1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Single Player bugs and crashes v35 download - After the 18th of August 2014

Discussion in 'Bugs and Crashes' started by Dancing Hoskuld, Aug 17, 2014.

  1. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,093
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    1) The Modern Sniper must need the bAlwaysHostile bool set to 1. I'll try to remember to do that when I can.

    2) Immigrants generally work when they are added to a city that has less than its max population (9 I think) before they stop working for that city. The big problem with this is 2-fold:
    * Nothing says in game that there is a limit.
    * If you group lots of immigrants together and join them all at once you can FAR exceed the limit.
     
  2. Harrier

    Harrier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    UK
    Not all European languages. :)

    The English do not use a comma as a decimal point. That is why the USA doesn't as well.
     
  3. Dreifels

    Dreifels Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    The English are Europeans???? :lol:

    ok, serious:
    https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dezimaltrennzeichen

    point:

    Australien, Botswana, Volksrepublik China, Costa Rica, Dominikanische Republik, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Hongkong, Indien, Irland, Israel, Japan, Korea (Nord und Süd), Malaysia, Malta, Mexiko, Namibia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Neuseeland, Pakistan, Panama, Philippinen, Singapur, Taiwan, Thailand, Vereinigtes Königreich, Vereinigte Staaten

    regional: Kanada (englischsprachiger Teil)

    comma:

    Albanien, Andorra, Argentinien, Belgien, Bolivien, Brasilien, Bulgarien, Chile, Dänemark, Deutschland, Ecuador, Estland, Färöer, Finnland, Frankreich, Georgien, Griechenland, Grönland, Indonesien, Island, Italien, Kolumbien, Kosovo, Kroatien, Kuba, Lettland, Litauen, Luxemburg, Mazedonien, Moldawien, Niederlande, Norwegen, Österreich, Paraguay, Peru, Polen, Portugal, Rumänien, Russland, Schweden, Serbien, Simbabwe, Slowakei, Slowenien, Spanien, Südafrika[1], Tschechien, Türkei, Ukraine, Ungarn, Uruguay, Venezuela, Weißrussland

    regional: Kanada (französischsprachiger Teil)

    mixed: Switzerland

     
  4. scoobygang

    scoobygang Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Hi there. Before mentioning my bug issue I need to say this is an absolutely incredible mod. I've been playing through a few versions now, but haven't been active on forums.

    It's become my favourite game. Not just my favourite civ mod - my favourite game, full stop. Huge kudos & thanks to everyone involved for the staggering amount of work that has gone into this.

    I haven't noticed anyone else mention this issue so thought I'd post - normally when I come across an issue I find there is already much discussion of it on these forums.

    I'm in Renaissance era in v35 and my larger cities are losing access to some resources - even though those cities have the buildings that provide the resource active in the city.

    For example, in the save attached, my capital Bibracte along with my other large cities do not have access to Saddles despite having a Saddler in the city. Saddles are not listed in the resource tab of the city view. However, my smaller cities do show Saddles as available in the resource tab.

    It appears to be more than just a display issue, since my cities should be able to build Modern Stables but cannot.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Arakhor

    Arakhor Dremora Courtier Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    32,362
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Which is why I said "on the continent". ;)
     
  6. Dreifels

    Dreifels Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    as I play w/o sound anyways, can I delete all mp3 and wav or replace them with a size 0 file?
    Have Civ4 on a SSD and need free space there
     
  7. Sparth

    Sparth C2C Team Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    You can always try :)
     
  8. Dreifels

    Dreifels Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Europe
    what are the requirements to build a tunnel?
     
  9. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    The work boat action for building sea tunnels doesn't show up correctly. You need to set the option to show obsolete worker actions.
     
  10. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    It is <=7 and it is mentioned in a couple of places. It should be on the action button but since the button does not appear if your city does not have less than 8 population you can't see it.

    Adding grouped slaves works Correctly. I wonder what the difference is? edit I do the slave stuff in Python but the Immigrant stuff uses events!
     
  11. sp00n

    sp00n Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    20,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
  13. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    We need to know the name of your nation and the hero in question. It has been giving the correct name for the Egyptian nation.
     
  14. Harrier

    Harrier Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,386
    Location:
    UK
    SVN 7799 Pre v35.

    Is it intentional that the Tsukiji Fish Market costs 28,080 hammers? Seems high for an Industrial Age Wonder.
     
  15. Dancing Hoskuld

    Dancing Hoskuld Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    23,288
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Some of the religion sounds are not working properly. They give an error.
    I have found that one of the shaman sound files was mission so I'll add that.
     
  16. IronClaymore

    IronClaymore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Aussie Land
    Nah, just change the upgrade path from all those AlwaysHostile culture units to the generic industrial age version, which should be the guerrilla...oh! Guerrilla upgrades to modern sniper!

    It's not the best upgrade path because it's a large shift in tactics and how the units are used. Guys who cause crime and can attack without being at war are used generally for hiding inside foreign cities to shatter their empires with crime-based revolutionary sentiment, or for knocking out weak units like workers and medics. While snipers are more for actively hunting down and killing those crime units thanks to their ability to see them (or that's how I use them).

    Is there a terrorist type unit the guerrilla can upgrade to in the modern era instead?

    Edit: And I just got the tip on game load for using hidden nationality units for launching a pre-emptive strike before declaring war.
     
  17. IronClaymore

    IronClaymore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Aussie Land
    Sorry to double-post, but I do have content relevant to the thread!

    I kept getting these weird-ass CTDs in my game (regular version of v35), whenever I scrolled over a certain barbarian city. If I turned off graphics paging and turned on viewports, it would crash whenever it loaded a viewport with the city in it. Anyway, I "fixed" this by turning <DefineName>SHOW_BUILDINGS_LEVEL</DefineName> in A_NEW_DAWN_GlobalDefines.xml to 0. Some building in that city must have been doing something bad, so I checked it with world builder, all it had was culture (barbarian), barter post, and housing (homeless). :confused:

    So, if you're having sudden unexplained crashes, add changing this variable to the long list of things to try. Yeah it sucks having all your cities looking homogenous and generic, but at least it saves on precious graphics resources.
     
  18. Sparth

    Sparth C2C Team Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,311
    Currently im reviewing all buildings models/textures and maybe after my changes this bug disappear.
     
  19. Thunderbrd

    Thunderbrd C2C War Dog

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    26,093
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    The snipers should nevertheless have the bAlwaysHostile tag in use so they can attack as a HN unit.

    That said, I've said much the same about being able to keep the upgrade chains valid for ongoing criminal unit upgrades rather than being forced to take early criminal units down the Strike Team lines... it's a goal on the development plans to resolve this and probably not too far off.
     
  20. IronClaymore

    IronClaymore Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Location:
    Aussie Land
    Dedicated criminals will be promoted by the player to have all the upgrades intended for their purpose, specifically troublemaker and possibly commando (if they didn't already start with that promotion), while strike teams will end up with anything that increases withdraw chance, and probably first strikes. So entwining their upgrade paths could lead to angst in that department.

    The hidden nationality thing...it depends on how you see strike units in general. I always thought of them as official high-tech highly-trained military teams who might not wear dogtags, and might do some shady stuff that could be embarrassing to their government if brought to light, but it's still pretty clear which country they're from if you recover a body. So they're never used to strike directly at the forces of a sovereign power unless both parties are at war.

    A strike team should be able, just as a "purely random" example, to enter the territory of someone you're not at war with but don't have open borders with, and take out a highly promoted hidden nationality unit hiding in a town, winning international acclaim and respect, and then run back to friendly territory in the same turn. But if that team had attacked official assets belonging to the military of that non-hostile nuclear-armed country, it could have been exceptionally bad.

    Then again you see units that, if they fit any C2C description, could be described as strike teams, going into other peoples' territory and assisting rebels that are trying to help them annex territory, without absolute modern warfare between the two countries.
     

Share This Page