from a CTD while moving from 1 city to another during the unit move phase. MiniDump say 7106 but game was started under 7138. Same game that had the recent MAF.

    JosEPh
     

Share This Page